We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with very helpful staff and management”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very helpful staff and management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friend and I stayed this weekend at the Shore View |Hotel as I was visiting my relatives.
The hotel has been newly refurbished and was very pleasant. The management and staff went out of their way to make our visit lovely. Thank you to all at the Hotel and will be visiting again and recommending to our friends and family. This is a very reasonable hotel on the sea front.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    345
    197
    53
    39
See reviews for
179
468
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our second visit to this Hotel, it was formerly a Travelodge. It stands in a wonderful position right on the seafront, near all the amenities. I

It has certainly been spruced up with new carpets and furnishings. We found it very clean and comfortable with all basic needs.

The staff were helpful and very pleasant. We had a side view of the Pier and our room was quite and very pleasant.

The breakfast arrangements were not too exciting, but there are plenty of alternatives very close by.

We enjoyed our stay and found it very good value.

Room Tip: Our corner room was at the end of a corridor and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

booked quite late, some works going on so we could not get our sea view room first night, but the staff we all soooo good about sorting this out (thanks Danny & Helen), really on the ball service, and 2nd night we had a HUGE room with our sea view!

Rooms are modern, bright, very good value for money (so not luxury) but very nice, decent bathroom, good tv, big bed, iron, hairdryer, etc and you are RIGHT on the seafront.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilolohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked three nights B & B at the hotel not knowing that it was an ex Travelodge. Nothing against Travelodge but not a brand of our choice.
The location is good and our sea view room was excellent, recently refurbished even to the smell of fresh paint and new carpets.Cleaned daily and fresh towels.
The check in was smooth and generally the staff were very obliging, especially at breakfast.
Breakfast was only okay, you can't have English breakfast without fried eggs and powdered scrambled eggs are a poor substitute.
We enjoyed our stay but three nights was too long here...................fine for an overnight stay but for longer the hotel must provide something more than a bedroom.
If a lounge facility, seating area, proper bar or even entertainment was introduced we would consider staying here again and uplift our current rating. PLEASE KEEP MAKING PROGRESS.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank under2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stay in eastbourne all the time we try all different hotels and as my misses is a housekeeper woe betide any hotel (and me) that doesnt come up to scratch.well this hotel wad one of the best.spotless room ,big tv,lovely bed,great view.shame you couldnt open the balcony door but i suspect it is due to eastbournes kamikazi seagulls!! Ive seen em in my room at other hotels seriously!!!
Be prepared though yhe hotel is being refurbished and they do tell you that when you book ,but its just by the beach and absolutly everything you need.Thank you so much to Helen and her team who got my room ready asap while i went into the sea with my body board and made an absolute fool of my self.we will be back A++++

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is undergoing a transformation from a Travelodge and the plans look good. In the meantime guests should be prepared to be a little understanding bearing in mind the price paid. The prices are comparable with Travelodge prices but once finished the hotel should be a better quality. Our room had not yet been refurbished and was a little tatty.

The location, just a minute or so from Eastbourne pier, is excellent. However, this does mean that parking during the day time isn't easy - its much easier after 6.00pm.

The staff were all very helpful.

We didn't eat at the hotel as prices were a little high and being so close to the seafront and the town centre, there was plenty of choice elsewhere.

All in all, not bad, but hopefully it will be very nice when the refurb is finished.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007rjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The front of the hotel looks great! We use the bar before 5 tht was a mistake cause the check in staff have to serve you drinks! You have to walk round and asked to be served! The bar area could be much more like a bar we stayed in 109 was nice and big not one of the reservated rooms the walls was dirty shower was very small but the bathroom was big not much wardrobe space but we only stayed one night! Didn't really like the door as it looked like someone had lost the keys or someone had tried to break into the room  

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthybby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShoreViewHotel, General Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi Ruth

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us whilst you visited Eastbourne. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with the bedroom. I am however delighted that since you wrote your review this bedroom has now been completely refurbished. With the complete redecoration, recarpeting, brand new bed, brand new mirrors, light fittings curtains, hair dryer, iron and ironing board I am confident that if you were to re-visit us you wouldn't recognise the place!

I am sorry if you were inconvenienced by the service in our bar. Our bar and kitchen staff do not start work until 5pm due to low demand during the day time. For this reason, the reception staff are trained to serve drinks in their absence. This operational decision does not usually cause any hassle to our guests.

I do hope you choose to stay with us again soon as I would love you to see the transformation of the whole hotel which is soon to be complete :-)

Kind regards, Andy Bruce - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing