We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot, hot, hot.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Dorset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

A busload of us back from a weekend here. Some good rooms, some small ones.

Upside - The staff were great and the food, simple but good.

Downs - Dear god, why did it have to be so hot in there? And drinks a bit pricey, so we all went into town.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    122
    53
    12
    13
See reviews for
36
137
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from a four night break in Eastbourne and we stayed at the Imperial Hotel,the location of the hotel is great as it is very close to the sea front.
The hotel is very managed and all all the staff are very friendly and hard working ,we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will stay there again when we visit Eastbourne

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffy187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a weekend KGB deal, 2 nights half board for two for £99! Although we were told that the hotel was completely full during the week, weekends obviously much quieter, probably less than half full. As a result there only one sitting for breakfast and dinner and food arrived very very quickly, especially at dinner (pre ordered at breakfast). Food was "ok", certainly nothing outstanding but perfectly edible with adequate choices available. Some things were clearly "instant".
We were not used to not being able to charge drinks to the room and it was a bit of a pain having to pay the wine waiter at the table (but you could avoid that by ordering in advance). House wine extremely good value at £10 a bottle.
Our fourth floor room (side sea view) was warm, clean and the bed ok, with blankets instead of a duvet. There were spare pillows in the wardrobe. Bathroom was spacious and clean, although these days it was odd not to have a shower, even one over the bath. Loads of very hot water though.
Evenings were quiet, and organised entertainment (other than cash prize bingo) seemed to be confined to week nights (when the hotel is full). The upstairs bar was open each evening for a quiet drink after dinner.
Overall, extremely good value. Hotel well placed just off the seafront and just a few minutes walk from the pier, bus stops or the main shopping drag. We were fortunate to be there for the first warm Spring weekend but clearly the resort is more geared up to a later season start in April.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a spill on the tablecloth during dinner on the first night. Following morning same dirty tablecloth. Asked if it could be changed for dinner that evening, waitress said ok. Came down for dinner, guess what, same dirty tablecloth, and same again for breakfast the next day.
Luckily we were checking out that morning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to bay window room at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a KGB Deal, which was excellent value.

The Hotel is a very grand looking building just off the seafront.

We had one of the smaller rooms on the first floor, but it was spacious enough. Included in the room were tea and coffee. There was also a hairdryer in the room, along with the usual TV, etc.

The Hotel was spotlessly clean and the décor is in good order however being an old building there are a lot of creaky floorboards and soundproofing between the rooms isn't brilliant, so we could hear people walking about and loud tv's etc.

The bed was comfortable, but had blankets rather than a duvet. There were extra pillows available in the wardrobe.

Our deal included a three course evening meal and breakfast. In this Hotel there are allocated Meal times. Either 6.15 or 7.00 for the evening meal and 8.00 and 8.45 for breakfast. You are allocated which sitting is yours. The up side of this is that your food is served quickly so there is no waiting for your food. But it does mean less flexibility.

The food itself was hot and tasty, portion sizes were good and there was a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 sweets. Breakfast is a starter of fruit or cereal followed by either a full English or continental. As I have said, it was nice but I wouldn't say it was made with top quality ingredients.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, and were all smartly turned out.

This Hotel clearly is primarily designed to cope with large groups of elderly visitors, in addition to the services already described there is a nightly game of Bingo in the Ballroom followed by a singer delivering songs from the musicals or suchlike.

After dinner the only bar is the one in the Ballroom, the Grand Prix bar is closed this means you can't have a quiet drink after dinner after dinner. I felt the bar was a bit limited in choice with just one bitter, one Lager, Cider and Guinness on draught.

It also seemed that it wasn't possible to charge extras to your room, so if you wished to have a drink with your meal for example, you were expected to pay for it there and then.

Having said all that, the hotel was a perfect base for a coupe of days in Eastbourne, it is in a good location with the sea being literally over the road, 5 minutes walk leads you to the main shopping area, and the station is about 15 minutes walk. The hotel doesn't have dedicated parking, but there is plenty of on street parking around the hotel and they will provide an parking permit for £1.00.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited this hotel with friends on a Groupon voucher from Friday 21 to Sunday 23 February. We still can't believe how lovely it is. The cost is incredibly cheap and the staff, rooms, food and entertainment couldn't have been bettered. We are already thinking of booking a visit again.
Extremely good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Travelled with Robinsons, everything was excellent from boarding the coach to returning 5 days later. The driver Gordon kept us all informed throughout the journey and his knowledge of the area and its history during the 2 excursions was first class.
The hotel staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived to departure, they were all without exception, immaculately dressed, clean, very friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. It was a lovely gesture on departure day when they appeared on the steps to wave us all goodbye as the coach pulled out.
The restaurant manager had the dining room running like clockwork. All the waiters/waitresses were very efficient and polite and knew just what to do and when without being told. Our waitress, Renata was the best we have experienced; she always had a smile on her face and got all meals correct first time. The food was excellent and always served hot. Although you order your evening meal at breakfast time we did not find it a problem as it prevents waste, ensures the food is served hot to everyone and helps keep the costs down. The menu, although not large catered for all tastes. The packed lunch, to take for the journey home, is very good value and prevents you being ripped off at the motorway services.
We have stayed in higher graded hotels which have been far inferior to The Imperial and found the value for money was excellent—we don’t know how they can do it at the price we paid.
It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel, the holiday was fantastic and we will be most certainly be returning in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#15 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#16 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 16-32 Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing