We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Reception”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Reception”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thank you to the Management and Staff at the Shore View for making my weekend extra special. I had come to visit my brother who lives in Eastbourne and been diagnosed with autzeimers so was not pleasant for me. My friends had travelled with me for support and when arriving at your hotel were given a lovely room with view of the sea. It was really spacious and clean and as we had booked for bed and breakfast found the breakfast to be lovely. The reception staff were warm and friendly and helpful. We all were really impressed and thank you for making our stay lovely. I came down last year and stayed with you and will recommend your hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Sea View is lovely to look out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Rosemary h,
Thank you very much for taking some time out of your day to write us a review.

I'm so glad to hear that you had an extra special stay with us and that our staff were so warm, friendly and helpful to you. I have made sure to pass on these comments to our team.

We look forward to your return in the future and wish you and your brother the very best

Kinds Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    374
    209
    58
    43
See reviews for
192
498
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival was greeted by friendly reception staff, was directed to our room , which was a sea view on third floor , the room is dusty and there were know towels, on going down to reception was given towel asked for a bath mat and was told they don't do bath mats , the bathroom had no heating , toilet brush or bin , there should be a heated towel rail in the bathroom .
There is tea and coffee tray which was well stocked but dirty , although did ask for more tea bags and was told they had none.
Sea view room without a view as window was blown and seagull"s tapping on window for food all day.
Wardrobe space was limited as had to removed ironing board to get clothes in then only a few garments. When room was not cleaned was told they were short staffed and they had to do other rooms first lots of excuses.
Reception staff lovely , but need more local knowledge , as was directed to a restaurant that had been closed for 18 months .
Bar area was ment to be open 24 hours but on visitng on 2 separate occasion was not staffed or closed this was in the day , and early evening , public toilets were not clean when visiting these at lunch time , was told public area are nothing to do with housekeeping staff, if this was my hotel all staff would work together as a team . All in all could be a lovely hotel but needs to be kept on top of when it comes to the finer bit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Ann P,
I am very sorry to hear you had a few problems with your stay but thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We take all reviews both positive and negative very seriously and can confirm i have since highlighted your comments with the relevant staff and believe we have also approached you directly about your review.

We hope your next stay with us will be much better and you will see the much improvement we have made

Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Bapchild, Kent UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a double sea view room. It was very clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was good and I became the 'guinea pig' for their first omelette. Which was also good.
We want to book a table for the Thursday evening but we're told that the restaurant was not usually open weekday evenings off season. However Joanna asked if we knew what we would order and she cooked for us specially !!! Wells one excellent service - look forward to visiting again :-))

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMP-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear SMP-Kent,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive comment on our TripAdvisor Page.

It's always a pleasure receiving such nice comments and hearing about guests positive stays. You are correct during our winter period our Restaurant was closed during the week however this was the perfect time for us to look at redesigning out menu.

I have made sure to pass on your comments to Joanna and would like to thank you once again for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night so I can attend a birthday in Brighton. The hotel is easy to find and not to far from public transport such as the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we got a room that had a very noisy extractor fan...(Sounded like a ship coming into port) but the staff were very nice and found us another room. The room and the bathroom were very clean. Check in was a bit late at 3pm. The breakfast was good. I was very impressed that let us keep our bags at the hotel after checking out because we wanted to go for a walk before leaving easbourne. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms seem to be a hotter then the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear JoBellamy,
Thank you for taking some time to write a review after your stay with us it's much appreciated.

We are very well located to public transport with Eastbourne Train Station only 10 minutes walk away and Buses running to and from Brighton leaving from just outside the hotel.

I'm glad to hear that our team here were able to find you another room to your liking and we have since looked into the 'Ship coming into port' sound.

Thank you once again for reviewing your stay with us, we hope the birthday in Brighton was a success and look forward to your future return

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My partner and I booked this place to do some walking in the South Downs over a long weekend. The staff were friendly, place was easy to find, room was clean, can't really complain for what we paid.

Check in was at three o'clock though which seems a bit late.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Joadify,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your walking along the South Downs was a success. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments about our team.

In future if you would prefer an earlier check in please contact reception who for a small charge can add on our early check in package enabling you to check in from 12 noon

Thank you once again
Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

we have returned to this hotel on a couple of occasions ,and from now will probably try to book regularly have tried other hotels in Eastbourne but this one fits the bill,we visit relatives on an approx. monthly basis,each time we have stayed the staff have been friendly,helpfull and professional.the room is clean ,well equipped,comfortable.the location is good ,parking reasonably easy and reasonable price.the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere,but feels secure and quiet

Room Tip: sea view rooms are worth the extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Chris I,

We are very pleased that all of your visits to The Shore View Hotel have been to high standards. It is always nice to hear that we are continuously delivering good quality service.

We are very much looking forward to your visit again and hope it continues to meet your expectations.

Many thanks
NS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We got a 2 night deal on Amazon to stay at this hotel. We checked in on Saturday 9th March, and will check out tomorrow, and it's been a great weekend away from London. The staff have been very welcoming, the sea view room is clean and has all we need e.g hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The breakfast is great, the reception is open 24 hours, as is the bar! This is a great hotel to stay in, and would definitely stay here again, well worth a visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank taylordayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear TaylorDane

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Shore View Hotel. It is always uplifting to hear such pleasant feedback! I can imagine you had a relaxing stay if you are used to the busy life of London.

We hope to see you soon.

Many thanks
NS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing