We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money let down by immature reception staff”
Review of Shore View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore View Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was in a perfect location, room was large and clean and beds very comfortable. Plenty of tea/coffee etc and large TV.

Only small gripe was that there was no bodywash in bathing area although when our room was serviced the next day this oversight was corrected but didn't give a very good first impression. Very easy to come and go as you please and we thought the hotel offered excellent value for money overall.

It was let down by the immaturity of the Reception staff. They gave off a somewhat silly immature attitude in their dealings with customer's queries. Fortunately we did not have too many dealings with them. I also noticed several other customers complaining about the Wi Fi (we couldn't get access to this either) and the Reception staff didn't seem at all bothered about sorting it out and had a poor attitude. I got the distinct impression that this was probably a regular occurrence.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ScouseMouseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

stayed here for 4 nights. this used to be a Travelodge a few years back.
very good value and great location right on the seafront.
very friendly and helpful check in. our room was around the back of the hotel which can be a little noisy, luckily the window was decent quality so this was not a problem. the hotel is in pretty good order so no complaints, no comment on the food as we did not try it.
the only negative is the parking, find a spot and leave your car there is my advice!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Peter P,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at Shore View Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in August and that you found everything in good order with no complaints

We look forward to your return in the future

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in Aug. Was a blessing to be upgraded to sea view room. Booked it through Amazon deal under £120 which I thought was a great deal. Room spacious and clean. No bath but quite happy to have a shower. Yes, no air condition so we brought our own fan, thanks to trip advisor and previous review to recommend that. Hotel parking voucher £1 per day. Manage to park opposite the hotel because we arrived at about 11am and there were a few parking spaces. Breakfast buffet has good selection and staff were very helpful and friendly. A relaxing place to be. Will definitely going back there again. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean888285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sean888285,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a very positive review about your stay with us in August. We are always so pleased to hear when a guest has had an enjoyable stay and one which would have you 'definitely going back'.

Everyone here at Shore View Hotel looks forward to your future return and i thank you once again for your kind review

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a lovely time in Eastbourne. The hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was Ok.

Giving 4 star as the bedrooms were very nice for what we paid. It did have a lovely view of the pier.

Parking was on the main road which was a little bit to busy to park easily!

Would stay again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Cara L,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Everyone at the Shore View Hotel is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were friendly and that the rooms and breakfast also met your requirements.

We very much look forward to your return in the future

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for two nights with the Amazon deal which was really good value. We did not have very high expectations because of the price but it was worth the money. We paid the extra for a sea view but the window was so dirty on the inside it was rather a waste. We asked it it could be cleaned but this did not happen.
If you don't mind a buffet breakfast is was ok. We were on the third floor in between two doors that were banging all night so avoid room 308 at all cost. A really good location but don't think I would pay the full price to stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear SprogLondon,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Shore View Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel the upgrade cost you paid was met with a dirty window. I have highlighted this with our housekeeping team.

I'm sure you understand with 90 bedrooms and the windows on the 3rd floor hard to clean by my staff we always try to ensure our window cleaners do the best job. I hope in the future we can meet your expectation and see our improvements

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were pleasantly surpised by this hotel, we had a good Amazon Local deal and stayed 4 nights in July. The room was a seaview room with balcony doors which gave a really good view, the downside being that for 'safety reasons' the doors were fixed shut which was a shame and as it was a hot week would have helped cool the room down a bit. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a good selection so no complaints about the food but for a 90 room hotel the bar/restaurant area is very small and we had to wait for a table a couple of mornings. The seats also seemed to be a bit low but that is me being picky. We did not eat evening meals but the menu and prices looked reasonable with a fair selection of meals offered. Although the web site says there is plenty of parking on the seafront we and other guests found we had to park quite a long way from the hotel so be warned if you have a lot of luggage and you may have drive up and down to find a space at busy times. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again so have given it a 4 rating becuase we don't feel a 3 would be fair on the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Mike H,
Thank you for your review. We take the greatest pride in trying to ensure our guests have the best experience at the Shore View Hotel so its a pleasure to hear we met your requirements.

I have since made sure to pass on your comments about out very good breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff

We look forward to your future stay with us and i thank you again

Kind Regards
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I got a fantastic deal for Shore View hotel through Amazon local. A 3 night stay in a beach front hotel in August for 4 people for less than £150! I had low expectations ivo the cheap deal so my expectations have been exceeded on every level. The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. I understand it used to be a premier inn so the decor was as I expected. Other reviews I looked at before arriving had criticised the breakfast which I felt was more than adequate for the price of the accommodation but the dining area was small and we had to queue one morning and they also ran out of eggs another morning. However, all in all, a very satisfactory stay and I hope to come again if there's another deal on! Eastbourne is a great place to visit. Much less crowded than the popular resorts such as Brighton and the beaches and surrounding areas are great with lots to do and explore with the kids. Can't wait to come back but don't tell anyone as I don't want to spoil it here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Manager at Shore View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Cheryl P,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I apologise that one morning we ran out of eggs however we have since looked into our suppliers and hope you seem improvements in the future.

Its such a pleasure to hear you cannot wait to come back and we look forward to your future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
GT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore View Hotel

Address: 20 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located directly on Eastbourne Seafront, The Shore View Hotel is set within a beautiful Victorian building. All the rooms offer a comfortable double bed, TV with freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary WiFi and a work area with a desk and chair.Our family rooms are ideal for a family of four with a double bed and a double sofa bed which is suitable for two adults and 2 children under the age of 12.Make the most of your visit and up-grade to a Sea View Room for only £10 and enjoy the views of the immaculate beach and clean waters of Eastbourne’s coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shore View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing