We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelieveable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited this hotel with friends on a Groupon voucher from Friday 21 to Sunday 23 February. We still can't believe how lovely it is. The cost is incredibly cheap and the staff, rooms, food and entertainment couldn't have been bettered. We are already thinking of booking a visit again.
Extremely good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    122
    54
    12
    13
See reviews for
36
141
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Travelled with Robinsons, everything was excellent from boarding the coach to returning 5 days later. The driver Gordon kept us all informed throughout the journey and his knowledge of the area and its history during the 2 excursions was first class.
The hotel staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived to departure, they were all without exception, immaculately dressed, clean, very friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. It was a lovely gesture on departure day when they appeared on the steps to wave us all goodbye as the coach pulled out.
The restaurant manager had the dining room running like clockwork. All the waiters/waitresses were very efficient and polite and knew just what to do and when without being told. Our waitress, Renata was the best we have experienced; she always had a smile on her face and got all meals correct first time. The food was excellent and always served hot. Although you order your evening meal at breakfast time we did not find it a problem as it prevents waste, ensures the food is served hot to everyone and helps keep the costs down. The menu, although not large catered for all tastes. The packed lunch, to take for the journey home, is very good value and prevents you being ripped off at the motorway services.
We have stayed in higher graded hotels which have been far inferior to The Imperial and found the value for money was excellent—we don’t know how they can do it at the price we paid.
It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel, the holiday was fantastic and we will be most certainly be returning in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on a 5 day break with Robinsons. The hotel is an impressive building and well situated only a short distance from the main promenade and shops. The room we had was on the 4th floor and was spacious, clean and warm, with a view of the sea. Because we were in a group our breakfast was served at 8.15 with dinner served at 6.15 every night (for us this was just a little too early), but the quality of the food more than made up for this. The only slight problem was the size of the lifts (2) which only held 3 people at a time, even so we had no problems getting a lift when we required one. Entertainment was provided every night. Special praise must go to the staff and also our coach driver (Gordon) who made the holiday such a great success.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner on kgb deal from the 13th until 15thdec 2013. When we arrived we discovered that the hotel had a turkey and tinsel weekend planned which we were told we could join in with. This turned out to be a brilliant experience, great food which included 3 course dinners, cream teas, and breakfasts. Also lots of entertainment laid on. Staff couldn't have been better, polite ,friendly and very efficient nothing was too much bother for them. We stayed in a double room with shower everything was very clean and tidy. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richtills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here on a cheapie KGB deal - well worth the money. The hotel is imposing, a minute from the seafront and buses, 5 minutes from the shops and a ten minute walk from the station.
The rooms have enormously high ceilings and I was either too hot or a bit chilly. But on the plus side the bathroom had gallons of hot water. Everywhere was decorated beautifully for Christmas with a huge tree in the dining room and others in the reception area, bar and lounge. I didn't take part in any of the entertainment but there seems to be evening stuff laid on for the coach parties which are a large part of the hotel's trade. Food was OK - not gourmet and perfectly acceptable. And the staff are wonderfully welcoming, friendly and efficient. Two nights were enough though as I didn't sleep well on my rock hard bed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a party, mainly Americans. Staff polite and helpful, food very good, and spotless accommodation. Although the "end of season", there was entertainment each evening, which was most enjoyable. We were blessed with excellent weather for the week, and it was wonderful to take an early morning walk by the sea each day. I was also lucky enough to have a sea view from my room. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms on left hand side of 4th floor corridor have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank venus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

In October, I took a group of guests here. Most were American and initially, after about a year of planning, I was a little worried after realising that they are world travellers. However, they loved this place as the welcome, reception and service was so good. They liked the food, particularly as the choice for both breakfast and dinner suited all palates. Sometimes, I find that Americans are used to fast food or ready food rather than English meat and vegetable dishes, but the dinners here suited everybody.
We had a daily programme for our guests, so the breakfast choices set them up for a day out, without needing to find anything more than a snack lunch and coffee.
The evening entertainment was good, and the English humour, especially from Ray Campbell made us all laugh.
The rooms were comfortable and well provided.
So thanks to all there, we had a great week!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the back as these are away from the road that has early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#13 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 16-32 Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing