We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”

Two Bulls Steakhouse
Ranked #8 of 402 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A large and airy dining room in this beautiful former landmark pub with an open kitchen and very informal service is a great place to relax and enjoy a good steak. You can see the dry aging beef on display and you can see the genuine charcoal grill at work on your steak. This is definitely not fine dining but what you do get is rustic, simple, homemade food with strong natural flavours.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the second review I have written. My husband and I ate at the Two Bulls last Saturday evening, and there was absolutely nothing we could fault with the whole experience. The new bar is a fabulous place for a pre-dinner drink, and we received wonderful hospitality (as always) from Delphine and Oli. Our steaks were just mouth wateringly succulent, and cooked to perfection, and the garlic butter sauce is a wonderful accompaniment. I usually have a peppercorn sauce with a steak, but the garlic butter is just too good to miss out on.

Great ambience, great staff - everything was truly wonderful. Although we didn't have a lot of room left after our wonderful meal, we did manage to share a plate of cheese and biscuits with a glass of port. We received a truly fine selection of cheeses, biscuits AND bread. This restaurant always goes that extra mile for its customers and if you haven't been yet, you really are missing out on an exceptional treat.

Cannot recommend it highly enough, so if you've been thinking about it, take the plunge - you won't get a better steak anywhere!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonheslop428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    98
    33
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More converts!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently took friends to the Two Bulls after boring them for nearly a year about how terrific it is and they were totally bowled over. When they calmed down they did make one little suggestion which sounds good to us. He loved his prawn cocktail starter but she doesn't like fish and found the other starters a bit too heavy-sounding, particularly if you are to keep room for a pud, which you must. So how about that other retro-favourite starter, avocado vinaigrette? We reckon that would be a perfect commencement.
Absolutely love the new cocktail bar, BTW.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The BEST Steakhouse!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First got taken here on Valentine's day and it was amazing and couldn't wait to come back. My dad's 60th was in June and normally it's impossible to take him anywhere where he doesn't moan about something... until this place! I don't know who was more shocked me or him but he LOVED it and it was just as amazing as I remembered. We did the Sunday deal for dad's birthday and got a bottle of wine, a starter and pudding along with the main for £50 for 2 people. I can't fault anything and can't wait to come back :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You'll come away extremely full of fine food!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We knew this would be a good steak house because after 2 attempts we finally got a table so make sure you don't try and book last minute because it's impossible. It's a popular restaurant though for good reason. The choice of menu is outstanding everything sounds delicious! There's lots for vegetarians too and a good choice of steaks. Everything came cooked exactly how we asked for it. You pay extra for side dishes like mushrooms etc which was the only part I thought was little bit cheeky because the steaks are £20 at least. It's a very nice meal though which we didn't mind
paying for. The bill was £145 for 4 of us and that was with 2 drinks each and 2 courses. Staff were friendliest I've seen for ages and very helpful with menu. Excellent atmosphere! Will definitely be returning soon. One of best restaurants in Eastbourne without a doubt.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0F1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Never normal review but this was too good not too :-)”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First time to night had the two three course meal deal and a bottle of wine and was blown away best stack for a long time and staff rely friendly, and as for deserts that's a defo. ;-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littleden79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Bulls Steakhouse also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Two Bulls Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing