We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We came for a two-day break and paid extra for a family room, since that was the only one available. Staff were friendly and pleasant, but the room was disappointing: the only hanging space for clothes (no door, only three hangers) was fully taken up by an ironing board, which we had to prop against a wall. This would have been awkward if we had had children with us. It was not possible to unpack properly, as there was not a single shelf or drawer. Bathroom was OK, except for a bath so tiny that I couldn't lie down in it (I'm 5' 1"!) Also, the extractor fan did not seem to be working.We had to ask repeatedly for a TV remote, and there was no "Do not disturb" sign. Our room on the second floor was rather noisy...though it's not the staff's fault that the people above us were using our ceiling as a trampoline!
The online ad says there's plenty of parking and doesn't mention a charge, which made us think that the hotel has its own car park. In fact, the parking is anywhere along the front, at a charge of £1.00 per day. The cost is nothing, but it's no fun searching for a parking space after a long drive. We were lucky to find a spot near the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Elia M,

We make sure to take all our reviews seriously and i can assure you your comments have been passed to the relevant department heads.

I'm very glad to hear that our staff were friendly and pleasant. Since your stay we have since made sure to provide more hangers in our rooms as well as improvements in our housekeepers room checks to ensure all essentials are present. We are currently looking into the redesign of our bathrooms so hope in the future you will see the improvements we are constantly making.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay
Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    369
    203
    57
    40
See reviews for
185
492
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a break in Eastbourne and what a great place we stayed at. We had the Amazon vouchers and weren't expecting anything like the Shore View Hotel. It had been completely refurbished and looked very modern. Our room on the third floor overlooked the sea , it was hot if the windows weren't open and noisy, but we closed them at night and couldn't hear a thing. A nice flat screen t.v. tea making facilities, good hot shower all in a modern clean room. The breakfast was good and included all what you would expect from "full English". I must mention the really good sausages and bacon, obviously not the cheap ones we sometimes get for breakfast in Hotels.! Todays restaurant manager Spiros worked very hard to accommodate a full hotel for breakfast . The restaurant was a bit small but he managed to get everyone in without to much trouble. The longest I saw anyone having to wait was 2 minutes. The staff overall were very good, the front of house service was very efficient and pleasant. Be warned though check in is 3p.m. but you can pay to get in earlier if you want to. We didn't but they allowed us and others to leave our cases there while we went off until 3.p.m. You can buy a days parking for £1 per day. It is facing the beach and a short walk to the town. There is a Tesco Express behind the Hotel if you need anything. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Homesteads,

It is such a pleasure to read such a positive review about your stay with us in July so i thank you for taking some time out of your day to write it.

I have already passed on your comments to Spiros who was very pleased to hear he had made your stay that little but better with his hard work and that you identified our choice to serve good quality products at breakfast.

We look forward to your future stay with us and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a midweek break in March 2014 and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is right on the sea front and the shops and restaurants are close by, within walking distance. There is no parking on site but for a small charge you can park along the sea front. You buy the voucher at the hotel. The rooms were a good size, clean and well furnished. Breakfast is a buffet style with an adequate choice. There isn't much you can fault the hotel with as it suited our needs well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Dave0906,

Firstly i would like to start by thanking you or such a positive review about your stay in March. Our parking vouchers are only £1 and allow you to park for the entire day and up till 11am the following day.

Im glad to hear that there wasn't anything you could fault and look forward to your return in the future.

Kind Regards
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited Eastbourne for just 24 hours. As we were making a late booking, our options were limited. No bad thing. The hotel was excellent, clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was pleasant and the breakfast offered plenty of choice, and was tasty. Can't fault the place, we were given a parking permit for our stay, which we hadn't expected too! We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac10105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear jac10105,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a comment about your late stay with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations and your stay was pleasurable.

We look forward to your future stay with us
Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great stay in Eastbourne for mid-week break using an Amazon Local Voucher. Sea view, all Freeview channels, great wi-fi, tea and coffee facilities, nice room too.
The hotel was full but the breakfast selection was good and the staff professional and courteous.
Parking costs £1 using the hotel permit which is good value.
Overall, very good value

Room Tip: Take a sea view but take your earplugs if you are conscious of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear mjw44,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay with us in July.

It is always a great pleasure to hear when our guests have an enjoyable stay

We wish you all the best and look forward to your return in the future

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel had managed to book in two coach parties at the same time, without any idea how to deal with them. Booking in procedure was awful, we had to do most of it ourselves, and the meal arrangements were dire. After 12 hours travel, we still had to wait for food, and then even with a very limited menu, there were still delays. Also, the hotel published menu was not available as they did not have any dishes advertised, even chips!! The staff did their best, but there is clearly a management problem, as they tried to.put the blame on the tour operator. The food provided was not of a standard most people would eat. Maybe it will improve, we can only hope.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank RalphNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear RalphNewell,
Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologising for the issues you highlighted. We have since reviewed our group policies as well as the issues regarding the kitchen. We have since hired 2 new chefs. We are always looking to improve in many ways so thank you again for your review.

We hope on your return in the future you see the improved Shore View Hotel

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here. In particular do not stay in a seaview room or one near the pub that is next to the hotel. It was very very noisy for hours and hours and the room was incredibly hot. I'm exhausted today from lack of sleep and so dehydrated. You have been warned.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank SimplyMrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear GinMummy,

Firstly i would like to take the opportunity to apologise for your stay. In future just a quick call down to reception and we could have tried to find you another more suitable rooms or if the room was still hot we could have provided fan.

We always try our best to give our guests the best experience so in future please do highlight these issues to us at the time and we can tr our bests to improve your stay .

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing