We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennis and Theatre”

Devonshire Park Centre
Ranked #17 of 60 things to do in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Integrated and versatile, the Devonshire Park Centre is the town's main Conference and Theatre venue, with 1700 seater auditorium and banqueting for 800. It incorporates the Congress Theatre and Floral Hall offering a wide choice of space for meetings, exhibitions, banquets, dances, shows and live music.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tennis and Theatre”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

loved it, went especially for the tennis which was marvellous. Also visited the Theatre and would recommend others to see the shows.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank molly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a day at the tennis”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

last saturday 15 june i went along to devonshire park with my 93 year old father and was pleasantly surprised that we were able to watch top quality tennis players for free( normally you would pay but this was a family fun day). All of the staff in attendance were pleasant and very helpful. We were shown to seats in the front row on centre court. The setting was beautiful and very relaxing, I can think of no better place to watch top class tennis in such an informal and relaxed environment. There were refreshments available and toilets easily accessible. The grass courts were the finest I have ever seen. I will certainly return and would recommend that any tennis fan should visit this magnificent venue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Devonshire Conference Centre”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Covered in scaffolding outside. However once inside the staff were helpful, but signage could be better, venue looking a bit tired.
Problem - during a comfort break at 4pm on Saturday afternoon several hundred people went to the two tea and coffee bars only to find them closed! - No vending machines, no water, no tea - nothing/nada/sod all. Asked a member of staff where could we get some water and was advised to try the pub across the road!
Come on Eastbourne you have to do better than that!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceSalvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great play and lovely theatre”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a lovely old theatre full of character within walking distance of the Pier.The play we saw was 'Driving Miss Daisy'. It was excellent. I'm sure most productions there will be good as they attract touring plays and some from London.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An Afternoon with Tom Conti in Rough Justice”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Devonshire is a very old but comfortable theater, like all places of entertainment these days in need of a spruce up. However an extremely nice afternoon was spent watching Rough Justice and being the jury at the end. The theater was packed to capacity as far as I could see, with us Golden Oldies as usual these days. It is very well run and opens its doors on time and the performance started on time. The place was nice and clean though cannot comment on the facilities as neither of us used them. The really surprising thing was the amount of leg room, I am just over 6ft and usually my knees are in the back of the seat in front but the extra gives great comfort. It is hoped that television and the disgustingly badly acted soaps do not continue to keep the young away from the theater. Will certainly tell people about it and long may it continue to play to packed houses.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonshire Park Centre also viewed

 

Been to Devonshire Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing