We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
“Sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here one night and our room had sea view and in the morning we could hear the waves. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel was easy walk from the station and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very good value for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Smeets P,
Thank you for the short and to the point review.

It is a pleasure to know that our sew view rooms met your requirements and that our staff were very friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    340
    193
    51
    37
See reviews for
174
457
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom, plenty of towels and pillows. No noise from neighbours or traffic - absolutely nothing to moan about.
Staff were superb, receptionist very welcoming and helpful. The parking voucher is a great help and we parked right outside.

The price was very reasonable, we opted for breakfast too. Though it wasn't luxurious there was more than enough options to please us. Having a bar on site was a bonus after a night in the theatre.

All in all it was a great visit, great value and comfortable

Room Tip: I've read reviews where people have complained about the noise from the front, we were in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JolySeven,

Firstly thank you for sharing your experence about your stay. Everyone here at Shore View takes great pride in a guests experience and are very pleased to hear that our bedrooms and bathrooms met your needs.

We always make a point to share comments with our staff so i will ensure i pass on the comments about our superb, wecoming and helpfull staff.

Joyseven we hope you return again in the future and again have an enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

OK but would not stay again.
Bedroom clean and comfortable.Bathroom could do with some fresh mastic to tiles and bath surround.Air intake too noisy.Bath plug needs to be fixed back to chain.No bathroom bubble bath
and other accessories.The fixed soap dispenser to the wall is difficult to to handle and release
into a bath etc.
Breakfast was 5 out of 10. Hot food not too warm.No rolls and horrible croissants.
Bar was not a bar,part of restaurant with no atmosphere and only one pump beer available Becks.
We were not told about parking scratch card.I spent a lot of my time feeding the meter on the road outside.£109 for the night without breakfast not a worth it.

Room Tip: A lot of creaky floorboards here. Make sure you get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear gerard h,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on trip adviser. We take all of our reviews both good and bad seriously and i can assure you that your comments will be passed on.

We are in the process of re-designing all of our bathrooms however with 90 bedrooms this can take a little time so we hope any future stays with us you can see some change.

I have made sure to pass on your comments about breakfast to our F&B manager and am glad to hear you our bedroom standard met your needs.

I would like to thank you for your comments again.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say, it used to be a travelodge and has been taken over by another company.

Location wise, you can't fault it, a pebble from the beach's throw away from the pier and a brisk 10 min walk into town. As long as you get a good deal on the rate, you can't go far wrong. I certainly wouldn't pay the 3 figure advertised rate.

However, what I didn't like was the receptionist's well rehearsed list of questions. While I'm sure she was trying to be friendly, the only person I'd expect to ask me why I was staying, who I was here to see and what I was doing, should be the holder of a warrant card. Preferably while I have a lawyer present. Bad enough that she did this on check in but then again on departure too. Not cool.

Then she was insistent that I put a card in for preauthorisation. I HATE this and always decline. She made it sound like if I didn't, that I didn't have a bed for the night. I got the last laugh, a pre paid debit card with £6 on it. Go knock yourself out.

The room was adequate, loved the TV, bed ok. But the small shower meant the shower curtain gets so intimate, that I'd have to show you on a doll where it went and don't ask my girlfriend where the hand rail went in relation to her anatomy, she'll never say and I'll never recreate.

All in all adequate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on the bank holiday weekend. We had stayed here previously when it was a travelodge, and there have been some minor improvements to the decor since then. However, we were disappointed that they chose not to improve the restaurant area as it could do with being bigger in size. This was particularly problematic at breakfast time when we had to queue both days for a table to be available, despite going down at 8.30am.
I don't know if it was a particularly busy time with it being bank holiday, but they also ran out of some food (i.e. eggs and bacon) which was disappointing.
The rooms are comfortable, nice and clean but noise is a problem - I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor as we were woken both mornings by people in the rooms above us walking around.
Despite this, the staff are very friendly and it is in a great location - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear cat1586,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are always very pleased to hear guests enjoyed their stay and would stay again in the future. I have spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager who has confirmed due to the bank holiday it was a very busy few days for us. We have since done some training with our teams to ensure issues like a shortage of food does not happen again and hope you find on your next stay it is much improved .

if in the future you do find the noise in your room an issue please do contact our reception team who will be happy to help to the best of their ability.

Thank you once again for writing a review and we look forward to your future reservation

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sittingbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very difficult to right a review on this Hotel as the Staff are so friendly and helpful, but let's give it a go...... Location is right on the beach front and within walking distance of the town, pier, restaurants and pubs. Parking is directly outside hotel or anywhere in zone "H" and cost £1 up to 11am the next day, just buy you ticket from the Hotel.

Quick check in but when I asked how much was breakfast I was told this is included, but when you go down to breakfast it was not included, but we all make mistakes. The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly, got some good recommendations for restaurants.

The hotel is reasonably priced, the rooms clean and have TV, tea/coffee facilities and a shower and bath, bath is a bit small.

The main problem is the noise, you can hear everything outside and the room we was in only had single glazing, could do with double or secondary glazing, but the noise doesn't stop at outside....... you can constantly hear the people above you walking about, not sure if this happens in every room but we was in 318 and went on until midnight and started again at 6am, there must be something the hotel can do to the floor to stop this noise.

Other complaints from guest include noise from people opening doors in corridors as there are a lot of fire doors (there for your safety), Sea view rooms noise with waves hitting beach (that's why you have a sea view), traffic noise from outside and netting over balcony obstructing sea view (this stops the seagulls from landing).

My advise would be to ask for a room on the 4th floor to eliminate the noise. Would I stay again, well, the jury is out on that question at the moment.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 4th floor to eliminate the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markgparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Markgparker,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us.

We will always do our very best to give our guests the best nights sleep possible so in the future we would welcome you to pop down and have a quick chat to our team if you find the guests around your room are being too loud and the same with the road noise.

I have made sure to pass on your comments about how friendly and helpful our Frond Desk team are who take great pride in providing quality customer service to our guests.

We look forward to your return in the future
Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked 2 nights away with my daughter. Hotel used to be a Travelodge. 10 min walk from station, near Pier bus stop. Got a room on 3rd floor at back of hotel. No view but once air con unit from restaurant next door stopped it was fine. Check in was quick, room wasn't ready as got there early but our bags were stored and later put in our room. Room clean, beds comfy and bath/shower hot. Nice size tv with well stocked tea & coffee facilities. Breakfast was included which was ok. Serve til 11am which meant a lie in. Breakfast was a little disorganized but the restaurant area is small - will get there earlier next time. All self service buffet so have to get own toast,tea etc. Quality was nice and could eat as much as you want. Enjoyed the stay so will be back in July.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claretwankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Claretwankey,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are all very pleased to hear about your enjoyable weekend away with us.

I have made sure to pass on your comments about breakfast and hope when you come to stay in the future you will see an improvement. We are very proud of our building and the location so thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and locations too.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing