We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel OK, Pub not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, Pub not good”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here with two colleagues for two nights on business in June. I use a lot of Premier Inns around the country and would usually use the Premier at Polegate when visiting Eastbourne, however they were full on this occasion. The hotel building itself is as good as any Premier I've stayed in. The double room was a good size, clean, an the bed was comfortable. In fact the room had a noticably nice aroma when you walked in. The reception staff are friendly and pleasant. You may be better off having a room on the top floor to cut down on the noise from people in the room above.

Unfortunately, the on-site pub, Fayre and Square where breakfast and evening meals are served does not leave a lot to be desired! All I can say to the people who seem to be raving about it in other reviews I have read is that you need to get out more. The staff seem unmotivated and some of them look unkempt. In the evenings, they are happy to keep you waiting at the bar while they do other tasks that can be done later, like moving chairs. Tables are slow to be cleaned and you have to go back to the bar to place your food order. You are not told this of course, but find out when you have have waited a while and no-one appears to take the order. We didn't have to wait too long for the order to arrive at the table and the food was OK, with the exception of my colleague's steak that should have been well done but was cremated.

The cooked breakfasts are OK but the menu for the continental breakfast is limited compared to other Premier's I've stayed in.

All in all, if you're not too bothered about where you eat or poor customer service in the pub, you'll be satisfied. My advice is go to the Premier at Polegate, it's better!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor so you don't get disturbed by people padding about in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Thank you for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment, but we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment, as we realise that your restaurant experience is a large part of the overall experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    167
    63
    29
    8
See reviews for
158
182
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Was slightly put off by a phone call received whilst I was supervising an exam with one of my learners by a phone call from the Eastbourne Premier Inn asking what time I was going to be checking in. Odd, I thought, especially as they did not even ask if it was convenient for me to talk, and it was booked as a business trip. Hmm. Not a good omen. However, when I got there, and it is right on the outskirts of Eastbourne, tucked away north of the industrial estates behind the General Hospital, the staff were efficient and friendly, very helpful, and, HOORAY, a power point in the bathroom for my toothbrush. Downside? Not enough power sockets so had to keep unplugging the kettle to charge up my laptop and printer, and no bedside power socket for my clock radio. Would I stay again? Prefer the Newhaven one - it is easier to get to and closer to my learners. Also, the adjacent restaurant is better - the Fayre and Square next to the Eastbourne Premier Inn is vile - bad food cooked badly - what could be more nutritious?

Room Tip: Facing the car park is quieter than facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggy Merryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Many thanks for your comments. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and we do apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of plug sockets in your room, your comments will be passed on to the hotel management.

Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Premier Inn Eastbourne in June for one night whilst visiting the area for a family party. The hotel is a little way out of the town centre but nevertheless a cab in and out costs no more than a tenner. The hotel itself is small but fit for purpose, the rooms were large,clean and come with all the usual amenities you would expect, including a brand new Samsung TV and extra pillows. The bathroom had a shower and bath and was spacious and again very clean. The lady on reception, Bernadette, is a credit to the hotel. She was extremely polite, friendly and couldn't be more helpful. She was wearing a badge that said she was training which made it all the more remarkable just how good she was. I had to use the iron twice and not only did she fetch it for me but she carried it to my room on both occasions. The hotel itself doesnot have a restaurant, but there is a pub 5 metres across from it which does all the food, and the hotel will organise takeaway for you if you ask for it. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would defnitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which is a downstairs room at the front of the hotel, there was a little noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed one night. Staff very helpful & happy to help.
The room was clean & a good size.
Premier Inn has taken a excellent stand on the high prices paid to Locog for rooms at this years Olympics. They will not allow anyone to exploit its customers.
I will stay at this hotel next time i go to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chugwall p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Another top quality Premier Inn. Stayed for a couple of nights with our granddaughter in a family. Everything spotless as usual. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and good quality as usual. My husband says the bacon in the Premier Inns is far better than when we always used to stay in The Hilton Hotel Group. Great stay. Thank you. Xxxxx

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on 12th May 2012, and were really impressed. We were looking for a place to shower and sleep, and didn't need any other extras that hotels can offer, and this place was great. The family room was a good size. It fitted our family of 4 and 4 suitcases. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff on the front desk were very helpful and explained everything they offered as this was our first stay in a Premier Inn.
Breakfast the next morning was good, and great value as the 2 children ate for free.
Overall this hotel exceeded our expectations, and was great value for money.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AussieGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I recently stayed at this excellent hotel with my family. A very pleasant lady at the reception, I believe called "Mennat" was more than excellent, she made us feel very comfortable. She was very professional and explained to us in details about the services at the hotel and places of visit in Eastbourne and provided related leaflets. Family room was better than expected.....My wife and I were very happy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this particular hotel with our 2 children. To be honest, I often travel around and have stayed at other Premier Inns before but have never had a service like this before. I rate them 4/10, but I would without hesitation rate this stay 10/10. I will definitely be going to this hotel very often.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
Address: Willingdon Drove, Eastbourne BN23 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sunshine coast, Eastbourne Premier Inn makes an ideal base for both business and leisure stays. Nearby is Eastbourne seafront, the town centre, Sovereign Harbour, leisure attractions and business parks, as well as bus and rail links. Our Eastbourne Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing