We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We have used this hotel for dance weekends and love it.
Staff are great. Can't help you enough.
We take a large group of people with us and although you can never please everyone I would say that people have a really good time.
Plenty to do in the area too.
Have booked to take our group back in December. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 1 night on Saturday. We had an excellent stay, and the staff looked after us very well. The Hotel is a beautiful old traditional place and our seaview room was superb. Will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_W_London186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel was great, very stylish old style decoration but everything spotless..the room was ample and comfi and the bathroom perfectly clean!the friendly receptionists made the effort to get me a balcony even if not many available..the extra for the sea view worth it (only 10pounds)views are amazing!lovely area,walking distance to the pubs and so close to the sea...breakfast was amazing and they checked on me every 5mins to make sure i had plenty of toast and tea, English breakfast included and I did not eat more because I was so full..unlike other hotels, there are not stares cos u are eating a little bit too much..
only thing they could improve is there is no late check out option, would have paid gladly for it to have a little nap after breakfast..they made it up to me keeping my bags after I checked out so I could enjoy my Sunday without carrying them..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raquel83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The. Hotel was very clean and a friendly atmosphere all the Staff was very helpful, My single room was emasculate with a large bathroom, an ideal sea view from the window with an amazing view Of the sunrise. Good wide choice of meals and great value, Ishall go again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Only stayed the one night that was enough room to call it shabby would be too nice.The carpet was dirty and stained,the valence on beds grubby,wardrobe pole was broken,quilt on bed looked not very clean Breakfast was ridiculous bacon tepid and undercooked,eggs hard,as for the mushroom was floating in water,uninterested staff. All in all a hotel that should be ashamed to be open

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tteerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago when they were renovating the outside, cant see a lot of difference, the reception area is very comfortable with lovely seating and a nice view of the sea front, very pleasant. Beautiful Ballroom, but dont be fooled some of the rooms are badly in need of renovation. Look before you book. I had a very very small room, badly in need of a new carpet and a facelift. Bathroom, tiny with shower that didnt come off the wall, so couldn't wash hair without getting wet all over. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Food was a lot to be desired, smallest portions I have ever seen and not a lot of choice, this may be because we were on a group booking, but we shouldn't be penalised for being with a group.
There was no hot water the whole of the weekend due to a fault with the water system. We were offered a rebate for the inconvenience but we decided not to follow this up, we didnt want the organisers to be out of pocket, They were very concerned for us, (not their fault in any way, completely down to the hotel,) and I think they wrongly agreed to part refund us from their own pocket, the hotel should have made the refunds themselves. Hotel In a very nice location and very near to all amenities, facing the sea and a short walk to the shops, could take a few days getting round them all, pier and bus stops very close.

Room Tip: Just have a look at the room first before accepting it, some have been renovated and others are bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULINE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. Yes the décor is a bit dated ,and the lift is a bit slow and creaky, and the TV is terrestrial channels only. But the food is excellent for a 3 star hotel, and the service is quick and efficient. The ballroom is beautiful, one of the best floors anywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a supply of good quality tea and coffee, and the bar prices are very reasonable,

But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Without exception they are friendly and helpful and do all they can to make your stay a happy one.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms, usually on the fourth floor. They have all been quiet and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £106 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing