We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five day stay at Eastbourne with mom and dad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First time for a Daish holiday for myself and my husband. My parents have taken these five day holidays before, so this was an experience for both of us. Nevertheless we enjoyed the break. The hotel room was very clean, the food in the restaurant was also quite edible. Bigger portions would have helped for my husband, but he only had to ask , waiting service excellent thanks to all. Entertainment good especially the comedian. Would recommend these holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for The Claremont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our first visit to Eastbourne and Daish's Claremont hotel made our holiday very enjoyable. We stayed downstairs in room 403 on the same level as the restaurant which was fine as I don't particularly like lifts. The room had recently been refurbished and the bathroom was great with a lovely shower. The food was excellent and the service fast and efficient. We hope to stay at the Claremont again soon.

Room Tip: We understand the lower floor rooms have been refurbished.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank DEB782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

ive been traveling with daish,s for over 30 years and have never had a bad holiday the claremont is on the seafront and is ideal.Cannot find anything bad to say hotel very clean food and service very good,all staff freindly. We didnt see the entertainment as the weather were hot so went went out for walks after evening meal but it must have been ok because the entertainment room were always full. Our room was on the seafront we did pay extra and it was worth it but were told if the pier had been open it would have been noisey because there is a nightclub at the end of it and does.nt close until early hours.Will be going back for my 4th visit.

Room Tip: if you don,t mind noise pay for seaview room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank jilly1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me and my wife have worked in top hotels and restaurant 41 years . Been with daishs 26years top value holiday's.claremont is top hotel very friendly staff brilliant caberat good bingo top prize money .good prices at bar good service in restaurant nice food for coach hotel good choice of menu can't believe you can get smoked haddock for breakfast and not pay a supplement not likle some hotels..concert room has been refurbished to a very high standard me and wife feel staff enjoy there work and not just doing as a job Dave And Keith and Mel are all ways there on duty really dedicated staff very helpful night porter. There is a tea shop in hotel fantastic prices tea a pound If you want a tea shop in town go to jasper woods antique tea shop owner is all ways there he has been on t v a lot of times try sausage sandwich very unusual sandwich .to find find bet Fred betting shop which will be on you right walk on till junction cross road pass two Italian restaurant and your there

Room Tip: 202 large quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We used self drive recently spending a few days at the Claremont Hotel Eastbourne. Overall it was a restful time for us, and Eastbourne is a lovely lively place. Sadly the pier had just had a bad fire, which was a dissapointment for us. Our complaints were the service for the meals was slow, and if you did not have a starter, you waited ages for the main meal, thats breakfast as well. While we were there on one evening there was a power cut, so no lift and no evening meal, as we were upstairs we took the option of having sandwiches sent up, the other option was to go out for a meal and on proof of cost a receipt Daish's would pay it, but as my husband has a heart condition we could not go out, as he would have had to use the stairs to get back up to our room. The sandwiches were aweful, with not much choice. The entertainment was poor too. For us it was just for a complete rest, but the Bournmouth Hotel, does a better job at the meals and entertainment.

Room Tip: Front rooms better for a view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank patandpete4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our third visit to a Daisha's hotel and we were not disapointed. There were some items that need improving on, like the lift which I understand is waiting for planning permission.
It was very hot during our visit and the dining room in the basement was very uncomfortable. The food and service was as usual very good but air conditioning needs installing. I thought the entertainment was not up to the standard of the other hotels but the bar prices were fair and the staff very good.
We stayed the week before the fire so we were able to appreciate the convenience of the Piers location. Our room was on the top floor and was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee provided.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank GJMALCOLM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived after a very long journey but we were welcomed by the friendly staff when we eventually arrived. We had our meal as soon as we arrived as we were later arriving, after dinner we had our room keys. The room was lovely and comfortable. Very Hot.This was a lovely holiday and a lovely hotel, the rooms were lovely and comfortable and the staff were ever so helpful. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#18 of 40 in Eastbourne
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £200 - £1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing