We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hydro might appear at first glance to be living in a time warp, but how many other hotels boast as much comfortable lounge space, a wonderful conservatory overlooking the gardens, plenty of free parking and all overlooking the sea? Today there is nothing 'faded' about the Hydro just 'traditional'. This includes the service, both in the lounge, the bar and restaurant. A table of 16 in the restaurant proved no problem with everyone having a free choice from the daily menu. followed by coffee in the lounge. The place to go in Eastbourne for such celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    245
    72
    32
    16
See reviews for
175
268
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel is well situated in a quiet, residential area of town. Short but Hilly walk down to the sea. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, however,Reception were not very informative on arrival and could have been better. Gets very crowded and in December no informal food is served downstairs on a Friday or Saturday eve because of large parties and Dinner has to be booked in advance. There was no advance warning about this. It made a great difference to our first night but the Hotel rectified the situation the next day and we really enjoyed a lovely 2nd day. The room was particularly small but the sea view more than made up for that. A comfortable armchair or two would have been nice instead of the dining room style carver chairs but there would not have been room for them. The room and furniture werw pristine. It is listed as a 3 star Hotel but the Service is much better than that and comparing it to some local 5 star Hotels, the Hydro comes out on top!
Maybe a little too quiet for children in the Winter time but in Summer there is an outside pool, and activities I am told. A lot of the Clientele appeared to be local regulars. We went for a rest and some peace and certainly we found it on Sunday. Easy parking. I would definitely stay there again. Look out for their special offers - they are good value for money.

Room Tip: Our twin room was very small, maybe because it had a sea view. If room size is important to you rin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here one one night as my company had their Christmas party at the hotel. For £40 I had a reasonably large twin room to myself. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding and I slept very well. There was tea and coffee making facilities in my room, a tv and a private bath/shower. The decor was a little dated and the other guests were fairly old but for the price I paid it was good value for money. Breakfast was served from 07.30-10.30 and there was a wide range of hot and/or cold food to choose from. The hotel is also a little difficult to find and not that close to the town center but a short taxi ride will get you to where ever you want to go in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We Booked this Hotel for our Christmas Party on the 14/12/2013
When we Arrived I felt it needed an update Decor wise. The Room was Cozy
And Warm. The Crystal Resturant where Party was held was very Traditional
The Service from a Non pre-ordered Menu was Amazing, Staff very Friendly
Food was Fantastic and (Hot) the Beef was Delicious I was told by work
Colleges,even though my Turkey was Tasty. It was Definatly Worth every
Penny. So Thanks to All at The Hydro Hotel We all had a Great Party.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debidozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel is quite dated but the room was comfortable and we had a good, undisturbed night's sleep. We were disappointed that we could not eat at the hotel as we had not booked and there were 3 Christmas parties going on. We didn't sample the breakfast as we didn't get up in time so cannot comment on the food. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Many friends and acquaintances had spoken highly of this hotel, and we weren't disappointed on our first and certainly not the last visit!.
Yes it is a little staid, but what's wrong with an long established hotel that has identified its market and aims to meet and exceed those expectations.
The bedroom was of a good size, very clean, with super comfortable beds and the 'private facilities' were excellent with generous toiletries supplied.
The public rooms are very spacious, with plenty of comfortable seating and the dining rooms provide good sized and spaciously placed circular tables. Food for all meals was well presented, and well cooked. A small, almost insignificant comment would be that the table knives we had were a little on the blunt side when cutting even tender meat.
All the staff were well trained, polite and efficient without ever being obvious. Their attention to detail and requirements at table was first class

Room Tip: Pay a modest supplement to have an uninterrupted sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHELTENHAM
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A good old fashioned traditional hotel. Excellent standards of cleanliness & service .Room (superior sea view) was clean & roomy with panoramic view of sea.
Food was wholesome & tasty with plenty of choice. Genteel atmosphere , tasteful décor.
We visited ten years ago & standards had not dropped at all.
Only thing I would point out is the overhead lighting in public areas & also the bedroom is a little stark & the ambience therefore could be a little cosier. Also no waiter service pre dinner.
However overall enjoyed our stay thoroughly & will stay again when in the area.
.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALW217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Address: Mount Road, Eastbourne BN20 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is Eastbourne's finest 3 star hotel. From its clifftop location, 121 feet above sea level, the hotel features magnificent views of the sea and the cliffs of Beachy Head. With 81 bedrooms, two restaurants and five function rooms, it is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Plenty of free parking on site and surrounding the hotel, friendly and professional service, excellent cuisine, newly refurbished bedrooms and Wi-Fi included in the accommodation rate. The Hydro is the perfect choice for your next stay in Eastbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Hydro Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing