We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, highly professional receptionists (Joanna and Marta)”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in the Shore View Hotel for the second time. The first time was amazing, but this time it was even better. The room was superb, clean, modern with the most stunning view. Breakfast was fresh, tasty with a good variety of food.
However the best part of our enjoyable stay was to see lovely receptionist Joanna, who we met during our previous stay. On the day of our arrival we also met Marta, who was very welcoming, friendly and as Joanna, highly professional. Big thanks to both of you for making our stay, yet again, so relaxing.
And for that reason we will definitely come back and stay in Shore view Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeataIgras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Beatalgras,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Shore View Hotel and welcome back!

Its always a pleasure to hear that guests have not only returned back but found the second stay even better than the first. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and we are always trying to improve where we can.

I have made sure to pass on your comments to Marta and Joanna who were both very happy to hear about your stay.

We look forward to your 3rd and hopefully many more stays with us!
Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I has to plan a quick one night stay at Eastbourne for a business trip and found only this hotel with rooms available. Although I was sceptical about the place, but for a budget hotel I was pleasantly surprised with the location and view. The rooms were quite large enough but a bit dull and all white. Breakfast was good, staff couldn't have been friendlier. Even though the hotel is quite close to the beach and on the high street, the rooms were well sound proof. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a decent place in front of the sea, unless you have Leukophobia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Y R,

Thank you for your review.

I'm very glad to hear you would recommend our hotel and you found yourself pleasantly surprised with the location and view. I have since spoken to our staff and passed on your comments and i'm glad to hear you felt our rooms very well sound proofed

We look forward to your future stay with us and hope to see you soon

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very pleased to see this hotel in new hands as travelodge were pretty awful when in charge, reception staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean in good condition , seems to be difficult getting a room with a decent sea view,odd considering hotels location, lots of rooms with awful views or none. Provision should be made when booking online for booking a sea view or at least street view as this does matter unless its a quick overnight stay, and is only fair to the customers, rooms with poor view should be lower in price. Food very slightly less good than in previous visits, and restaurant could do without staff hanging around like prison warders.

Room Tip: rooms facing sea are decidedly better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear LondonGit,
Thank for you writing us a review about your recent stay.

Having read through your review i have since been and spoken to our Food and Beverage Supervisor and discussed your comments about the Restaurant staff and the food. I can assure you this matter is being dealt with and i hope on your next visit you will see great improvement.

Due to the shape of our building we do have rooms with different types of views. When booking you are more than welcome to request a certain room or a front sea facing room for allocation. My reception team should be able to help with that.

We look forward to your future stay and wish you the very best.

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, at check in, check out and in between. The room was modern, although the hotel is housed in an old building, and was extremely clean. The tea and coffee was well stocked and had plenty of choice. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, will use again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Todol,
Thank you for your very kind review about the Shore View Hotel.

We take all our reviews seriously and its a pleasure to find guests enjoy what we have to offer.

We look forward to your future stay with us and hope your next time will be just as enjoyable

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked the Shore View Hotel for it's location on the seafront - right in front of the pier and it's bargain price. I was not disappointed. Welcomed to friendly staff and modern spacious room. The view was half decent I could see the pier ... a little bit :)

Lovely visit to Eastbourne will be staying there again - hopefully next time I can nab a sea view room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Anna_Knight,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here at SHore View Hotel.

We take great pride in our location and the standard of our rooms so I am very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to your future stay with us and thank you again

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We are regular visitors to this hotel, but each time we visit there is always a problem / issue. Valentines weekend the room I had reserved had not been reserved which meant the wine I had ordered for the room was not in the room. Upon arrival to the allocated room, I noticed the window was open and had a towel up against it - strong winds and rain were forecast for that weekend so knew straight away I wanted another room, the window winder was also missing so we would not have able to close the window hence the towel soaking up the rain water. We were moved and compensated for all the trouble on that occasion.We stayed here again 21st to 23rd March we were allocated the correct room this time, we have stayed in this room before, and things that I have mentioned upon check out that needed fixing have not been done, so again I mentioned this time that the bathroom mirror light does not work and the window, although it had a winder did not open at all - this time we needed some fresh air and could not get any, and it was a lovely sunny weekend so an open window first thing in morning and whilst getting ready to go out at night would have be nice! It's these details that are not being checked by management that are letting it down which is a shame. Basically if you can get a cheap deal here then it is worth staying here but not for the full price. I will definitely think twice before booking here in future and probably only on a flash sale. A room service menu and real housekeeping would much improve this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Sindy S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Shore View Hotel for the 3rd time.

Having read through your previous reviews I'm glad to see you have enjoyed your stay before so keep returning to us. Im very sorry to hear this time was not the best however that you would still recommend us. We have since reviewed our housekeepers and have a new menu going into place in the coming week.

I have also passed on your comments to our Maintenance Engineer about your rooms and he has since looked into the rooms.

We hope your future stay with us will be improved

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was pleased with the friendly welcome. My wife is disabled and uses a wheelchair, there is excellent wheelchair access at the front of the hotel, We have stopped in other hotels in Eastborne claiming to be wheelchair frendly to discover that the wheelchair access is at the back of the hotel and it is a very long push to get all the way round to the front, not at the Shore View the access is excellent. The staff arranged our room which was clean and well appointed for a budget hotel, opposite the lift very convenient for us. The hotel has a bar and is always happy to server you, I am happy to recommend the Shore View Hotel, A Budget Hotel with clean comfortable rooms, good disabled access and friendly helpful staff. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Rob E,
Thank you for your very kind review.

We are very proud of how wheelchair accessible out hotel is as we always wish to cater to all out guests needs to the best we can. I can certainly confirm all out access is through the front of the building and that our bar is in fact 24 hour to all guests.

Thank you once again we do look forward to your return in the future

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,739 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing