We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Eastbourne - Small but perfectly formed”
Review of Eastern Wok

Eastern Wok
Ranked #188 of 414 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Eastbourne - Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The title says what it is. I love this chinese in Old Town, it is small, only catering for 18 people at best but the food is always perfectly cooked and such a find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    7
    1
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best Chinese in Eastbourne..........”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Another fantastic evening eating great food. I am a very fussy eater and i am always hard to please when it comes to food,but eastern wok have never failed. Fantastic staff always very kind and professional. Well done to you all xx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a shame. Great food, when it finally arrives. We booked and were seated on time, on a Saturday night. 10 mins - asked for drinks and placed order. 30 mins - prawn crackers arrived, 65 mins - starters arrived. 140 mins - we asked if the main courses would ever arrive "It's coming". Nearly two hours and the mains finally arrived. Excellent food, but by now we were all so tetchy from having to sit while watching half a ton of takeaway food leave the place every 10-15 mins. We felt that we had clearly been forgotten due to preference being put on the takeaway customers. We made our feelings known but all we got in return was a short "sorry for your wait" - no offer of a free drink, dessert or anything. It took us three hours from start to finish. Bearing in mind that the food we ordered was not difficult to produce, this was simply appalling service. As I say - what a shame - as the food is very good - but in future perhaps the answer is to phone an order in 90 mins ahead and then turn up to eat it!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

For the second time running the takeaway delivered to our home was missing items. I mean sweet & sour king prawn with no sweet & sour sauce?!? Really??? and the BBQ pork was more fat than meat. On complaining, we were offered a free sauce on our next order. Seriously???
These people are really not interested in listening to a genuine grievance so my advice is go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grahamtheear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had been meaning to try Eastern Wok for some time and we were not disappointed at all. Bijou restaurant with possibly about 15 covers. Nicely decorated and attention to detail with table linen and crockery. Waiting staff very pleasant and attentive. Catering to Chinese and Japenese cuisine, Food cooked fresh and arrived very hot. We were extremely impressed with the flavour of our food and can easily say that this is the best Chinese restaurant in Eastbourne. Also does take aways which seemed busy whilst we were there. We will return very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Wok also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Eastern Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing