We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
311
66
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
66
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringkitchen areaporridgeguest housegreat accommodationhelpful ownersperfect locationgreat place to staywarm welcomerooms are spaciousgood sizeperfect hostssouth coasta lovely stayb and bcooked breakfastenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights.

It could be better if we are not having the lowest room as it's just right below the dining area. Every single steps from upstairs including dining tools, chairs pulling, etc are so clear & loud.

I'm very sure the owners aware about this but they never mentioned during our stay at all but just greeting us with their 'excellent service' instead.

We were thinking to get cheaper accommodation therefore we decided to stay at eastbourne instead of Brighton. In the end we realised the room price is not much cheaper.

In the website it stated cycling is available in the hotel so we have more reason to stay there. guess what? The owner is just helping to call to nearby cycling shop for more info but the bad news is there were no kids bicycle for rent.

I will not recommend this hotel at all as they may misleading customer by reading the website. Waste our time to drive all the way to eastbourne.

What I'm trying to say is the noise really spoiled customer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiaomeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Xiao
I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointments.
We always try our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and get the most of their time in Eastbourne, especially when it's their first time in our town,
We certainly do advertise our ability to help organise bike hire (with different options available depending on where our guests fancy heading), but since we are a small guesthouse we don't offer them on-site (and wouldn't claim to).
Your choice of room was complicated by the fact you had only booked a double room despite then arriving with three people, but thankfully we were able to offer you a family room at a discount, but nevertheless perhaps you were unhappy at having to pay for a larger room.
In terms of the noise at breakfast, the communal dining table can encourage interaction amongst our varied guests and I am sorry if was particularly boisterous one morning.
We were completely unaware of your feelings while you were here as you always seemed so happy when asking for advice and thankful for help along the way.
I do hope that you get the chance to visit Eastbourne again as it offers such a wealth of attractions and with a completely different atmosphere to Brighton, and at a greatly reduced price across the town.
Good travels
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

worked away in the area and stayed here for around 5 months and enjoyed my stay at the guest house east, the rooms are good with the kitchen, which sets it apart from the other hotels and isn't massively expensive either, the rooms are always clean & tidy and doesn't feel like a hotel which id great.

I would recommend staying here too anyone & would stay again if i was in the area again

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best room !
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Andrew, thanks for the feedback
It was fab having you around, on and off, for a few months and great to hear that the kitchens worked well for you. They must have made life much easier for you in the evenings when you were away from home for so long.
Room 6 definitely gets a lot of votes - if you don't mind some stairs, the view is a belter and it's the biggest suite we've got. But, ssshh, don't tell everyone otherwise word will get out....
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went here on the first sunny weekend of the year, and had a fabulous time. Traveled with our 2-year old son, who loved it as well. Rooms are great, and Sarah and Carl are attentive, yet make you feel like you can just do what you want. Parking just in front of the door, the beach about a 50m walk. Recommended.

Room Tip: stayed in suite 1, which was fine. Our son could sleep in a separate room, which was very convenient.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Peter
Given that we're in a glorious Regency terrace, the walls of the rooms are nice and thick which I hope help parents relax when travelling with little ones.
We just try to figure out what we as parents and as individuals would like on hand when we're away from home and to make that happen here at The Guesthouse East.
It's very rewarding to hear that it worked so well for you - and the opportunity to spend an evening away, with a travel cot in another side-room (albeit a kitchen) certainly has it's advantages!
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The Guesthouse East in Eastbourne is located very close to Eastbourne Pier and the seafront. The room is clean, spacious and comfortable, the kitchen has all you need (perfect condition pans and accessories) for self catering. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the kind of people you wish to have at every hotel you visit... :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bearcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Bearcat
Thanks for the feedback and lovely words.
We only have 7 rooms in total here despite being in quite a grand building so it never feels too crowded. Given that we also live on-site, albeit separate, means that we appreciate a relaxed, informal atmosphere.
Thanks for the thumbs up on the kitchen - no Le Creuset kit in there but we do try to keep the spec up, them spotless and practical.
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We travelled down to Eastbourne from London on the train - a sometimes stressful experience with very small children (6mths + 30mths). Arriving fully laden and a little frazzled, our hosts couldn't have done more to accommodate the weighty demands of our little boys. From fleixble breakfast arrangements -- no need to bring any gear they have it all -- to use of toys in the rooms, use of their garden and trampoline and generally being incredibly helpful, Carl and Sarah were perfect. Laid back but attentive - they bent over backwards to help us when one of children has allergies with advice and sensible suggestions.

We used the dining room at night to have a takeaway meal - the monitor reached from our room so it was all very doable... before creeping back into our little apartment. It had been a while since I'd been to Eastbourne and we were blessed with good weather - so with the beach just down the road that was a bonus. Lovely walks both ways along the coast and the fish & chips (I think Harry Ramsden's) were a nice reminder of times past.

The walk from the train station is entirely doable and all pretty flat for those with prams, bags and all the paraphernalia related to toddler travel...

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a single bedroom apartment and used the bathroom for our cot(!), but if I were to return I'd definitely book one of their bigger apartments so we all had more space... that was our mistake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PolarBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi PolarBrit
Great to hear that the family adventure went so well.
Travelling with a 2-year old and a 6-month-er is perhaps not for the faint-hearted, especially on a train, but I hope that Eastbourne, The Guesthouse East.and your experience can provide others with the inspiration to head out of town for a few days :)
It was probably in complete awe and admiration that we simply tried to offer you a little assistance along the way.
Continued happy travels with the family - see you all again I hope.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews