We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming staff, run down hotel, dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming staff, run down hotel, dated rooms”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Staff unwelcoming just go through motions, hotel showing it's age and so do the rooms. Sellotape on broken window over cracks water stains in ceiling and walls with signs of mood growing. Bathroom surprisingly clean thou again ceiling full of cracks with plaster falling off

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Lillypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    86
    26
    24
    15
See reviews for
38
65
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and i stayed at the cumberland not by choice but because our original hotel let us down and booked us into the cumberland.We did not hold out much hope but wanted to be in eastbourne on this weekend.We arrived early and straightaway were offered the parking permit all day £1 and had our booking confirmed which helped to put us at ease.Booking in was from 3pm so we came back to check in this was very easy and done very professionally and so to our room? a nice surprise not luxurious but clean comfortable plenty of storage space clean towels everything you would expect + a sea view all for there rate which we discovred was D+B+B £70 we did not pay this rate as we had a deal with the original hotel who covered the difference. Breakfast was a Buffet good selection + some Extras there was also fruit&cereals
Toast tea and or coffee as much as you wanted Evening meal was the same standard 3 course
multiple choice on each course cooked well and served by very attentive & professional staff bar prices were competitive not extortionate In closing i would like to say that i would stay here again if required.

Room Tip: I was told by a younger couple than us that room 110 is a larger room they also informed us that dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Only stayed one night and wouldn't want to stay longer. Like so many English seaside hotels, The Cumberland undoubtedly suffers from a major lack of investment over many years and is probably now beyond just redecoration. My bedroom overlooking the rear courtyard, was tired looking, as was the bathroom. The TV was antiquated and positioned so low to the floor that you had to sit bolt upright in bed to see it, and even then the reception was so poor that it wasn't worth watching anyway. The furniture was cheap and shabby, having said that the bed was a tad more comfortable than those I've often had to suffer at a Travelodge, but then it was about twice as much as I often have to pay at the latter. My nights sleep wasn't improved by someone emptying all the empty bottles into the wheelie bin in the early hours of the morning.
Breakfast was acceptable, although the toast was barely off white in colour. In general, I wouldn't stay there again by choice but it's just about tolerable for an overnight stay if you have to be in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnoblepc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel looked good from the outside and is in a lovely position overlooking the sea and the bandstand and close to shops and amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the public rooms were quite good if a little tired. That is the best I can say.
Our bedroom was in serious need of refurbishment and not very clean. The television was unwatchable due to the bad signal.
The bath was tiny (knees under the chin) and the shower was on a swivel hook over the bath which swiveled everywhere except where it was needed. The shower curtain did not reach all around the bath meaning that however careful we were the floor got soaked every time we had a shower. One of our towels was threadbare and frayed down one side.
The menu looked good but the food was mediocre and basic, very much 80's pub food style with frozen vegetables on one occasion!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

All the staff from reception,dining and housekeeping were very good and really helpful. We have been here on group holiday's before and enjoyed this trip just as much. The one annoying thing is the cost of the drink's they are so overpriced. As we we are all pensioners on a limited income it would have been nice to have had happy hour prices sometime during the evening and the Hotel would have made more profit also.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My parents have asked me to place this comment concerning their stay and the restaurant at the Cumberland in particular.

Both parents have stayed and enjoyed food in many restaurants around the UK and Europe. The stay at the Cumberland was generally ok, the rooms were tired but clean and the main staff friendly and helpful but, the restaurant was the problem. The food is possibly the worst they have been given in any hotel they have stayed in before and when mentioning the issue to the resturant manager, she just said, "I'll get the general manager to contact you" That was weeks ago and still no contact. It seems they know the problem and can do nothing about it. The suggestion therefore is do not eat there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now with our dance club and every time it's been great. Service is second to none. Food great. Would Recomend every time. it's so close to shops, pier and right across the road from the beach. So much to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#25 of 40 in Eastbourne
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban
Oban
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing