We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 14 March 2008

Our room was a single size, old and smelling of cigarette fumes, we overlooked the back, looking out at the service yards & kitchens. One window (sash frame) that when opened to airate pigeons flew in on two days.
The en-suite was so small, you really couldn't swing a mouse in it. The shower broke twice, unable to turn off the hot water!
The room was dirty, and after our real disapointment noticed the seriously dirty carpet. There was no space to stretch our legs except on the bed!
If that wasn't bad enough the food was not fresh, with frozen vegetables and small portions. There was no real choice, unusual for such a big hotel.
When we complained four times, it was like deaf ears, returning plumbers tools to reception and telling them about the pigeon invasion...replied like Sybil Fawlty.."well there is a pigeon problem in Eastbourne"! We have never been contacted by the Cumberland since leaving a written message upon departure.
Clearly the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnNutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    24
    23
    15
See reviews for
37
61
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Having just returned from sunny Eastbourne with a party of 40 pensioners(my sister & I are in our 40s) I can honestly say I was impressed by the hotel & how well it catered for all of us. The rooms were very clean with sheets & towels changed daily. My only concern here was the bathroom was very tiny & anyone with a disability could find it awkward ie my Mum. We were only staying 2 nights it was not worth the hassle of moving. But I'm sure you could ask if there was a bigger bathroom available. The food was very good considering how many guests there were in the dinning room at one time. 3 courses and ample. Although most of the staff were not english they were very efficient and polite. Overall we had a pleasant stay. I would recommened this hotel for value for money. The location was ideal right on the sea front with flat and uneven surfaces.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — my only concern was the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrica47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Had a very good 5 day holiday. The room was clean and serviced well
The food and service in the restraunt was first class. Looking forward to another visit The staff wer very friendly and courteous

  • Liked — cleanliness and service
  • Disliked — no games room
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2006

Rooms OK. Food of a poor standard but most important waiters most unhelpful and surly. It must be easy to find a better hotel than this one.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Ferndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 November 2005

I stayed at the Cumberland at the end of october and unlike the other review on the site, I had no problems at all. The staff were polite and curteous, the food was perfect, and the condition and cleanliness of the room too. I stayed in a double seaview room, and it had the most beautiful view one could ask for. The position on the seafront was perfect, and all in all I had a wonderful time in Eastbourne. Definately fit for its 3 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2005

This hotel had been booked for a major function which we attended.
Our experience is as follows:-
Room filthy - clothes left in suitcases as wardrobe and drawers disgusting, a cleaning team was sent round all the rooms following further complaints.
Food - Vile, fruit and cheese had mould on it along with still frozen apple pies!!

All in all - my advice - AVOID at all costs if you value your health!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#24 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban
Oban
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing