We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather nice hotel next to the sea”
Review of Savoy Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Court Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Savoy Court Hotel is quite a nice hotel. The problems are that the wifi in the rooms is very slow and the water in the shower is not reliable. Sometimes it can be extremely hot and be cold just a few seconds after.
The breakfast is not very good.
Although those bad points, the manager is very nice and the hotel is very close to the town center and the beach. There are many facilities nearby like a supermarket or take aways.
The room was quite comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Baptiste A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you for the feedback. We are delighted that you found our room to be comfortable and quiet. Wi-fi is good in the common areas but has limited signal in the rooms. As a part of the continues improvement plan the remaining few baths rooms and Wi-Fi will be updated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the en-suite facilities which were cramped to say the least. The tiny basin had no arm room to brush ones teeth and there was no towel or rail in this cubicle which also included the toilet. The towels were in another cubicle - there is no other word for it - where the shower was. The sash window cords were broken and looked as though they had been that way for ages, so we had to keep the window open with a rolled-up newspaper! The room was very hot as there was what was probably a large hot water cylinder behind the stud wall of the WC cubicle. Having said that, the beds were comfortable. Only Nescafé for breakfast so we breakfasted out after the first day - the cooked breakfast was OK, however, on the one day that we had it. Parking could be a problem in high season as it was difficult enough in the third week of June, but it is only £1 per day with the hotel guest pass.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 10 unless you are size 10 as well!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank johnbrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

johnbrice,

Thank you for leaving your comments. We take all feedback very seriously.

We understand that some of the en-suite rooms are a squeeze at times and in some rooms the toilet and shower rooms are separate. This is because of the limitations set on us by the grade 2 listing of the property.

We were unaware that there was an issue with the window in this room. Had you told us during your stay we would have been more than happy to relocate you and solve the issue immediately. However, this is the first we have heard of it and now a very solvable issue is available for everyone to see. We urge all guests to come to us directly with any issues. We are very understanding and will always do all we can to serve you best.

Please elaborate on 'only Nescafe for breakfast'. Our breakfast range includes an array of cereals, juices, fruit tea and coffee and a very plentiful cooked breakfast for only £5.

Parking is never easy in Eastbourne even for those that live here. You will not get a better deal on parking than with the permits we offer.



Jack Taylor
(Savoy Court Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Tea tray covered in dust (surely this is the one place that gets most attention due to refilling tea/coffee etc) also broken shower hose. Absolutely not worth £80. The hotel inspector would have a field day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MartinMillgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

MartinMillgf,

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your comments. After you mentioned these things to me when you departed, I had a member of cleaning staff check the room immediately and admittedly the tea tray was a little dusty. We apologise profusely for this as we understand it is not acceptable. As for the shower, I sent the maintenance man up to the room after you left and he was unable to find an issue.

Could you elaborate on the issue with this.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you stay with us again we will not let you down.

Jack Taylor
(Savoy Court Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose this hotel for of its central location and price when attending a family party in the Eastbourne area.

Whilst the location is good and the staff are welcoming, the rooms are small, tired and unwelcoming.

We were at the front of the hotel and so had to endure "street comings and goings" until 3am.!!! The people in the room above us seemed to be shuffling furniture most of the night!!! The en suite was very small, no bath and a very small shower cubicle, tired and basic. We could have done with more towels - there was only one each and there was no hand towel by the wash basin. The bed was comfortable.

Overall we were very disappointed and thought it expensive for what we had and would not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel. Part of our party also stayed at the back of the hotel and whilst not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Phillip B,

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your comments. We appreciate all comments from our guests and take all of them seriously.

We pride ourselves on having friendly and approachable staff so thank you for pointing that out. We are sorry that you were kept up late by the late night party goers. There is a night club at the end of the pier and this a regular occurrence in our neighbourhood which you would have heard in many of the other hotels too I am afraid. I also apologise that our guests above you were not very considerate.

Not all of the en-suite rooms have baths but some do. We will do our best to give you a room with the facilities you require if you let us know at the time of the booking.

We understand that sometimes the en-suite bathrooms can be a little bit of a squeeze. Believe us when we say we would love to make them bigger but it is just not possible in a building of this age and with the restrictions we have.

For the sake if the environment we do not put hand towels in the rooms as standard but we are more than happy to give you some if you ask and we will also change bath towels on request.

We are sorry you left us unhappy. We will do everything we can to make your next stay a lot better if you give us the opportunity.

Thank you

Jack Taylor
(Savoy Court Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have been travelling through England, so far Brighton, Salisbury, Torquay, penzance and tintagel. This hotel has been by far the nicest yet. The accommodations are roomy bright and fresh. Our bathroom is the most modern. Service is amazing and the food to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Catherine W,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with and that everything was to your satisfaction. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Jack Taylor
(savoy Court Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank djrulton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SavoyCourtHotel, General Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Savoy for a good few weeks in February as we were on the South Coast for business. The hotel itself is very centrally located, you can park outside with a guest pass from the hotel for £1 a day which is good. There's a very nice bar area with Wi-Fi and I understand it's recently been refurbished, but even before it was very comfortable. Sijad and his team are very friendly and helpful and will go the extra mile if you need anything. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn't use it for anything but breakfast, which was great. The room we stayed in was quite small but as we were out most days it didn't really matter. The hotel on the whole is very clean, and with en-suite bathrooms and tea-making facilities, at the price they charge it's very good. There's a lovely garden at the back, which I can imagine would be a suntrap in the summer. My only downside would be there's a TV lounge which you can watch DVDs etcet in, but you're not allowed any drinks from the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culturemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Court Hotel

Address: 11-15 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Savoy Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Court Hotel aims to be your home from home on the South Coast of Britain. Our prominent location puts you right in the lively heart of Eastbourne – renowned as one of the sunniest towns in the country. You’ll be only 100 metres from the iconic Victorian pier and seafront, and within twenty minutes of Beachy Head and the South Downs national park, where you will be awarded stunning views of East Sussex.Eastbourne offers theatres that regularly host famous West End stars and plays, galleries, shopping, hundreds of bars and restaurants, and transport links to London and Brighton, as well as historical towns such as Herstmonceux, Lewes and Hastings. Furthermore, Newhaven Harbour provides access to France, and is only a short train-journey away.The building is a Grade II-listed historic townhouse, and the Savoy Court’s cosy atmosphere makes it a perfect getaway from hectic city life, our recently refurbished bar and garden is the ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink, and the restaurant is perfect suited to private events and functions, with its own bar and the ability to cater for up to 60 guests.Our friendly staff always strive to go the extra mile; we live on-site, so you can be sure of our personal attention to your needs. Excellence of service and the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, and we will do everything to ensure that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Court Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing