We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewing rooms”
Review of Albany Lions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albany Lions Hotel
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visited Eastbourne on 29th June on the off chance of booking a couple of rooms for my husband & I & son, daughter in law & child. The rooms were very expensive, luckily we were shown one room by a very nice member of staff, roundabout 5pm, walking along the corridors wasn't very impressive, skirtings looked like they needed a good coat of paint. The room was awful, everything looked like it needed a good clean, the cleaning room doors were open, they were to be desired. We were then going to be shown the family room, the member of staff that was showing us round opened 2 different room doors, then said the housekeeper didn't let her know they were either occupied or needed cleaning. Luckily they didn't have room for us, think we would have been well disappointed & a complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights no keys for windows porter said hotel staff lost them, can open only one window in the conservatory.
Bedroom room 310 no hot water and toilet won't flush, I told the staff no one cares here. They have a fan you turn it on at the wall smells like the sires oh my.
Cleaner didn't replace towels or toilet rolls, milk forget it I had to keep calling the staff. The lift kept saying out of order, then it was okay, it's faulty the staff kept sayin oh no ignore that will be okay.
I was totally ripped of at this hotel mrs s goodwins

Room Tip: View the hotel and room before you stay I was ripped off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have recently stayed at this hotel and found it very nice. We had a second floor sea view room which was very spacious and very comfortable beds and lovely plump pillows. The hospitality tray was replenished each day and had a nice choice of biscuits too. The bath/shower rom was adequate, spotlessly clean and good quality fluffy white towels.
We were staying on B and B terms so cannot comment on evening meals, but breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from, cereals, juice, muesli, etc and then we opted for a full English which was excellent and good quality herby sausages which we really enjoyed, coffee was good quality fresh ground too. The staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. We loved the rich deep carpets throughout and gold paint decor, gave a feel of real luxury at an affordable price.
We hope to return again soon, thank you for a lovely stay .
It is a beautiful old building with original features which adds to its character.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SANDS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for an event weekend. The hotel is very nicely situated on the seafront, close to the pier, and the shopping centre of Eastbourne. Right from our arrival we were made very welcome, with a cup of tea, and then shown to our rooms. This is what I would call a rabbit warren hotel, with rooms popping up in the most unexpected places. We were given room 2128, which was situated on a mezzanine floor between floors 2 and 3. A twin bedded room, we found the room was well appointed with twin beds, a huge shower room, and plenty of clothes space. Along with this was a tray with all tea/coffee making facilities, but far more important, my favourite biscuits, Bourbon Creams. The dining room was impressive with the food being even more so. Breakfast and Dinner were carvery style, but there was no restriction on how much you wanted to eat, and the desserts were to die for. Special thanks must go to Dina the restaurant supervisor, who handled her staff with quiet authority. The bar in the evening was well priced, and the barman was very friendly and helpful (Sorry Armenia didn't win the Eurovision song contest, he voted about 5 times). The ballroom where our event was held was spacious, and easily accessible. All in all a very successful weekend, and worth staying at the bAlbvany Lions Hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a good view of Eastbourne seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I booked to stay at this establishment over Easter weekend, and cannot have wished for a better stay. My room was clean and tidy and the staff were both helpful and polite. I will return in the near future. The food was also very good, A thumbs up from me.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As other reviews have pointed out this hotel is tired and needs a facelift both inside and out. However, this is not the main issue that guests will have to face if travelling independently. I stayed with my Mum for six nights on a bed and breakfast basis. We each had a double room with sea view. These rooms were advertised on the internet as being for single occupancy. The two rooms were similar in many respects, My Mum's having a large bathroom but my own was like a long tunnel and you had to edge sideways to get past the sink to the shower. There was no window in my bathroom and the fan, which should have activated on switching on the light, did not work. My Mum's room was more spacious than mine and seemed to have been updated in some ways, for example new bedside lamps and a more modern fridge. The fridges in both rooms were very useful during our stay. Outside both rooms there were balconies which could not be entered from the rooms. Mine had a dead bird and a broken strip light lying on it. This was not a pleasant sight. Both rooms were clean and well presented though some redecoration might not go a miss as there was marked wall paper and holes where things had been taken down and moved.Wardrobes were made out of plywood and were very basic.Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the rooms.

During most of our stay the hotel was full with two tour parties. This meant that the seating areas and dinning room were very full. The seats in communal areas were very worn and could do with replacing. Service in the dinning room was good whilst the parties remained in the hotel but once they left on the Friday there was a dramatic deterioration in the quality of the breakfast provided and the service was poor due to the fact that the receptionist had to come into the dinning room to see if we were OK as no waitress was available. I asked for tea as did the other guests and the young woman seemed quite surprised that drinks had not been offered to us, however to her credit she did get things sorted out. The breakfast buffet was extremely limited and dried up on the Saturday morning and when I voiced my concern it was not taken seriously. On the Sunday morning we were asked what we wanted in terms of cooked food. My sausages were clearly those that had been out the previous day and were not a patch on the ones provided during the week.

Once the coach groups had left the hotel the bar was not reopened in the evenings and guests on half board had to walk to another hotel for their evening meal. the atmosphere was poor and to put it bluntly we did not feel welcome. The guests left in the hotel clearly were not worth the full hotel facilities. This hardly makes you feel a valued guest.

At the end of our stay it became clear that the balance of the bill;I had only paid a deposit over the phone, had been taken from my credit card an hour before we had arrived but this was not mentioned to me on booking in. The credit card slip was only given to me on check out because I asked for it. I was not happy that they had helped themselves to the money and had seen fit not to mention it. I expected to have to settle the bill on arrival but quite clearly they could not wait to carry out the transaction in a business like way.

My advice is only stay in this hotel if you have to and you are part of a coach trip. Any independent travellers out there who are thinking about staying, find somewhere else where your custom will matter and you will be valued as a paying guest.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotsflower2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is extremely shabby and in dire need of refurbishment - peeling paint, very obvious water damage to some ceilings, and worn carpets.
The pillows are cheapest of the cheap - thin and rock hard. I actually went and bought one from a local shop as I couldn't sleep with those provided.
Although the food was generally okay in both quality and range, the individual cartons of butter provided in the restaurant were 23 days past their "Use by" date. I pointed this out but not sure what was done about it.
Whichever receptionist is on duty has her meals (breakfast, dinner, whatever) at the desk so you run the risk of catching her with her mouth full. Just seems a bit unprofessional.
Good things - location, pleasant restaurant staff, okay food.
Only went there because it was the venue for a course we were attending. Wouldn't return from choice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waterside Hotel
Waterside Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Lions Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £33 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albany Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Lions Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing