We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful night”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful night”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here. In particular do not stay in a seaview room or one near the pub that is next to the hotel. It was very very noisy for hours and hours and the room was incredibly hot. I'm exhausted today from lack of sleep and so dehydrated. You have been warned.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank SimplyMrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear GinMummy,

Firstly i would like to take the opportunity to apologise for your stay. In future just a quick call down to reception and we could have tried to find you another more suitable rooms or if the room was still hot we could have provided fan.

We always try our best to give our guests the best experience so in future please do highlight these issues to us at the time and we can tr our bests to improve your stay .

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    372
    209
    58
    43
See reviews for
190
495
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Nice modern room and the bed was comfy.. Quite a nice sea view and lovely situated. Breakfast was hit and miss really. It was a buffet style and it was all about timing it right...

Biggest qualm was the stench from the toilet/bathroom It reminded me of the toilets in Bulgaria :-O

All in all it did the job while working away and I've Stayed in worse :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Paul W,
Thank you for your review. We are gad to hear our hotel and rooms met your expectations.

We look forward to your future return
Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel has great potential excellent facilities spoiled by bad process control and crazy health and safety rules.

At breakfast during our stay you could not get all the parts of a cooked breakfast as they would wait of the sausages or egg or tomato to run out before cooking more so a 10 min delay before more arrived.

We were fortunate to have good weather but in our sea view room someone had decided 'for my safety' to lock the patio doors to the balcony outside. We were not allowed to have the key in case we climbed over the built in desk and went outside and jumped over the railings and damaged my self.

However I was expected to climb on the same desk to reach the small window at the top of the patio doors. Even with the window open as far as possible the room temperature went over 30 deg C and it was like trying to sleep in a sauna with the sun fully on the windows from dawn and no air conditioning.

Hotel is in an excellent position for the sea front and pier. The facilities are up to date and good but inexperienced staff let them down.

Room Tip: Do not go for a sea view room or room 101 whose window opens over the out door bar of the hotel next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevematf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I hope you understand that our hands are tied when it comes to the balcony doors and that in the future we would be looking to enable guests to use the balcony doors however at current this is not possible.

I have since spoken to my F&B manager and we have made some changes to the way breakfast is run to stop this issue of gaps between food being available to guests.

We hope that in the future you see the improvements

Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great value, big clean modern rooms, extremely comfy beds, nice breakfast, friendly staff. The hotel is in a perfect location, on the sea front, opposite the pier and a 5 minute walk to the town centre. Really enjoyable stay, couldn't fault it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tango33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear tango33,

We always do our best to ensure all our guests have the best stay so its a pleasure to hear you found the rooms modern, our beds extremely comfy and that our breakfast and customer service skills were to your standards.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risca, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed there on 31 May - 1 June 2014. One of the best budget stays we've ever had! Best possible location, friendly staff, very clean and quiet, comfy bed, spectacular breakfast! We also had a little sea view! We couldn't believe it was so cheap.

Room Tip: Room 101 was secluded, quiet, and had a little sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_oddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear The_oddity,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive and to the point review.

It is such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to your return

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a great stay at the Shore View this weekend. The location is great - it's not right in the town centre, but it is right next to the pier and opposite the beach. The hotel itself is modern inside and has obviously had a refurb recently. The room was clean, bigger than I expected, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very simple, but as I said, it was clean! For its price (I paid £45 for a Saturday night stay) it's great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear haybelline,
Thank you for taking some time out of your day to write us a review.

We are always so pleased to hear when a guest has had an enjoyable stay and found our hotel a pleasure to stay in.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a hotel we will be coming back to again...
We have stayed in this building many times when it was owned by another hotel chain because of its fantastic location but it is so much better under its new owners. The place has been refurbished and is delightful. The rooms are pretty and well layed out, we had a sea view room and there had placed a table and chairs by the window so we could sit and really enjoy the view. The staff are a joy with nothing being too much trouble, such nice people. The place is a basic hotel but a really good one - our room was lovely, spotlessly clean, had the usual tea/coffee etc, but also had shampoo and soaps, plenty of towels, an iron and ironingboard and hairdryer in the room (so no going down to reception everytime I wanted to dry my hair...). Well done Shoreview!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with anything with a sea view - its breathtaking. The hotel is on a road but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Sally H,

Firstly i would like to say an opening line of "This is a hotel we will be coming back to again..." always bring such a smile to our faces.

We are very glad to hear that you have returned since we took over the building and found it a delight. We take the greatest pride in doing everything in our power to give our guests the best stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone else your pleasurable stay and we look forward to your return in the future.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing