We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
311
66
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
66
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringkitchen areaporridgeguest housegreat accommodationhelpful ownersperfect locationgreat place to staywarm welcomerooms are spaciousgood sizeperfect hostssouth coasta lovely stayb and bcooked breakfastenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The Guesthouse East in Eastbourne is located very close to Eastbourne Pier and the seafront. The room is clean, spacious and comfortable, the kitchen has all you need (perfect condition pans and accessories) for self catering. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the kind of people you wish to have at every hotel you visit... :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bearcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Bearcat
Thanks for the feedback and lovely words.
We only have 7 rooms in total here despite being in quite a grand building so it never feels too crowded. Given that we also live on-site, albeit separate, means that we appreciate a relaxed, informal atmosphere.
Thanks for the thumbs up on the kitchen - no Le Creuset kit in there but we do try to keep the spec up, them spotless and practical.
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We travelled down to Eastbourne from London on the train - a sometimes stressful experience with very small children (6mths + 30mths). Arriving fully laden and a little frazzled, our hosts couldn't have done more to accommodate the weighty demands of our little boys. From fleixble breakfast arrangements -- no need to bring any gear they have it all -- to use of toys in the rooms, use of their garden and trampoline and generally being incredibly helpful, Carl and Sarah were perfect. Laid back but attentive - they bent over backwards to help us when one of children has allergies with advice and sensible suggestions.

We used the dining room at night to have a takeaway meal - the monitor reached from our room so it was all very doable... before creeping back into our little apartment. It had been a while since I'd been to Eastbourne and we were blessed with good weather - so with the beach just down the road that was a bonus. Lovely walks both ways along the coast and the fish & chips (I think Harry Ramsden's) were a nice reminder of times past.

The walk from the train station is entirely doable and all pretty flat for those with prams, bags and all the paraphernalia related to toddler travel...

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a single bedroom apartment and used the bathroom for our cot(!), but if I were to return I'd definitely book one of their bigger apartments so we all had more space... that was our mistake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PolarBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi PolarBrit
Great to hear that the family adventure went so well.
Travelling with a 2-year old and a 6-month-er is perhaps not for the faint-hearted, especially on a train, but I hope that Eastbourne, The Guesthouse East.and your experience can provide others with the inspiration to head out of town for a few days :)
It was probably in complete awe and admiration that we simply tried to offer you a little assistance along the way.
Continued happy travels with the family - see you all again I hope.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in a triple room for an overnight stay whilst at the Eastbourne Tennis. Was made to feel very welcome and cosy and room clean and presentable, We did not have any food. Great Location for Eastbourne Tennis, beach and high street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Sue
Thanks for your lovely feedback - great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here during the tennis last year.
We're barely more than a cheeky lob from centre court and love taking in the action too.
Maybe see you again in June.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was a real find for us. Carl and Sarah are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms was spacious and the added benefit of the small but perfectly equipped kitchen was an added bonus . If you don't fancy cooking breakfast then it is all done for you . There are so many added extras and if you need anything Sarah and Carl will certainly help .The property is really near just about everything so no need for the car ay all . The weather in January was vibrant but we enjoyed loads of great walks. Want to eat out? We found the Catina
in Bolton Road quite exceptional in food and service and who recommended it ? Carl

Room Tip: Go for suite 4
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you Jean for your lovely words :)

It's very rewarding to hear that all our effort to create the extra space and facilities in the suites is appreciated.

Great to hear that you enjoy the invigorating walks - it certainly wakes you up out there right now!

See you both again I hope.

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Had an amazing stay here a couple of weeks ago with my girlfriend. The rooms are a good size, clean and well presented. We even had our own kitchen though we didn't get around to using it! :)

The owners Sarah and Carl know the area well and are extremely helpful. We went on a lovely walk along the coast near Beachy head which they had recommended. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clydeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Clyde

Thanks for the lovely feedback and also the photo you pasted from Birling Gap - amazing views, eh??

I'll sort you out with a few more ideas for your next trip down from London :)

Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews