We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and thought the hotel was about ok really. We had a family room and were pleased to find the sofa bed had already been set up for us (this is often not the case and setting them up isn't always straight forward!). The beds were comfy and the room was clean although for a family of four we didn't have an adequate amount of towels or toilet roll, on speaking to reception this was corrected. Checking in was a bit confusing,we weren't directed very well to our room and the signage in the hotel wasn't very clear so had to go back downstairs to find where it was. Also during our stay one room key stopped working, this was replaced easliy enough but then happened again. We booked our room quite a while ago and since then they've changed the check out time; it would have been nice if this had been pointed out to us when checking in rather than us realising at 11.10 on the day of check out that we should already have vacated the room! Nothing so overwhelmingly bad about the hotel that I wouldn't stay again but then nothing so great that I'd reccommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discodolly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    353
    197
    54
    39
See reviews for
180
475
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Ideal location close to pier and walking distance to centre of town. No parking for cars though and parking is tight around the hotel. Clean basic and very comfortable. Would definitely go back. Good vfm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekMHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have stayed here when it was travel lodge but since having been refurbished and called shoreview it was a real pleasure to stay here very clean friendly staff and nothing too much trouble for them to help you if needed and on arriving was welcomed by a lovely lady Helen on reception who was very helpful also close to all the amenities along the front we are going back again in 2 weeks for another stay thank you everyone at shoreview for a pleasant stay and look forward to seeing you all again. WELL WORTH A VISIT IF IN EASTBOURNE

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here before when it was the Travelodge, but it is much improved since then. Rooms are clean and spacious, bathrooms are new and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location is excellent - right on the sea front. The price was also very good, and I believe you can get even better prices by booking early or for several nights in a row. They also have family rooms which make family holidays more affordable. We paid full price (£65 for two for a night) which was reasonable considering we checked in at very short notice - in desperation having been terrified out of the accommodation we had booked, by that B and B's owner and his wife - they were the hosts from hell, and the Shore View's welcome was strongly contrasting and much appreciated. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a nice view, of course, but are a bit noisier with traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil-b745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friend and I stayed this weekend at the Shore View |Hotel as I was visiting my relatives.
The hotel has been newly refurbished and was very pleasant. The management and staff went out of their way to make our visit lovely. Thank you to all at the Hotel and will be visiting again and recommending to our friends and family. This is a very reasonable hotel on the sea front.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our second visit to this Hotel, it was formerly a Travelodge. It stands in a wonderful position right on the seafront, near all the amenities. I

It has certainly been spruced up with new carpets and furnishings. We found it very clean and comfortable with all basic needs.

The staff were helpful and very pleasant. We had a side view of the Pier and our room was quite and very pleasant.

The breakfast arrangements were not too exciting, but there are plenty of alternatives very close by.

We enjoyed our stay and found it very good value.

Room Tip: Our corner room was at the end of a corridor and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

booked quite late, some works going on so we could not get our sea view room first night, but the staff we all soooo good about sorting this out (thanks Danny & Helen), really on the ball service, and 2nd night we had a HUGE room with our sea view!

Rooms are modern, bright, very good value for money (so not luxury) but very nice, decent bathroom, good tv, big bed, iron, hairdryer, etc and you are RIGHT on the seafront.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilolohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing