We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Weekend Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Walderslade, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Lovely Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from a lovely weekend break with a friend. Our twin room was tastefully decorated and had a good range of complimentary toiletries, hot drinks and biscuits. It was a particularly hot day but there was no air conditioning and the heated towel rail in the bathroom was pumping out heat. The food was very good, especially the breakfast. The outside pool area is a real bonus. The staff were efficient but not very friendly. That said I would return to the Hydro Hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helie660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    245
    72
    32
    16
See reviews for
175
268
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I went here with my girlfriend. We liked it, but I can see that it isn't everyone's cup of tea. It is rather like going back in time, to a rather more genteel time. The set lunch was very good indeed. The bill for the two of us, including tea and coffee in the conservatory afterwards was about £38.00.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Delighted with the whole event, reserved area in Lounge for pre lunch Drinks. Round table for seven, five of our close family and us in the Dining Room.Table decorated with Pretty napkins. Exceptional service though out. Food delicious and enjoyed by us all, dietary requirements of granddaughter dealt with sensitively. A memorable occasion, a big thank you to Dinning Room manager.

Room Tip: Lunch time Event so did not stay in Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wych, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just had an excellent family weekend at the Hydro Hotel. We were there to celebrate my Dad's 80th Birthday and it was a pleasure to stay and enjoy great food, great service and a lovely old fashioned hotel full of old fashioned seaside charm! Great value for money on the group deal we were given. Mum and Dad and their best friends are stilll there enjoying themselves so I am very jealous! It was great for a large group as there was plenty of space to get together and sit around catch up and enjoy a few reasonably priced drinks. There was plenty to do with the children they are now very into croquet and they had a great time playing in the pool. The beach is very good and we had a very competitive game of rounders as the tide went out. Would recommend for a large family group. The afternoon tea is lovely and some of the best scones I have had in a long time. Thank you very much to all the staff and I sure we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa121036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've had 3 awful visits to the Hydro in the last six months. One was to an abysmal Christmas Dinner with a big band. Music too loud, too many musicians, couldn't see them and the I had a view of the drapes, which gosh were covered in thick dust. The food was truly awful, turkey so thin I couldn't get it onto my fork as it collapsed, small portions even the Christmas Pud was grim. Sorry I know I should have complained about this last December and then an afternoon tea in the conservatory. The service was poor, and at 3pm there was not one clean table in the room I couldn't complain this time because I was taken their by a friend but it was embarrasing. Then a funeral party, just grim brown food, I tried to persuade the widow to go elsewhere but he lived on ideas of the Hydro is days gone by.

Room Tip: You do have lovely views from the conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gapyeargrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

we booked 3 nights here going by ta reviews,well i have to say for £140 a night it was very overpriced,the entrance is grand and the room had a lovely view of the sea and beachy head,but the room 111 really needs to be updated the door into the room and the bathroom door were both peeling paint and very battered,wallpaper peeling off walls,also we requested an iron and ironing board the 1st one delivered to our room was filthy and sticky and leaking yellow stained water we tried it out on a towel good job we did as it would have ruined any clothes,so we had to ring reception again and get another one the iron was better but the ironing boards need new covers!!the 1st night we ate in the restaurant,the food was ok but the atmosphere was terrible it was like a morgue,my husband asked the young waiter if they played a little light background music for abit of ambiance,reply was no management wont allow it,then later i asked in the bar same question i got the same reply,they poor youngsters waiting on seem very suppressed,come on management(ian turnball) give them abit of incentive they are doing a great job,but they all seem depressed with their jobs!! we did use the pool but it really needs a shower there,so people can shower before entering for hygeine reasons!! so all in all it seems its down to bad management as the place needs a good bit of money spent on it to get it as it should be for guests paying those prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our Holiday in Eastbourne was very relaxing we stayed at the Hydro Hotel and had a room with a wonderful view over looking the English Channel in view i of this we paid a little more for the room but it was well worth paying a little more just for the view.
The staff are well trained and the hotel has a friendly professional atmosphere to it. The food is excellent and the gardens are well maintained as is the open air swimming pool.

Room Tip: The Rooms overlooking the front have the best views of the sea and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Address: Mount Road, Eastbourne BN20 7HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hydro is Eastbourne's finest 3 star hotel. From its clifftop location, 121 feet above sea level, the hotel features magnificent views of the sea and the cliffs of Beachy Head. With 81 bedrooms, two restaurants and five function rooms, it is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Plenty of free parking on site and surrounding the hotel, friendly and professional service, excellent cuisine, newly refurbished bedrooms and Wi-Fi included in the accommodation rate. The Hydro is the perfect choice for your next stay in Eastbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hydro Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing