We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Guesthouse East
Ranked #16 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a really chilled out break at this lovely b/b come s/catering.Carl and Sarah are brilliant hosts and very helpful . We went to the Sheep centre and had a great time helping with the Lambing season, a must for families. The location is near to the shops ,beach and there are local buses that serve the surrounding areas, Alfriston village is lovely for a cream tea!
Beachy head is not too far away and the veiws are breath taking.
Our room was the red one and was warm and comfortable. We chose to s/cater but next time we visit we will be trying out Carl's famous Porridge!
This is a brilliant child friendly accommodation and we have recommended it to our families.
We are 2 ladies in our 50's and we enjoyed the relaxed feel of the place. As others have said Carl and Sarah just leave you to it also they are there ready and waiting to assist you in anyway to make your stay a memorable one.
All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room was up 3 flights of stairs so those not so able you would be better on the 1st floor We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceylooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
You managed to enjoy so many experiences into your time around Eastbourne - feeding the lambs is always such a treat!
Hope to see you both again.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. The best point about the Guesthouse East is its location, a stones throw from the beach and a short walk to shops and lovely restaurants in Eastbourne. Carl and Sarah were very helpful both in arranging our stay and during. We stayed in the red room, which was lovely and spacious and had a great sea view with the travel cot fitting nicely in the room’s entrance space, just away from mum and dad’s bed and the TV. And carls porridge was fabulous! Overall very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydrangea02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave the review (and a lovely one at that!).
I'm glad it worked out well for your family - Suite 4 is popular with its sea view and great space for an extra little one (the entrance-way isn't quite an extra bedroom, but it does allow for at least some separation for a good night's sleep).
And I'm glad that my porridge hit the spot!
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Perfect for a family break, great facilities, friendly laid back but professional hosts and a pretty, bright and clean place to stay.

Highly recommended and the guy that runs it is pretty hot stuff too ;0)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogopats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thanks for the review and, er, extra endorsement :)
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Two adults and two young children, looking for somewhere reasonable priced and good quality. We saw some of the reviews and thought it was worth a try. Carl, Sarah and family are superb. We didn't see that much of them as we were out and about and they were keen not to be obtrusive, but we've never met anyone so genuinely interested in making sure their guests have a great time. Nothing was too much trouble and we'll definitely be back.
Can you imagine how excited a 2 and a 3 year old were to be met by Spiderman (Raffy).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thanks Paul
It was fab having you guys around and we're really chuffed you had a great time here.
And Spiderman is always delighted to have extra friends to save from baddies.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I must commend Carl and Sarah for the Guesthouse East. It is a great place for a weekend away. We loved our room, we enjoyed the flexibility of having our own kitchen and being able to do our own breakfast and get up whatever time we wanted. The location of this B&B is superb but more importantly it's really kid friendly which was very important to us. We wanted some R&R as a family and got exactly that - we had a great room with a sea view and plenty of space, a TV that allowed us to play DVD's and play videos to from our iPad for our 5 year old. Our 5 year old is allergic to nuts and this place is perfect as you can sort out your own meals, but that said Carl & Sarah are well prepared to care for you if you have allergies so we felt safe they understood the precautions we needed to take. Would we come back? Definitely. Do we recommend it to friends? Absolutely. - Oliver, Niki and David.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OB1KeyNoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thanks Oliver - great to hear you enjoyed your break in Eastbourne as a family.
Traveling with allergies certainly adds a tough dynamic, doesn't it? We always target places with self-catering options ourselves because of that.
Here we just try to think of small ways to either enhance family time together or to provide you with quiet moments for yourself - we're chuffed that it worked for you!
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here at Christmas. We had a lovely room - Carl and Sarah are a joy and nothing is too much trouble. The standard of accommodation is really high - we loved our little kitchen and were able to relax after a day at relatives in the knowledge that we had our favourite things to eat and drink! We are already booked again - for Easter - and cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Great to see you both again and delighted to hear that you're enjoying yourselves.
See you next month.
Thanks for the review - really appreciate it.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

It's rare that I moved to write a review but we really loved The Guesthouse East and so had to write about it. We arrived recently after a very long flight from Hong Kong, tired, jetlagged and with a sick infant in tow and it couldn't have been nicer to arrive at this place. The room was beautiful, luxuriously furnished, spotlessly clean, full of nice food and toilettries and extremely comfortable and quiet. Just what we needed! Sarah and Carl were so lovely and kind and offered us lots of help when our little one got sick. They even lent us baby items that we needed and the kitchen in the room is a godsend for preparing food. All in all, a great place to stay in a fantastic location at really good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

I hope your little one is back on form - not really the return to Blighty you must have hoped for and the last thing you needed after a long haul flight. The least we could do was to try to make it a little easier for you.
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Hope you and the family enjoy being back after your stint in HK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse East

Address: 13 Hartington Place, Eastbourne BN21 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £96 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guesthouse East 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 1 in the Independent's '50 Best UK B&Bs', the 4-star Guesthouse East is ideally located close to beach, town centre and South Downs. There are 6 contemporary ensuite rooms, ranging from spacious doubles or twins, to family sized, sleeping up to 5. There are also separate kitchens in the suites. Self catering facilities are complemented by hotel-quality services: indulgent breakfasts, free WiFi, towels and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Guesthouse East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing