We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as everyone says”
Review of Albert & Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albert & Victoria
Ranked #8 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As great as everyone says”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Delighted to finally get to stay here after numerous attempts, as were always fully booked when trying before - and not surprisingly.

My wife and I stayed here last weekend for just the one night in the Leopold room.

Every positive TA review about the A&V is thoroughly warranted, from the warm and friendly welcome to the impeccable decor and facilities.

Parking can be a slight challenge, but Keith offered us his parking place if needed, which we did not as found a spot less than 100 yards away.

The room itself was immaculate, beautifully and tastefully furnished, with first class crockery, glassware, toiletries and linen provided and spotlessly clean.

The bathroom itself was a tad cosy and perhaps an additional towel rail might be useful, but the shower was spacious with a powerful shower.

Only other suggestion would be a power point nearer the lovely focal mirror in the bedroom, as the hairdryer provided does not have a long enough lead. However this was not an issue for us as my wife had brought her own which was able to reach.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom itself warm and cosy. Would definitely choose this room again.

Breakfast was excellent, I had the full English and my wife the scrambled eggs & smoked salmon.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there is no doubt whatsoever, that on our future trips to Eastbourne, there is only one place we will choose to stay - the A&V.

P.S. if you enjoy good Italian restaurants, then try the La Locanda Del Duca, a 10 minute walk away. A little pricey but wow what a fabulous meal (approx £30 per head)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
219
33
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Albert & Victoria for just one night, 23 November 2013. We don't usually stay in guesthouses, but were visiting a friend and it was near, convenient and judging by the reviews, rather good. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the Alice room, and were happy to find that simply nothing had been overlooked. Keith even brought us freshly made tea just after we arrived, which was most welcome The attention to detail was extraordinary. Breakfast was freshly and perfectly cooked, and elegantly served on Royal Doulton china. The A&V is spotless throughout and we would have no hesitation in recommending this little gem. Parking was the only problem, but we are assured that a parking voucher scheme is soon to be put into place so that should make it easier. We would certainly choose to stay there again, no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned home from a thoroughly wonderful stay at the Albert and Victoria and we send another huge thank you to Keith and his team. On arrival we were treated to a very warm welcome from Keith and entered a beautifully clean, warm, and homely hallway with fresh flowers. We were taken to the Leopold room which was just amazing for a small hotel so clean with everything provided, lovely china cups and saucers plus a teapot for making our tea and fresh milk available on request, plus coffee and flavoured teas as alternative, bottled water was provided which was was replaced daily. Beautiful white fluffy towels and bathrobes in the on-suite facilities plus toiletries etc:. Breakfasts were really superb with plenty of choices for everyone's taste, Keith will always go out of his way to make sure you have all that you require, he is the perfect host and his helpful suggestions helped to make our stay in Eastbourne so enjoyable. We will definitely be returning to the Albert and Victoria and we would finally like to add that we have stayed in some 5 Star hotels but this was even better and we would award it 6 STARS without a doubt. A BIG THANK YOU again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed six nights in the Leopold room and we loved it! The room was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious! Keith went out of his way to make suggestions concerning places to eat and to visit. The room was always clean, and we enjoyed making ouselves tea with the inroom china tea service (complete with tasty cookies) when we were there in the afternoon. Thank-you to Keith for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Thank you Keith. This was our second visit, and we were right to return. We were down in Eastbourne for the Beachy Head marathon, and Keith even supplied water bottles with sports lids for the runners. We have already booked again for 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I booked 3 nights here - we wanted a break from London. We booked on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked the double room and were very impressed with the room however after our first night the owner said that the deluxe room was not booked and that we could have it for the next two nights - this was an unexpected but very welcome gesture. We found the rooms spotless and enjoyed the breakfasts. We would love to stay again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here at the beginning of August for 2 nights. After reading trip advisor reviews we weren't disappointed. Attention had been given to every small detail. The rooms was rather small but perfectly adequate & it was all so tastefully decorated & beautiful that this more than made up for the cosy size. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. For the first time ever at a hotel, I used the complimentary shower gel as it was natural & sls free (similar to what I normally use) - this might not interest the majority of people but I was excited about it!! The breakast was all cooked freshly to order & was amazing. The owner was extremely friendly & it was lovely to meet him & spend time chatting. They clearly put a huge amount of effort into running their B&B and it was greatly appreciated.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MamHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert & Victoria

Property: Albert & Victoria
Address: 19 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Albert & Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small husband and wife team aiming to offer comfortable, friendly accommodation in our luxuriously decorated Victorian themed Guest House. All guest accommodation offers en-suite shower or bathroom, mini bar and in-room safe. Our breakfasts are cooked fresh to order each day using the best, and where possible locally sourced, ingredients. We offer a friendly, relaxed and warm welcome for all our guests, in clean, comfortable and beautifully themed rooms. We are proud that the majority of our guests choose to return again and again to the Albert & Victoria and work hard to offer consistent quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albert & Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing