We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention to the floors!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 26 February 2013

On a recent visit to the Cumberland hotel, first impressions of the interior are lovely. There is a good dance floor in the ballroom, although the lift could do with being improved. Pleasant dining room, but horrible red plastic chairs to sit at the table. The bedrooms are clean and tidy, but cracked tiles botched up with filler and a bath that was for a midget. The FLOORS-- we hardly slept due to creaking floors in the rooms above, in the corridors outside and even in the rooms either side of us. Staff were lovely and very helpful but something needs to be done about the creaky floors.

Room Tip: AsK about the FLOORS esecially on 2nd FLOOR
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

I visited this hotel on the weekend 10 feb 2013. A linedance weekend with IOW Tours.
The food was very good served by pleasant and helpful waiters. The dance venue was also of a good standard. The hotel itself is in need of some TLC. The room (406 ) was adequate but basic. Television what I saw of it, had very poor reception. The shower was just a little dribble and the toilet didn't always flush properly. The floorboards creaked very annoying especially late at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Every thing excellent hotel going thru redecorating,we never saw any workmen but the dining room is lovely.lounge very comfortable entertainment excellent .the staff could not do enough for you.checked every night that all is ok for you breakfast every thing you possible want we had all inclusive so we did not have to pay for drinks. Well done to all staff for our excellent holiday

Room Tip: Mine was single room on the front very small but adequate 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Went to our Christmas Party at the Cumberland and stayed the night. Good party (despite awful music) great room. Coffee at breakfast too some effort, but followup was good. Front desk staff has good sense of humour, breakfast staff needs a life. Parking can be provided but did not find out until I had put my car in the public parking a couple of blocks away. Why does this section need 200 words? I said what I wanted, so live with it.
The building is wonderful, though one might call parts of it 'bygone glory' as the Dutch say. The breakfast room, where the party was also held was very grand and obviously dated back to Victorian days. Best to update it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnSeaside1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

it was fun me travelling with my friends to eastbourne, we had a nice trip and we had good quality of sleep in Cumberland hotel there rooms are very lovely . there continental dishes are excellent , we enjoyed the meals and we where be taking to tourist places

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slydosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Staff unwelcoming just go through motions, hotel showing it's age and so do the rooms. Sellotape on broken window over cracks water stains in ceiling and walls with signs of mood growing. Bathroom surprisingly clean thou again ceiling full of cracks with plaster falling off

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
8  Thank Lillypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and i stayed at the cumberland not by choice but because our original hotel let us down and booked us into the cumberland.We did not hold out much hope but wanted to be in eastbourne on this weekend.We arrived early and straightaway were offered the parking permit all day £1 and had our booking confirmed which helped to put us at ease.Booking in was from 3pm so we came back to check in this was very easy and done very professionally and so to our room? a nice surprise not luxurious but clean comfortable plenty of storage space clean towels everything you would expect + a sea view all for there rate which we discovred was D+B+B £70 we did not pay this rate as we had a deal with the original hotel who covered the difference. Breakfast was a Buffet good selection + some Extras there was also fruit&cereals
Toast tea and or coffee as much as you wanted Evening meal was the same standard 3 course
multiple choice on each course cooked well and served by very attentive & professional staff bar prices were competitive not extortionate In closing i would like to say that i would stay here again if required.

Room Tip: I was told by a younger couple than us that room 110 is a larger room they also informed us that dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £104 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing