We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old theatre”

Devonshire Park Theatre
Ranked #11 of 60 things to do in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lovely old theatre”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went to see The Play that goes wrong last night and laughed like a drain. It is only on until Saturday 5th July 14.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    55
    11
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A short break in Eastbourne and noticed the West End Smash hit comedy 'The play that goes wrong' was on'. I went as the essential carer, no charge...entrance at side so no stairs. Very helpful & attentive staff. Show will attended and superb show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice old style Theatre”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

good value, good shows, a throw back to a time before i was born.
a pub next door, as the bar does not open for the matinees.
Polite and helpfull staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bamboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you live in Eastbourne or are just passing through, you must go and see something here. Sadly beautiful places like this are in decline & if they are not used they will all disappear. This theatre is really a lovely thing to look at, a little sad outside, needs a coat of paint, but the inside is just beautiful. Seating around 900, it was a little disappointing to see it part full for what was really quite an excellent production last Saturday. Very traditional in theatre terms, the staff were all very pleasant which always helps on a night out. The acoustics are amazing & we could hear every word. Even if you only go once in a while, there is bound to be something on to suit at some time or other, an extremely well balanced and varied programme of events there will be something for every taste.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PotNoodle1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Why are more people not visiting this theatre?”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On a weekend trip to Eastbourne we popped in to see what was playing on the Saturday evening and it turned out it was Shady Business. We booked 2 tickets and had a lovely evening. We really enjoyed the play. The cast were very good the play full of laughs and the theatre is beautiful. What we could not understand was why the theatre was only a quarter full. Our town has a very modern theatre but puts on many of the same types of shows as this theatre and we go often and it is rare to see a spare seat. The tickets were not expensive especially compared to the West End where we had attended a show the week before. I realise that not everyone wants to see the same types of play but if you are visiting Eastbourne see if there is something you want to see because it will be well worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ardentspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonshire Park Theatre also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Devonshire Park Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing