We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very handy location, some ups and downs”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very handy location, some ups and downs”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located right on the seafront, few meters away from Eastbourne Pier. In a few minutes you can drive to the Seven Sisters and to many other local amenities. First negative point is the parking: the hotel does not have its own car park, you need to park where you can find a space on/around the seafront. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am, you can buy parking permit from the hotel reception for the rest of the day (1 GBP/day). We were there for bank holiday and we managed to find a space within 300 metres, just need some patience. The staff at the check in the day we arrived was very rude and useless, the staff at the reception the following days was very polite and helpful. Part of the hotel (like room 324) face a local pub that has very loud music (at least of Friday and Saturday night). The pub is well sound proofed, however every time somebody enter or exit you will here very loud music (even on the third floor). On the plus side, the music finish around 11.30 pm-midnight (so be prepared to go to sleep only after that). Rooms are clean, rather big and nice, same for bathrooms. The first two nights we could not sleep due to some very rude guys into next room: problem is that walls are quite thin, there are a lot of fire doors in the corridors (that slam) and the floors are very creaky; so if there are somebody rude and inconsiderate it will be a big problem. Luckly once we raised the problem with the reception, we were moved to another room, far away from the guys, much more quiet.
All in all the staff was helpful and polite (except at check in), rooms are ok and location is handy, good value for money. However parking can be an issue, the area is not very quiet and the walls are thin and can be noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Fabio G,

Thank for you taking the time to write a very detailed review regarding your stay with us in May.

You are very correct that we are right on the sea front we are very lucky to be so close to the sea however yes this does mean we do not have a car park. Our parking vouchers do indeed enable guests to park for the entire day and up till 11am the following day for just £1 so we are glad to hear you made use of this facility.

Fabio G, i am very disappointed to hear that the staff on your arrival did not meet your expectations however am glad to hear that the following days they were very polite and helpful.

We take the greatest pride in trying to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and i am glad to hear that our rooms you found to be to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    353
    197
    54
    39
See reviews for
180
475
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Negotiated rate on the bank holiday with George on arrival looked after by Zuzana room 302 seaview was adequate but small window bathroom ok basic tip would b bigger towels room was nice very cosy clean layex listening to sea.. Breakfast excellent very attentive Oliver in particular was very thorough a vey relaxed friendly place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Mark L,

Thank you for the quick and to the point review. Booking directly does always give you that extra flexibility so i am gad that you received a good Negotiated rate.

I will make sure to pass on your comment to Oliver and thank you again for reviewing the Shore View Hotel

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here one night and our room had sea view and in the morning we could hear the waves. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel was easy walk from the station and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very good value for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Smeets P,
Thank you for the short and to the point review.

It is a pleasure to know that our sew view rooms met your requirements and that our staff were very friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom, plenty of towels and pillows. No noise from neighbours or traffic - absolutely nothing to moan about.
Staff were superb, receptionist very welcoming and helpful. The parking voucher is a great help and we parked right outside.

The price was very reasonable, we opted for breakfast too. Though it wasn't luxurious there was more than enough options to please us. Having a bar on site was a bonus after a night in the theatre.

All in all it was a great visit, great value and comfortable

Room Tip: I've read reviews where people have complained about the noise from the front, we were in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollySeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JolySeven,

Firstly thank you for sharing your experence about your stay. Everyone here at Shore View takes great pride in a guests experience and are very pleased to hear that our bedrooms and bathrooms met your needs.

We always make a point to share comments with our staff so i will ensure i pass on the comments about our superb, wecoming and helpfull staff.

Joyseven we hope you return again in the future and again have an enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

OK but would not stay again.
Bedroom clean and comfortable.Bathroom could do with some fresh mastic to tiles and bath surround.Air intake too noisy.Bath plug needs to be fixed back to chain.No bathroom bubble bath
and other accessories.The fixed soap dispenser to the wall is difficult to to handle and release
into a bath etc.
Breakfast was 5 out of 10. Hot food not too warm.No rolls and horrible croissants.
Bar was not a bar,part of restaurant with no atmosphere and only one pump beer available Becks.
We were not told about parking scratch card.I spent a lot of my time feeding the meter on the road outside.£109 for the night without breakfast not a worth it.

Room Tip: A lot of creaky floorboards here. Make sure you get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear gerard h,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on trip adviser. We take all of our reviews both good and bad seriously and i can assure you that your comments will be passed on.

We are in the process of re-designing all of our bathrooms however with 90 bedrooms this can take a little time so we hope any future stays with us you can see some change.

I have made sure to pass on your comments about breakfast to our F&B manager and am glad to hear you our bedroom standard met your needs.

I would like to thank you for your comments again.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say, it used to be a travelodge and has been taken over by another company.

Location wise, you can't fault it, a pebble from the beach's throw away from the pier and a brisk 10 min walk into town. As long as you get a good deal on the rate, you can't go far wrong. I certainly wouldn't pay the 3 figure advertised rate.

However, what I didn't like was the receptionist's well rehearsed list of questions. While I'm sure she was trying to be friendly, the only person I'd expect to ask me why I was staying, who I was here to see and what I was doing, should be the holder of a warrant card. Preferably while I have a lawyer present. Bad enough that she did this on check in but then again on departure too. Not cool.

Then she was insistent that I put a card in for preauthorisation. I HATE this and always decline. She made it sound like if I didn't, that I didn't have a bed for the night. I got the last laugh, a pre paid debit card with £6 on it. Go knock yourself out.

The room was adequate, loved the TV, bed ok. But the small shower meant the shower curtain gets so intimate, that I'd have to show you on a doll where it went and don't ask my girlfriend where the hand rail went in relation to her anatomy, she'll never say and I'll never recreate.

All in all adequate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on the bank holiday weekend. We had stayed here previously when it was a travelodge, and there have been some minor improvements to the decor since then. However, we were disappointed that they chose not to improve the restaurant area as it could do with being bigger in size. This was particularly problematic at breakfast time when we had to queue both days for a table to be available, despite going down at 8.30am.
I don't know if it was a particularly busy time with it being bank holiday, but they also ran out of some food (i.e. eggs and bacon) which was disappointing.
The rooms are comfortable, nice and clean but noise is a problem - I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor as we were woken both mornings by people in the rooms above us walking around.
Despite this, the staff are very friendly and it is in a great location - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear cat1586,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are always very pleased to hear guests enjoyed their stay and would stay again in the future. I have spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager who has confirmed due to the bank holiday it was a very busy few days for us. We have since done some training with our teams to ensure issues like a shortage of food does not happen again and hope you find on your next stay it is much improved .

if in the future you do find the noise in your room an issue please do contact our reception team who will be happy to help to the best of their ability.

Thank you once again for writing a review and we look forward to your future reservation

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing