We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights stay”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Quite nice big hotel located in front of the sea and near the Pier. Had a very nice room on the top floor with sea view. Room was clean but bathroom was missing shampoo or showergel, or even tissues. The hotel was quite a labyrinth but finallyfound my way. Breakfast was varied but quite messy. Had diner there the first night and it was OK.The hotel was fully booked due to the Airbourne exhibition and the staff looked nervous and could not really always manage. They even shout on each other at breakfast in front of the customers... Even if double room for a single person with breakfast included I fond the price a bit too high. As they were fully booked the 3rd day of my stay, I changed and booked another hotel which was smaller but much more friendly, clean and had shampoo, showergel , tissues and even body milk. As I arrived in the second hotel, I notices that I had forgotten my sleeping tshirt at the Shore View Hotel. As it was close to my second hotel, I sent there and asked if they round it. I had the impression that my request ennoyed the guy and he quickly asked for it to tell me that they found nothing. Well must say they need to be more professional , maybe the staff is too young and need more experience.

Room Tip: The hotel is a real labyrinth, difficult to know which on has a sea view. Better ask for it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellocathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
There are newer reviews for Shore View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although originally we booked this as a Travelodge, it was taken over by Shore View, we were very happy we kept the booking. Although we didn't eat there the hotel was very clean and modern. The staff were very helpful. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Not the room but parking. Ask reception for parking tickets.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLSPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Used a booking site to book one night bed and breakfast in a sea view room. The room we were given didn't have a sea view and we were told breakfast would cost us extra. We were moved to a sea view room (credit to the receptionist for fixing that mistake straight away) but unfortunately we had to explain we had booked bed and breakfast a second time in the restaurant in the morning. Then to top off the admin errors we were asked to pay when we checked out, although we pre-paid when booking!

The hotel is in a good location and our room was very clean and well presented. However we didn't get a good nights sleep. The noise from the road outside is understandably outside the hotel's control but the constant slamming of internal corridor doors throughout the night was very disturbing. This was particularly bad because the door in the corridor outside our room marked 'fire door - keep shut' didn't close properly so we could hear everyone using the main staircase.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife on August 13th in readiness for the Airshow. The booking was made in March when the establishment was a Travelodge. We had absolutely no notice of this change but expected the booking conditions to remain the same under the new regime. This was not the case as we were disturbed by cleaners on check out day at 10.45 a.m. and told check out was 11 a.m. (Travelodge checkout is noon) When we arrived for check in the clerks were not in control of matters at all with a customer in front of us having room problems through a broken radiator. Without going into full detail the new regime are not a patch on Travelodge. Our room had absolutely no brochures on hotel procedures and no information at all on check out times. There was also no information at all on facilities available or food/drink options. Not a way to promote facilities that are available. The decor of the hotel was fine but there is no parking on site which is a must have in Eastbourne. Our room was at the rear of the building where there is a huge air conditioning unit which was very very noisy. Overall a very disappointing stay at a hotel which has much work to do in the public relations department.

Room Tip: Room at front is a must for sea views. At back you risk air con noise and a very noisy pub.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itfc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on Groupon deal and was well worth the the cost. Sea view room was very clean, kingsize bed extremely comfortable. Only complaint was that couldn't see out of window as the double glazing had failed. Self service breakfast was good, with choice of hot, cooked food, toast and cereals, and limiltless tea, coffee and juice. All staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is an issue, but the staff issued us with parking permits for £1instead of having to pay at the meter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celestra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Just had a refurb and I have to say I cannot fault this hotel. Right on the seafront next to the pier, tesco express round the corner, lovely little bar next door and of course right on the beach.Rooms were of a high standard and very clean and modern. Came for the air show and parking was free for the four days...on a normal day though I can only see this as a negative but would include all the hotels without their own car park..parking would be a problem

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked this in april when it was a travelodge on recommendation from my mum purely for the seafront location
Been really impressed with recent refurbishment really high standards in rooms we paid travelodge prices got a bargain now a really nice hotel i wudnt be surprised if prices increase because standards far superior to travelodge def come again .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £37 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing