We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Golf!”
Review of Treasure Island

Treasure Island
Ranked #2 of 12 Fun & Games in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recently refurbished this sea fronted Pirate themed park is a swashbuckling favourite with all the family. Offering:Treasure Island Adventure Park: Climb aboard Long John Silver's shipwreck with slides, bridges, netted walkways and zip slide in spacious parkland or splash in the paddling lagoon & look for treasure in the sandy beach.Buccaneers Indoor Adventure: This huge indoor soft play area on 2 levels with other fun activities also has a separate area for tiny tots. There is a comfortable seated area for adults with refreshments/snacks available from one of our Food Ahoy centres.Pirate Adventure Golf:18-hole course, which is floodlit in the summer evenings. Putt over & under bridges, through caves with extraordinary themed landscaping and enchanting Pirate lore.Food/refreshment: "Hungry Pirate" &"Food Ahoy" centres offering refreshments for the whole family at very affordable prices.
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adventure Golf!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Played adventure golf here when we visited Eastbourne & found it very good value for money & great fun! It wasn't very busy on a weekday in mid September so we were able to take our time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Much better than any other seaside crazy golf courses we've played.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mazg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at Treasure Island, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Great to hear - thanks for taking time in giving us a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    22
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

When thie restaurant fully opens ( i.e.with evening meals, ) with sensible prices and portions I think this eatery will be hard to beat.with it's elevated position, great views are to be had from Beachy Head to Hastings.
The staff are welcoming, pleasant and attentive.
The premises both inside and out are well furnished and appointed.
The Harbour cafes and restaurants had better watch out for serious competition!
I shall certainly revisit, bringing my family and friends.
Good Luck in this venture!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jelofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at Treasure Island, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thanks v much for the review - hope that we continue to deserve your support - we just got a separate The Beach Deck trip advisor page...many thanks again Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach deck restaurant”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Service is spot on. Food is great. The water views are great.
A new restaurant at Treasure Island that promises to give their customers lots of freshness.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReturningSoon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at Treasure Island, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Many thanks for the review - we now have The Beach Deck on here as separate to Treasure Island business - hope to see you at The Beach Deck soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Crazy Golf”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Crazy golf with a difference, we are really pleased it has reopened. The childrens area has been improved and there is lots to do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bram221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inexperienced staff and bad portion sizes”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

As a local person I am really excited about this restaurant as one thing that Eastbourne is lacking is a good restaurant on the beach. I have been 3 times now and overall it is good but it needs to iron out a few issues before it puts people off, especially people who live in Eastbourne who will use it in the winter. The waiting staff are lovely but they may just need a bit of training, for example I find it really bad practice to be asked if I am leaving a tip when paying by card, the customer should be handed the machine and given the option privately. This also leads on to the other problem, I ordered a smoked salmon and avocado salad, there was a nice amount of smoked salmon but a tiny amount of avocado and the salad consisted of two slices of cucumber and a few lettuce leaves, all for just short of £8.00. When the manager came and asked if everything was ok I mentioned the small amount of avocado and was told that yes they had been delivered that morning and were not very good quality so instead of putting below par avocado on the plate they had just put on what they could. This to my mind does not solve a customers problem but just makes them feel slightly cheated, he could have offered to put more salad on or discount the price, you cannot just skimp on one of the main ingredient that someone has ordered.
Having said all this I am confident that these are just teething issues and I will still wholeheartedly support this restaurant and I have recommended to several people who have tried it. All the best for the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Meleastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil L, Owner at Treasure Island, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for response - as one of the owners its vital for us to know our shortcomings in these early stages. You mention very valid points, which we can raise immediately and try to resolve as soon as possible - most of which is caused from young staff being not fully trained to the right standards by ourselves....they are all trying their hardest...and are all super people...but just need more training from management. Its always the most difficult thing to get right when you first open a restaurant (espec as Eastbourne does not provide/lacks experienced restaurant staff) but we will be getting these little things right v soon and cannot thank you enough for your support and constructive comments. Please let me know when you are next at The Beach Deck (Phil).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treasure Island also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing