We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My group of guests really enjoyed this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My group of guests really enjoyed this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

In October, I took a group of guests here. Most were American and initially, after about a year of planning, I was a little worried after realising that they are world travellers. However, they loved this place as the welcome, reception and service was so good. They liked the food, particularly as the choice for both breakfast and dinner suited all palates. Sometimes, I find that Americans are used to fast food or ready food rather than English meat and vegetable dishes, but the dinners here suited everybody.
We had a daily programme for our guests, so the breakfast choices set them up for a day out, without needing to find anything more than a snack lunch and coffee.
The evening entertainment was good, and the English humour, especially from Ray Campbell made us all laugh.
The rooms were comfortable and well provided.
So thanks to all there, we had a great week!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the back as these are away from the road that has early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    122
    53
    12
    13
See reviews for
36
137
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed her 18th and 19th October 2013. Rooms spotless, beds comfortable. Food nicely cooked and adequate, no problems with sitting times. The hotel was very hot and must have an enormous heating bill, it was quite a warm weekend and the heat was excessive, we did mention it, but was advised that people had said they were cold! There was entertainment on the Friday night, but none on the Saturday, but fortunately there was a transvestite convention in the hotel opposite which kept us thoroughly entertained with their wonderful costumes and great banter.The jewel in the crown is the wonderful staff, they were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The Manager must be very proud of the exceptional staff. Would go again as great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend as part of a KGB Offer of £49 per night. The reception we received was second to none, and, as a disabled guest, I was made exceptionally welcome. We were given room 100 which had a great sea view and was at the front of the hotel. The room is in fitting with an older hotel. Quality wallpaper and drapes. The furniture was old an old style and, again, was in keeping with this type of hotel. The room was clean throughout our stay.
The meals were at set times as they mainly cater for coach trips. There was a choice of food for each of the three courses - the food was very hot, tasty and after three courses were eaten we were left feeling full. Breakfast was simple but ample.
The entertainment was ok - mainly consisted of music being played on an ipod. I did take exception to Saturday's entertainer who was disparaging towards those who were keen bingo players. He was particularly rude about northerners - which left me feeling very uncomfortable!!
Overall, staff were great, hotel clean, food sufficient and great value for money at £49 per night for 2 people - I would not feel that I would want to pay more than this. The hotel understands what it is and does it very well and knows exactly what to charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room or side room - avoid back rooms as there is very little light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Like several other reviewers we stayed here on a KGB deal, 2 ppl, 2 nights Bed, Breakfast & Evening meal all for just £99.
After reading other reviews we didn't get our hopes too high and we were pleasantly surprised!
We arrived around 5.30pm knowing that dinner was at a set time. We were allocated a room on the forth floor at the back of the building. It was a little dated and "tired" looking but spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable...It was however VERY warm even in October...we turned the heating off and had the windows open and we were still warm! We didn't have a shower in out room as others have said, but there was a shower room just a couple of rooms away so we used that -- again it was spotless!
We went to the small bar before dinner and the barman was very friendly and helpful...pointing out places to go on the evening, bars etc on a small map available free from reception.
Dinner was served at 6.45. Three Courses! There were a few choices for each course and although the portions were small with the three courses you get plenty. And the staff are friendly and attentive.
You are allocated a table and a time for breakfast and dinner on arrival which stays the same for you whole stay.
Breakfast at 8.45 does feel a little early if you are wanting a late night or a lie in but we got up and found that breakfast was nice and well cooked, you again get a choice of what you want, I opted for fruit juice and a full english with poached eggs as you can specify how you want them cooking. It was all cooked to perfection and piping hot. We weren't sure if we would stay for dinner the second evening but we made our choices and were told to let them know mid afternoon if we were eating elsewhere but it seemed silly paying for a pub meal when we could just eat there.
All in all I think for the money it was great value and if the KGB deal comes up again I would re-book. They do have a couple of family rooms where you can pay a supplement for children under 12, so would work out as a fairly cheap weekend trip to the seaside with the little ones. The staff were all excellent.

Room Tip: 4th floor very quiet esp at the back but no views... got woken by a seagull tapping on the window fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Like many others we stayed here on a KGB Deal for 3 nights which included dinner for 2 nights and breakfast for 3 mornings. I have read other reviews which were not happy about the so called regimented meal times and one review even suggested that this was suitable for all the OAP's!! A little bit insulting or perhaps lack of understanding??? Anyway, we are lively "Young" OAP's who had no complaints about the meal times. Yes, the menu was basic but adequate and certainly very good value for the money. The hotel was exceptionally clean throughout and even if the bedrooms were a little bit tired they were spotlessly clean with everything one could need for a short stay. We were hugely impressed with the friendliness and kindness of all the staff without exception. The hotel is in an ideal situation for the seafront, pier, shopping centre, restaurants, bus stops, railway station etc. Our first visit to Eastbourne and so much more than we had envisaged. On Sunday's the 13X bus runs from the pier to Brighton which is great for a pleasant hour+ drive with views and a good few hours in Brighton then catch the bus back. We parked our car outside the hotel very cheaply for the whole of our visit...no need to use it until we left. We have no complaints and for those with KGB vouchers we say, go for it, enjoy it, don't expect or demand 5 star and you'll have a great stay.

Room Tip: We had room 114 facing front at end of corridor away from lift..perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have just got back from spending two nights at the hotel with my partner (we are both in our 20s). I purchased the deal on KGB deals to include breakfast both mornings and dinner both nights, but I would have been better booking a room only somewhere else. For a start, you have to be at breakfast latest of 8.45, and dinner no later than 7. The majority of the guests were OAPs so these times were understandable for them, however there seeemed to be no option if you wanted to eat later. We had breakfast on the first morning which was ok, however did not wake in time on the second day. We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel as the menu options were very basic and the smell of the hotel reminded us of hospital food.

The rooms were very basic, however the bed was comfortable. The original room provided was a bath only, no shower attachment. We phoned to ask if there was another room available and although the manager moved us, he seemed irritated that we had not called as soon as we had got to the room. We didnt actually realise until being in the room half hour that there was no shower available.

It is a good location but I would not recommend if you are under 50.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlotte691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We got a KGB deal for weekend stay, end of September at this delightful hotel. We enjoyed ourselves and found staff very helpful & polite. The hotel was very clean with good hygiene in evidence. Considering the £99 deal (two people two nights bed, breakfast & dinner) we found the food and room adequate for the price and although our room was rather small with tired bathroom, it was outstandingly clean and the bed comfortable. For £99 we think we got a gem of a bargain. It is a quirky hotel, the floors do tend to squeak a lot and we seemed to be the youngest guests but our experience was a good one and we found this Hotel to be full of charm and character. Well done to the cleaning staff, although unseen, so evident. If you arrive by car, ask Reception for parking ticket, a day ticket costs a Pound and is lot cheaper than the pay & display charges. To those who complain; Remember that old saying "horses for courses?. Hotels are much the same. If you want luxury room & food - then expect to pay a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank walkermanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#15 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#16 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 16-32 Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing