We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5 Day Break”
Review of Albany Lions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albany Lions Hotel
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our 5 Day Break”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Top marks for this Hotel we found the staff helpful and Friendly The room was clean and tidy our thanks to the Chef the food was of a high standerd,The downside was the lift it was out of order the whole time we where there,this proved very difficult for many in our party.Stair lifts were available only to the second floor. (Four floors at this Hotel)

Room Tip: Check that the lift is working,request a room overlooking the Beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macann74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
29
26
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Lovely looking hotel. Rooms I saw were very small Staff especially the receptionst on Sunday bank holiday May weekend was lovely and very helpfull . The bedroom was very nice but really dirty and the quilty had a really bad smell when looking closere the quilty was covered in stains and under the bed was covered in hair and dust . I would say that its a lovely hotel but very dirty roomd small breakfast one sausage and one slice of bacon .. but lots of toast offered ...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The previous reviews concerned me. I was happy with the basic lot of the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful. The general appearance was certainly rather tired but I expected this based on the reviews. Breakfast was ok and the service good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Accept this hotel for the value and location and forget all the negative reviews. The place was clean, the staff polite and helpful and the food was good. The location is excellent. The hotel is old but is constantly being improved. For what you pay, you won't get better all round value.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pagltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very unpleasant experience........what should have been a very special occasion was ruined by staff unable to deliver a simple afternoon tea. (due to higher management disfunction). Suggest staff go on a catering course (and Management) and learn the art of presentation (the local College has catering and hospitality facilities)or.....not bother offering such services.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank joolieju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Well....I was here at the same time as the previous reviewer, in fact the only good part of the stay was when we all got chatting and compared how bad it was....so bad it was funny!
When I entered my room it felt like the old days when my Mom would pack me off to my Nan's house for the weekend, the smell was even similar!
The shower was hilarious, I had about 4 streams of water coming out of a seriously lime scale packed showerhead!
I could go on but I am so tired due to not actually staying the second night, I opted to leave a 10pm and drive 3.5 hours as another night here may have done me harm.
Just to clear things up we were on a business conference so this Hotel wasn't our choice, we were simply booked in.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

the hotel is in a good position but could do with a uplift The room was clean and the staf were very helpfull. If you just want to use this as a base and get youre head down then his hotel is ok. Any more than that and I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
#25 of 40 in Eastbourne
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Lions Hotel

Property: Albany Lions Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Albany Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Lions Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing