We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

have just returned from a 5day break at the cumberland with abacus coaches. the staff was very friendly and most helpful , the food was good and plentiful,had a large seaview room with balcony which unfoortunately the weather prevented us using. the only downside was the sqeeky floor boards and the noisy guests in the next room which turned out to be two elderly ladies. all in all it was a great hotel and hope to return at some stage in better weather.

Room Tip: room 106 large seaview room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlerlincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    81
    24
    21
    15
See reviews for
37
58
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed with a group of 36 Scottish dancers for a weekend. Apart from disturbance from a party at an adjacent hotel (the Mansion Lions) which spilled outside & went on until the early hours, all were very pleased with their accommodation. we had a room overlooking the sea which was nice. The room was plenty big enough for two of us and all the music equipment to be stored. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had several people with special diet needs which were all dealt with very well. They even have a toaster dedicated to gluten free bread. That is real service, and not what one comes to expect except at the top of the range hotels. But at The Cumberland, nothing seems to be too much bother. So nice for the guest to come first.... The group are already in the planning stagfe for next year. Well done, The Cumberland

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMC285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed overnight with a three course dinner, bed and breakfast for £69 in a double room with balcony overlooking the sea. The food was excellent and the value for money was amazing. The hotel has been revamped in a 1930's Art Deco style and the lounge/dining areas were very luxurious, the rooms however were quite tired and needed some maintenance i.e. the wind blew in through the windows.
The deal that we had couldn't be faulted, however, the price of the drinks was rather steep and £12 for two Irish Coffees obviously helps the hotel to recoup some revenue.
We didn't use the pool/terrace as we visited on a wet October day but it was well appointed if you were visiting in the summer.

Room Tip: First floor sun terrace rooms look wonderful but you are directly overlooked by everyone with the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My mother and friend have just spent a week at The Cumberland. My wife and I spent time with the each day, and dined there Wenesday evening. The staff are some of the friendliest I have come across, nothing was too much trouble. The food was really enjoyable with a decent choice. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have just returned from the most lovely Afternoon Tea at The Cumberland in celebration of my dear old mum's 85th birthday.
We had booked a table for the five of us right at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea and within minutes of being seated we were asked for our choice of either tea or coffee. This was soon on the table which had already been set out with a lovely "Poppy" tea service. We did not have to wait long before the most wonderful range of fresh sandwiches, cakes and scones was delivered. Everything was so tasty and so moist. These were then followed by lovely sweet strawberries and a glass of bubbly.
The waiting staff were extremely attentive throughout the whole of the meal and were more than willing to bring us a second pot of lovely fresh tea and coffee.
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough. Well done The Cumberland!
Will certainly be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cas123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My daughters organised High Tea with champagne and strawberries to follow, as a surprise for my birthday. We enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in the sun lounge with beautiful views of Eastbourne seafront. The food was well presented and plentiful, with prompt service. The only niggle of the afternoon was that we were presented with the bill as soon as we started our food and was told by the waitress ( well it actually said porter on her name badge) if we required anything else that she would come back and add it to the bill later.
I would certainly use this hotel again for this kind of event.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cumberland for two nights in September for a family wedding, the reception of which was being held at the hotel. We arrived on the Friday night to a very pleasant lady at Reception who gave us a parking permit for the whole weekend for £1 - result. We parked up and headed to our bedroom on the 2nd floor at the front of the building. We were greeted by a small but clean room. Double bed was actually a double and not two singles pushed together which was nice however one of the light fittings was hanging from the ceiling wires and all, the table holding the tv was broken and leaned precariously forward and the hairdryer looked like a 50 year old vacuum cleaner that was attached to the wall and did not give any drying power whatsoever. The bathroom was OK - the shower broke and we had to fix it but other then that it worked fine, the towels were nice and toiletries were there if you needed them. The room also had a sea view which was nice, you can also see and hear very clearly the stuff thats going on in the eastbourne open theatre thingy that is over the road which is very loud but a good laugh. Everything in the room seemed to creak and I was awoken by the people next door shouting at each other but other then that I had a good sleep. The breakfast was awful, lukewarm, congealed and not good quality however it is recovered a little bit by the pleasant and helpful staff. Off to the town hall for the service and back for the party. We didn't have the downstairs until 7 and so everyone hung around at the bar upstairs. Good selection of drinks, reasonably priced but the service was so slow and quite frankly bizarre. They would only take one drink at a time and then if it was a spirit and mixer they would put about a cm of coke in with it unless you asked for more. The staff were nice but service was slow and confused and it almost seemed like they had never worked behind a bar before. The reception was the real saving grace for the 3/5 rating. We had a brilliant time, despite the sweatbox bar area and slow service but then I am not sure they were expecting such a bunch of boozers. The room was big and well set out and had an excellent dancefloor. The buffet was hot, varied and of a good quality and the photo booth run by what was last night's night porter was a real hit. The DJ seemed to fail to grasp that he was playing at a 50year old couples wedding and went off on some trance tangents at times but was otherwise good. Good toilets and nice that they have a door for smokers so they don't have to traipse up and down. The reception went off without a hitch and everyone had a great time.

All in all, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again as the rooms and breakfast quality was poor however the reception was great and we had an excellent time.

Room Tip: 214 is a 2nd floor room on the front - noisy but good view. Awful hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#15 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban
Oban
#25 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing