We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Eastbourne”
Review of Ravilious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravilious
Ranked #8 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Absolutely the best hotel in Eastbourne. My partner and I stayed in Room 10 this weekend and couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, luxurious and well appointed. Best of of, it was great value for money. I'm almost hesitant to write this review as I'm sure the prices will go up and I wont be able to afford it anymore. I certainly plan to stay there again for a romantic night away.

Best of all was breakfast in bed, a very tasty full english and freshly squeezed juice.

If the owners (Frank and Junior) read this, well done guys for making Ravilious a beautiful place to stay, my partner and I cannot wait to stay there again, thanks for a very relaxing Friday night.

Jon and Tom

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the Executive Suites, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for one night in a double delux, room 8, rate £68 for a Saturday night+breakfast included. Five minute walk from town center. Warm welcoming staff, whom were very eager to cater to our needs. The interior appears to have been recently renovated to a high standard with lovely unique touches. Our room on arrival was big and most importantly warm, thanks to the electric heater. Our bathroom was stunning. Lovely rain shower with another optional hand held shower attachment over a big deep bath! Cute little soaps,shower gels present with a commentary grooming pack and big thick soft fluffy towels. In the room there was a sofa and a big flat screen tv, basic tea and coffee facilities with a large vanity mirror and set(great place to get ready!). Our bed was very comfortable, plump pillows, the bed did have a square wooden base with pointy edges (looks awesome) but can be a liitle dangerous to the shins. Breakfast made upon order, big filling and again beautifully presented meal, must be a qualified chief behind the scenes! Highly recommend this b&b, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed at Ravilious for one night as a late Valentine's treat. We could not have chosen a better place to be. The room no.10 is absolutely stunning, with it's modern decor and massive bath tub just by the windows so you can look at the stars and moon while having a bath. Very romantic. Overall, the room was extremely clean, the bed big, nice and comfy, very tasty breakfast and superb location, just minutes away from the beach and within short stroll away from the town center. Whole experience very relaxing and the staff are always ready to help or offer a piece of advice. Eastbourne's little gem! Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our visit was in January 2014 and the weather was cold and wet - the hotel does not have central heating and relies on electric heaters. The room was warm but the en-suite was positively freezing. Despite putting on the en-suite electric radiator and leaving for an evening meal, the room was still very cold on our return. I expect in the warm summer months the temperature would be fine.
We stayed in Rm 6 and found the internal appearance of a "boutique" hotel. A nice touch is apart from a kettle for tea making, there was also a Costa Tassimo coffee machine. The bed was comfortable although low and had a wooden surround which jutted out 6 inches. If not careful occupiers can bruise their shins when getting into the bed! The room has a small table with chair which you would think was a dressing table for the occupier to apply makeup and check appearance - however the mirror is too high resulting in a crouching position to get a view.
The en-suite, apart from being very cold, was clean and had modern fittings. The shower over the bath was very good.
Breakfast was very good, with a good selection on the menu.
Price in an Executive Rm was £90 @ night incl breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the front of the hotel and the Devonshire Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashforth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very pleasant. Bed comfy and the room spacious and very attractive. Coffee machine as well as kettle and generous selection of drinks provided. Nice breakfast. Hospitable and very pleasant owner. Whole experience very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My partner and i stayed here for one night and i can't recommend it enough.

Great location - about 5-10 minuet walk from the station, great food (both in quality and selection for breakfast), excellent T+C facilities in room and just a beautiful hotel and room.

The owner of the hotel was really lovely and could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. I would go back to Eastbourne just to stay in this hotel!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend room 8 but have a feeling they are all of high quality. There is currently no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugjackson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A lovely surprise to find somewhere so stylish and comfortable in Eastbourne. Terrific location near town centre, theatres and Towner Gallery and a short stroll from the sea front. Amazing large rooms which have been renovated with style and individuality. Wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravilious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravilious

Address: 16 Blackwater Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JD, England (Formerly Gladwyn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravilious 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the discerning traveller an alternative to the corporate environment of typical hotels. We provide a contemporary 'home away from home' feel, focusing on providing our guests with the highest level of comfort and care.The boutique guest house offers ten stylish bedrooms in an extensively refurbished Victorian house. We are situated in seaside town of Eastbourne, overlooking Devonshire Park and in the centre of the towns cultural quarter.Key elements of a successful guest house include relaxing decor, warm welcome, comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, power showers, convenient location and a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice. All this as well as a high standard of service is what the Ravilious is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ravilious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing