We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I got a fantastic deal for Shore View hotel through Amazon local. A 3 night stay in a beach front hotel in August for 4 people for less than £150! I had low expectations ivo the cheap deal so my expectations have been exceeded on every level. The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. I understand it used to be a premier inn so the decor was as I expected. Other reviews I looked at before arriving had criticised the breakfast which I felt was more than adequate for the price of the accommodation but the dining area was small and we had to queue one morning and they also ran out of eggs another morning. However, all in all, a very satisfactory stay and I hope to come again if there's another deal on! Eastbourne is a great place to visit. Much less crowded than the popular resorts such as Brighton and the beaches and surrounding areas are great with lots to do and explore with the kids. Can't wait to come back but don't tell anyone as I don't want to spoil it here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Cheryl P,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I apologise that one morning we ran out of eggs however we have since looked into our suppliers and hope you seem improvements in the future.

Its such a pleasure to hear you cannot wait to come back and we look forward to your future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    368
    202
    57
    40
See reviews for
185
490
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed for 2 nights b/b nice clean room with comfy bed ,made to feel very welcome by all staff members, excellent choice for breakfast, didn't have evening meal at the hotel but on looking at the menu the prices seemed very reasonable with a fairly good selection on offer. All in all a good place to stay as directly opposite the beach and just a 5min stroll to the pier. Car parking a bit of a nightmare but did know this from earlier trips to Eastbourne, not the hotels fault just a local problem, would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentishlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kentishlady11,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at Shore View Hotel.

Everyone here is very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at the Shore View with my husband for two nights in July 2014. On arrival the room was very clean and well decorated. We stayed in room 13 (unlucky for some lol) which is located on the ground floor facing the rare of the building, which wasn't a problem to us. Only downfall which we discovered in the early hours of the morning was the sound of the very large extractor along with the smell of breakfast. We didn't bother to complain as we felt comfortable in the allocated room and my husband was able to happily sleep through it all lol.
A great stay if you want to be opposite the sea to enjoy the view and sea breeze in the morning and late evening.
Only gripe no vegetarian option for a hot breakfast except eggs so it was toast or a Danish for me. There was also a continental option, best thing was you can help yourself to as much or as little as you choose. 15-20 min walk to the station, delicious ice-cream parlour next door and plenty options nearby to have lunch or dinner. All in all a great stay would definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the huge extractor which is at the back. Stayed in room 13 which faced the extrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sam F,
Thank you for taking some time out of your day to post a review about the us here at Shore VIew Hotel.

I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would definitely stay again with us! I have made sure to pass on your comments about out vegetarian options to our Food and Beverage manager however we would always do out best to cater to our guests needs so feel free to inform us at check i and we can try our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Managed to get a special deal, which made it even better value for money. You have to remember it's not competing with the Dorchester or the Ritz. Personally, I found it clean and fresh and the staff helpful. Breakfast was fine too. So, good value. We paid for the upgrade to a sea view and I think that was money well spent. If you're at the seaside, what could be better than to fall asleep to the waves lapping on the shore and to fling the curtains open in the morning and see the sea. It's a shame that the french windows on the balcony were sealed "for your safety". It did mean, as others have commented, that the only source of fresh air was the small window above the doors. But we stayed during the fantastic summer of 2014 and the room was never too hot. The dinning room is quite small, so a queue would form for breakfast, but the staff worked really hard to turn tables around as fast as possible. The cooked option was limited, but remember, we're not at the Ritz here, so it was fine.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayAwayEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear StayAwayEr,
Thank you for writing us a review. We always take all reviews seriously and take great pride in trying to always reply to each one.

Im very glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction when you recently stayed with us. We always do our best to give our guests the best experience so thank you again for taking the time to write us a review to share your experience with the rest of Trip Advisor

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Found this Hotel in a 2 day midweek deal. It fitted in with a planned South downs trip and it did not disappoint. Right on the Sea front a 5mins stroll from the Pier (sadly now seriously fire damaged)
this 40 room Hotel offers an excellent service to its guests. On my arrival with a rather dirty MTB they had no hesitation in taking it into the secure service room. Our room on the second floor overlooking the side street, for a light sleeper that's about the best option. It was well appointed modern in design and spacious enough for two with TV,Tea,Coffee and free Wi Fi. Nice comfy King size bed not too firm. The bathroom was slightly dated but clean and functional, the shower over bath provided plenty of water to bathe. The Hotel itself was pretty quiet, hardly any noise from guest movement etc.The Buffet Breakfast provided a good choice of English and Continental options to suit all tastes,the only thing is that when the rush is on you may have to wait for a table due to the space available. Cannot fault the staff at all they are excellent at their tasks, helpful and courteous. "Car Parking" be prepared, Eastbourne was not designed with Cars in mind. So be patient buy the permit for reception and find a space along Seafront or side street close by, come evening there are more to choose from. All centre Hotels are the same. Enjoy your stay I recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room No 218. No Seafront noise. Pub opposite but not a problem even with window open . Every t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodandWinelover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear FoodandWinelover3,

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to write us such a positive review about your recent stay. We always take the greatest pride in trying to assist our guests in anyway and it was no trouble for us to store your MTB when you arrived.

We all very much thank you again for your review and look forward to your return in the future.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have stayed at this hotel twice and have booked again for September, The location is right opposite the beach and a stones throw from the pier. bus services are right outside for your day trips and to the very large shopping centre in Eastbourne town if you are unable to walk very far. Our room this time was facing the sea and was spotlessly clean and large with everything u need large t/v, tea/coffee making facilities double pillows and " FREE WIFI" . The breakfast is buffet style and is plentiful lots of choices, fruit drinks /coffee/tea, toast and cereals a plenty and of course your good old English breakfast. Staff are very courteous and helpful . This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe if you are a very light sleeper or go to bed early I would ask for a room at the rear as altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear john h,

Its always a pleasure to hear when one of our guests has stayed before and has booked again! Thank you for writing your review. We always appreciate the comments especially from repeat guests.

Everyone here at Shore View Hotel looks forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff but the parking is on the road in whatever space you can find ours was 200 yards from hotel not so good we soon managed to get one outside hotel (across the road).

Room Tip: I guess if you want a sea view request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear diana s,

Thank you for your review, i'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your future stay

Kind Regards,
GT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Property: Shore View Hotel
Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing