We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vegetarian cuisine ever eaten”

Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #72 of 395 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
eastbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian cuisine ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Miss Walls Back Garden is warm welcoming and totally unique. All the excellent meals are created by Jackie (Miss Wall herself) and as my husband has said "if all vegetarian meals were as good as this then I would be vegetarian". It is a brilliant concept: a set price for a main course (of which there are at least four choices) and a selection of four sides. Brilliant decor like walking into someone's conservatory. Andrea, Jackie's partner, serves the best coffee, a glorious hot chocolate and mixes up an incredible green juice. The cakes all homemade are gorgeous and Jackie also caters for dairy-free like myself. There is a good selection of vegetarian delicatessen to purchase as well. Teas and coconut oil amongst others. Do yourself a favour and visit this little haven of good taste (both the music played and food). I go regularly after yoga and this place compliments it perfectly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank plomply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    10
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sunny garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here today for lunch, have been many times before. Today was amazing, we actually sat in 'Miss Walls back garden', they recently have opened it, down the stairs and into a 'sun haven'.My husband had vegetable morrocan tagine I had vegetable paella both served with an assortment of flavour bursting salads dressed to perfection, attractive enclosed garden, the sun was hot, so was the guy that served us, in fact he was very hot! (hope my husband doesn't read this), will definitely be back soon. Very reasonably priced,two large mains with two juices £18, please try if you love infusion of flavours and love vegetarian food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steppersyummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So, so, so delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing for afternoon lunch, the food is sensational and bursting with flavour!!! my favourite restaurant to visit in Eastbourne.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“rodders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

vegetarian heaven with large portions for piggy size appetites, even if they are not vegetarians
The croissant are enough for two normal size appetites so have at least one each.
Great home made really fresh food served with excellent musical background. Roy Orbison Satchmo and Van Morrison,

Very very good coffee and interesting alternative drinks,

As a bonus, dog friendly with courtyard garden. Mind the steps down though !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodders123637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely cafe with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited last week and had lunch in the courtyard garden. There was a choice of 4 mains which come with 3 sides. 3 of the 4 mains were vegan so great for us! Several desserts available and 2 of them vegan - we had some ginger cookies.
Will return when in the area again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smashinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing