We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing pat and david hinks from tamworth staffs”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

first time on a coach holiday. we traveled with robinsons coaches who were excellent. the downside of holiday was our room 115. it was awful. it needs refurbishing from top to bottom. bed which is very old needs replacing. bathroom door would not lock tiles on floor has large cracks also very draughty. we feel that the coach company should be checking the standard of all the rooms.

Room Tip: if possible view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

had a good few days at this hotel with Robinsons Holiday Coach tour, the staff were great very friendly, food good excellent value for money, our room was big and clean, could do with a fan in hot weather. would recommend this hotel and trip. Jed in the bar was very good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Enjoyed very pleasant short break at the Imperial on a Robinsons Holidays Coach Tour .Hotel whilst old was very clean , the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure you had a pleasant stay, the food was good and overall it was excellent value for money considering what you pay. Only negative we had was the condition of the bath ,whilst clean it needed replacing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother who stayed here on an organized coach holiday in June,
she had never been on this type of holiday before and very much enjoyed the food, location, accommodation and found the staff very good. She has said she would happily holiday here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PaphosVisitor186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Arrived on Sat 27th July.Travelled with a friend on a Robinsons coach holiday for 1 weeks stay. I was very pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the hotel! We had booked a premium room and there was a lovely basket of fresh fruit including grapes and even strawberries. The room was very hot as it was front facing but after a request to reception a fan was provided straight away.We found the food to be of excellent quality and a varied menu(vegetarians very well catered for) All staff were very pleasant and efficient and the entertainment very good. The hotel is well situated just back from the promenade and not far from the pier where all the local buses run from. We had the most fantastic company on this trip everyone friendly and a brilliant driver (Gordon) I would like to mention Silvio who was very efficient and friendly (nothing too much trouble) I would also mention all the dining room staff who were quick to serve again nothing too much trouble. In particular Maria who was our waitress and always had a lovely smile even when really busy! All in all a great holiday I am sure we will be back(if only to give my friend another chance to win a doorstop again in the nightly raffle!!

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a premium room at front nice and sunny with side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Please read the Rev Peter Ratcliffe review below because he has summed up the Imperial perfectly.
I too went on a KGB £99 deal, 2 nights with 3 course dinner both nights & full breakfast both mornings. Bargain. Well worth the money and would not hesitate to go back to the Imperial next year on the same deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went to this hotel on kGb voucher. We have always had good experience with these deals before but this was an exception. Very friendly reception staff. The room was truly awful, I wouldn't have stayed in this room in the 80's when it was last decorated, it was the size of a large cupboard with a tiny old double bed. The bathroom and toilet were like a hospital room. The view a skylight and peeling paint. And then the coach parties of elderly people arrived en mass. Dinner and breakfast in the huge dining room was two sittings 6.15 or 7pm for dinner. We were allocated 7pm and we were finished 7.30! We are in our 60's but not ready for this type of hotel come holiday camp. The food was fine for the price. We were booked for two nights but left after one I found the whole experience depressing!

Room Tip: Don't have room 128 at any price I suspect it's the worst in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank moggiemo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 16-32 Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing