We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazon Local Deal Exceeds Expectations”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Back in May we booked a midweek 2 night break in a family room for late July after our children had started their school break. We paid an additional £10 per night for the sea view family room which was on floor 2. The room was bigger than we expected, brighter than we expected and better furnished than we expected. Nothing suggested to us that this room was not worth the rack rate. The deal included breakfast which was good food and great coffee. If the food had been as good as the coffee that would have been perfect. The location of the hotel could not be better as it is a hop, skip and jump form the pier which makes it near enough to be easy to walk to and far enough for it not be madly noisy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Alan S,
Thank you for taking some time to write us a review about your stay.

We are all very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Shore View Hotel. We always try our best to give our guests the best experience so are very pleased to hear we met your requirements.

We are very proud of our location in Eastbourne and we are certainly very close to the station and all local amenities. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in a prime location to beach, shops, eateries and other attractions.. We had a room with a sea view over the top of the entrance, with a balcony and lovely views of the beach. The traffic was noisy as main road but went quiet around 11pm but noise picked up around 7am. Bed comfortable.Large flat screen TV.The room was adequate for our needs as a couple and was spotless. Due to the recent good weather we were pleased with with having a balcony till we discovered it would not open? Reception told us this was due to health and safety. Umm strange!!! Due to the recent and ongoing good weather the room was stifling and no sea breeze.There were no fans available as they were allocated to other rooms whose windows were painted shut and would not open. ( Health and Safety) With no air conditioning and the continuation of the good weather I would of thought that it would be sensible for the hotel to go and BUY SOME MORE FANS so they do not have people complaining. So if you do go, I suggest you take your own fan. Excellent breakfast, friendly restaurant staff. Cannot comment on an evening meal. Reception staff were nice but seemed a bit muddled we were told the hotel had been taken over and were still in the process of making improvements, Brilliant pub 2 mins away on corner of Marine Parade called CROWN AND ANCHOR live music Thur/Fri/Sat great atmosphere, Stony beach bit hard on the behind walk up to pier and rent a deck chair. All the hotels along the sea front were well kept and clean, Lovely little town. This hotel is is just as good as the rest and quirky shaped, Hotel was packed but never had any disturbances from other rooms. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms can be noisy from road traffic noise in summer if windows open? but lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear southamptonfamily4,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at Shore View Hotel. We are so very glad to hear that your stay with us met your requirements and you would stay again.

You are right we did take over however it was over a year ago and we are always looking to make improvements to meet our guests needs. Reviews like yourselves is what we can use to base our improvements and enable us to meet our guests future requirements.

Thank you once again for you review and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a bad journey (thanks to the m25) so we felt massively deflated when we saw all of the parking spaces full. All we wanted was to park up and enjoy our weekend! After driving around for a little bit our luck changed and we managed to steal a spot right opposite the hotel's front doors! We checked in easily and we're very pleased with our room on the 3rd floor. It was plenty big enough and the bathroom was lovely too. It was quite noisy with the windows open but that's not surprising given the hotel's location. We didn't eat in the restaurant at all so cannot comment on that...
We would definitely recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StanleyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear StantlyRose,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear that after a long trip down you arrived to find our hotel pleasant and that the room was big enough and the bathroom too. We would very much look forward to your stay with us in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to review the Shore View Hotel

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our room was lovely, perfect for the two of us. A little on the small side, but was fine. We got a room with a sea view despite not having paid an extra £10 deposit for one! Bed was comfortable. The hotel is situated directly opposite the beach, making it a fabulous location for us and other holiday makers. However, I would not recommend this hotel in the slightest. Our shower was unclean with hair from previous owner. Our room was far too hot at night and window did not open very far, which was our only source of air! We asked reception staff politely for a fan but was told they had 'ran out' and the next night were informed that they did not provide fans, so we would 'have to make do'. It was like a sauna! We chose to dine at the hotel's bar & restaurant. The service and food was shocking and we were not happy. We got told the chef did not turn up and they had someone in there as a replacement with no idea what they were doing. We waited an hour for our food! We could not leave as we had been asked to pay prior. We noticed we had been overcharged and when we pointed the mistake out to one of the female staff members, she apologised and made a comment 'This is why I don't do the restaurant' which didn't leave a good impression. There was a male staff member running around like a lost school boy/ lunatic, informing us that they did not have half the options on the menu. Which was terrible. The couple near us were shaking their heads. The food was just okay. Bland. I ordered a pizza which arrived looking like one of those that came out of a box. Alcoholic beverages pricey. No staff around at bar or restaurant, completely deserted, so we were left waiting for ages. Our door cards kept malfunctioning/ not working. Reception area eerily empty throughout our stay. We only noticed only four other couples there during our stay, out of the 140 something rooms. Radio during the day in reception area far too loud, and at times felt like a disco. There are so many other pretty looking hotels along the coastline. Do yourselves a favour and don't stay here. Terrible service. Basic facilities. It became obvious as to why they are advertising on Groupon and Amazon Local. They have hardly anyone there! and appear to be struggling. I wonder why...

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms a little on the small side. 1st floor rooms need a bit of DIY. 2nd floor rooms, main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Natalie A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, i'm very sorry to hear we did not meet your requirements when you stayed with us.

I can assure you that i have passed these comments onto my Department Heads who will be looking into the issues you raised. Since your stay we have made some big improvements in both housekeeping and our food and beverage departments and with 90 bedrooms we do our very best each day to provide the best standards to our guests so hope in the future you seen the vast improvements we are making.

I would like to thank you for your review and hope in the future you can see the improvements we have made.

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Shore View recently and enjoyed our stay. We booked a sea view room for one night at $109 (US). Great price for the view. Although the room was small, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable so we were able to get a good nights rest for our hike on Beachy Head the next day. My one suggestion is to allow the windows to open more. The temperature drops at night, but the room can still be stuffy after a sunny, hot day. The view from the room was gorgeous as well as the entire Eastbourne area so the hotel was well worth it!

I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms can be noisy with being so close to the road. Also ask if they have full window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Sandy J,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Shore View Hotel. We are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our sea view rooms met your requirements.

We take great pride in trying to give our guests the best possible experience and hope you return again in the future

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just had a 3 night stay with breakfast in a family room. We upgraded for £10 per night for the sea view - well worth it. Room was spacious, good sized beds, good power on the shower and bath. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. Excellent proximity to the town centre. Would stay there again. Negative: The hotel is Victorian and listed so it currently doesn't have air conditioning and there weren't enough fans to go round - we had taken our own. Breakfast eggs weren't the best and neither was the coffee. When we moved the sofa bed the dust on the carpet was unbelievable - not sure it had ben hoovered for quite sometime!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, so much nicer :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummyhanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear mummyhanny,

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to review the stay you had with us in July with your Family.

Firstly i would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. I have made sure to pass these comments on to our head of departments and hope when you return you can see the improvements we have since made.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As my title suggests, we must have got lucky, like others we spent three nights here last weekend on an Amazon local deal for two nights and the third we added on a few days before we visited (£130)
The sea view room (102) was clean & tidy, though not hoovered during our stay. The floor did creak in one place, but was easily avoided once you knew where to tread.
Towels were changed daily, the bathroom was functional, clean & the shower good. Mind you, the carpentry on the door left a lot to be desired, with the strike plate so high that the latch did not engage, therefore the door would open (when you're sat in all your majesty). The bed was super-king sized and very comfortable. If there was noise from the street, I didn't hear it, there again I don't sleep, I die.
We agree with others about the size of the restaurant & bar. Far too small when everyone descends together for breakfast. Again, we got lucky, we managed to obtain our breakfast in comfort and no queues when we arrived, by the time we finished though, there were people waiting, with some being told a possible wait for 30 minutes. The quality of the food was reasonable, nothing that would make me complain about it.
I also agree with the parking fiasco, though again, we managed to park within two minutes of the hotel, be it at the front or behind the hotel.
All the staff were very friendly, polite and efficient to us, though I noticed there were several vacancies for various roles on a window notice.
The location was perfect for our requirements, easy walking to local bars, restaurants and entertainments.
I guess the $m question is would I go again?
Based on our experience, no hesitation, but as my title suggests . . . 'we got lucky' compared to others

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvthecanaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear luvthevanaries,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Shore View Hotel. We take all our reviews seriously and i would like to assure you all the factors listed are being brought up with out Head of Departments such as the door latch which has been looked into by our Maintenance Team.

I'm very glad to hear that both your bedroom and the breakfast food met your requirements and have made sure to also pass your comments about our staff onto the departments too.

We all look forward to your future stay with us

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing