We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with Charm !”

Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #70 of 395 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food with Charm !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Miss Walls Back Garden is an oasis of super vegetarian food , atmosphere and character within a delightful ambience . Miss Walls prepares and cooks all the delicious food daily ; no two days' selections will be the same so there is no menu .
The mouthwatering dishes on view are so tempting that it is unusual if they don't sell out very quickly .Excellent coffee is brewed by Signor Chiesa , who will also charmingly wait upon your table .
Ready for the Summer is the charming patio downstairs at the rear of the building , where Miss Walls also grows much of her produce .
A venue not to be missed !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    10
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just moved to Eastbourne, this is a gem of a place, all food homecooked, very friendly, this will be a regular visit for us, miss this place and you have missed out!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pwwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get there early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

First time visit and the offers of the day board was already sold out by 1.30 !! Had an aubergine curry and sides all for £7.50. Good flavours, excellent and fast service and a lovely sunny terrace. I'm a meat eater but love vegitarian food. Will go back earlier next time!! A great little find in eastbourne .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fmtipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrific first visit today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We found Grove Dr this morning and settled at a bakery across from Miss Walls Back Garden. We kept an eye on the activity there while we had coffee and an apple turnover as a post breakfast snack. We then headed off to visit the Eastbourne Pier and some shops between the pier and Miss Walls place. We timed our return to Miss Walls Back Garden so that we would arrive before the noon rush! We found the crowd had not arrived at 11:30 AM so we approached the counter and Miss Walls, I presume, explained the lunch entree and prices etc. I chose the curried potatoes/vegetable entre and my partner chose the cauliflower/brocolli curry. Each entree came with three sides that included couscous, salad, and another salad.
I enjoyed the curried potatoes/squash etc and my partner thought her cauliflower/broccoli curry was delicious! The portions were great and the flavors were wonderful. We had a cappuccino or hot chocolate and both were tasty!

The service was good, the music was nice, and the ambiance was comfortable. The aromas from the food prep area were also excellent.

The menu changes from day to day according to Miss Wall! We can not wait to return for another lunch or breakfast in the days to come!

This is a beautiful restaurant and we hope it lasts forever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian cuisine ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Miss Walls Back Garden is warm welcoming and totally unique. All the excellent meals are created by Jackie (Miss Wall herself) and as my husband has said "if all vegetarian meals were as good as this then I would be vegetarian". It is a brilliant concept: a set price for a main course (of which there are at least four choices) and a selection of four sides. Brilliant decor like walking into someone's conservatory. Andrea, Jackie's partner, serves the best coffee, a glorious hot chocolate and mixes up an incredible green juice. The cakes all homemade are gorgeous and Jackie also caters for dairy-free like myself. There is a good selection of vegetarian delicatessen to purchase as well. Teas and coconut oil amongst others. Do yourself a favour and visit this little haven of good taste (both the music played and food). I go regularly after yoga and this place compliments it perfectly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank plomply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Miss Walls Back Garden Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing