We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Parade Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days with David Urquhart travel. We had a very comfortable stay and the meals were very good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Carol and Jerome (the proprietors) were very friendly and welcoming and very obliging. We had a room on the 3rd floor( right next to the lift) which meant, even although I have poor mobility, we were able to enjoy a room with a great sea view. Not to forget the staff, they are very friendly and polite and always happy to be of service. We would very happily stay at The Marine Parade again.
Carol and Jerome all the best for your future.

Room Tip: Room 28 has a really good view of the beach and promenade. It also had an easy access shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salgor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for your great review, and we hope to see you back with us in future - just ring us to make sure that you get the room that you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good place to stay while passing through doing a road rip of southern England. Comfortable, clean room, wifi worked in the lounge area. Good cooked breakfast served. Friendly enough staff.
Beach and pier across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for such a positive review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping to extend our free wifi to all rooms, but remains work in progress for the moment. Have a great trip back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Great location but poor hotel. The hotel really needs an upgrade. The room was depressing and not very clean. Upon entering the room I went to wash my hands and was greeted by pubic hairs next to the tap. The headboard had a browny red coloured slime on it right next to the pillow. Lucky I had some wet wipes. Cooked breakfast not nice. The bacon was like eating cardboard it was so hard. Although the young breakfast staff were pleasant they leave the kitchen door open so that you can hear how 'wasted' they got at the weekend in detail. Not really professional. Also strange smell around the hotel. Try somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emdejayhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi emdejayhi,
So sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It is not satisfactory that you felt that the room was not correctly cleaned when you were checked in, and I wish you had let us know so that we could have rectified the situation. My wife normally personally checks every room prior to every arrival, but obviously one could possible have slipped the net.
Our staff are told repeatedly about being aware of both the content and the volume of their discussions that can be overheard from the kitchen, and please accept my apologies for this.
Overall of course you weren't happy with your experience, but hope that you enjoyed Eastbourne, and won't be put off returning to this wonderful resort. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in the height of summer, to attend a sporting event. The hotel itself is located on the sea front itself, central to Eastbourne's extensive promenades and close to the pier in a traditional hotel building. Operated independently by an experienced couple who directly run the hotel and oversee their small staff from the premises this was a comfortable place to stay.

Our room was compact - if we wanted to do more than change, wash and sleep there, we would have been cramped, but for our needs it was adequate. It had an en-suite shower and toilet, which were sufficient although we found we needed to apply some "field engineering solutions" to the shower head to make it stay in place while washing.

We were only able to take breakfast on our final morning - an early start meant we had to be away before service started, but the hotel kindly provided a packed meal for us to take instead, which much much appreciated. When we did take breakfast we were pleased with it, and the quality of the Full English offered.

The view from our room - a sea view - was very much a view of the sea, and we enjoyed looking out over it on the clear nights and listening to the sound of the waves on the beach; our room on the top floor meant that traffic noise was not as bad as it could have been and although there was noise from the pub nearby, this didn't unduly disturb us.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are as described, all rooms may get noise from pub next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive and fair review, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very welcoming and friendly, superb location near to the pier, restaurants, theatre and town centre. This hotel caters for all age groups, very personable at all levels. Enjoyed a first class breakfast which was a fantastic start to the day. I could not find better value for money anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks ever so much for such a great review Micky. We do our best, and are pleased that it is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Marine Parade Hotel in Eastbourne is situated almost opposite the pier and in a wonderful position for beach and town holidays. Breakfasts and dinner good value. Friendly service in the dining room. Quite a basic hotel but certainly worth staying. Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: As a single traveller, Room 2 was a very good size but overlooked the back garden of the next door p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JillAOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review, and for taking the time and trouble to leave one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasure to stay overnight for a great friends 60th birthday. Everyone had a great stay and thanks to Jerome & Carol for looking after everyone so well. Loved the breakfast, just the best!
Many thanks.
Chris& Alison

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Chris and Alison, thanks for such a great review, and pleased that you enjoyed the party so much - the atmosphere was great, and he certainly enjoyed it. Good luck with your ventures abroad, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Parade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Parade Hotel

Address: 13-14 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marine Parade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run sea front hotel offering a warm welcome to all our guests. Superbly positioned just over 100 yards from the pier. Small, but clean and comfortable rooms on offer, and a traditional English breakfast. Non-smoking hotel. Please ask us about parking vouchers at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Marine Parade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing