We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay at Wendy house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wendy House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Newly decorated dining area.
Actor Amanda Abbington who stayed while performing at Devonshire Park Theatre
Wind sculptured tree on the South Downs
Sun rise with Eastbourne pier
The lighthouse at the foot of Beachy Head
Eastbourne promenade is always colourful
The view of Eastbourne from Beachy Head
The stunning Seven Sisters
Eastbourne Airbourne in August
International Tennis at Devonshire Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eastbourne, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kathylisa...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Wendy house”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well we've just come back from probably the best holiday we've had for a long time. Wendy house is a beautiful , well equipped cottage , was fantastically clean and thoughtfully kitted out with everything you could possibly need. We had milk and more importantly prosecco left in the fridge for our arrival such a lovely thoughtful touch and we loved the coffee pods we were left. The cottage is fantastically located by the train station which we used to travel to Brighton and various other places (easier than parking) . It was close to town and loved looking round the shops up the Main Street which took us direct to the lovely beach and fantastic bandstand which hosted some great acts while we were there. The garage was a bonus and easily fitted our fiat panda in no problem so no worrying about parking. The mattresses were probably the best quality I've slept on outside of my home so no uncomfortable nights sleep!! Altogether I highly recommend people to book a holiday in this award winning beautiful cottage you won't be dissapointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eastboune on great form!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed a week in Eastbourne at the Wendy house during the Aegon International Tennis competition. The house is ideally situated town centre by the railway station. The house is clean, comfortable and well equipt for four guests. It has an integrated garage suitable for a small/medium sized car so avoids the road parking charges. There is no discrete outside space as the house is situated with 7 others around a tidy private courtyard/driveway. But being central all the social, dining and shopping attractions of the town are easily explored without needing a car. The tennis was excellent and the Towner art gallery is a "must see" but check the exhibitions from the web site for the listed events. Eastbourne town feels like a town of small villages with many streets having a distinct character. The sea front and promenade are perfect for a stroll, jog or just coffee. Include a walk up the well maintained pier a perfect British seaside resort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Mavis...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Accommodation perfect for our holiday, very comfortable and close to all amenities.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved our break in Wendy House. Very secluded position considering it is less than 5 minutes walk to train station and numerous bus stops. I would certainly stay here again if holidaying in Eastbourne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnepete...
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming little house. Perfect for my weekend away”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely little house. Nicely decorated and homely. Very clean and in a great location near the station and town. Owner was really helpful and helped us to make to most of our stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8081EJed...
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and well equipped.”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Only 2 minutes from the train station in a quiet (other than the seagulls) back street. Location was great and within short walking distance to all amenities.
The double bed was small but adequate. The house was well equipped with all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay.
Would certainly stay again.
Thank you Tim.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole K...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Wendy House is very centrally located with loads of shops, as well as the train station, only a few minutes away. We were able to do most of our Christmas shopping right there in town. Also it is only a short walk to the water which was a good place to take some family photos. My favorite antique shop was right next to the train station but it took me a few days to discover it because it is tucked away behind other stores. Another favorite destination was The Dickens Cottage for scones and clotted cream and jam. The kitchen at The Wendy House, although small, was charming and after being there for two weeks, I actually miss it now. Basic supplies were provided by the owner and much appreciated. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. There was no road noise at night and in the morning only the sounds of a few hungry seagulls. We felt safe and had no problem going off on our own and meeting up with other members of the family in town. The owner, Tim, was accommodating and easy to communicate with. I would recommend The Wendy House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill C
Burford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The house was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We had two problems during our stay on both occasions Tim arrived within an hour one he was able to fix the other necessitated calling someone in to sort it out. Our car, a Skoda Citygo fitted into the garage comfortably.
Plenty of shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk an ideal location. We will return at some stage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing