We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Guesthouse East
Ranked #16 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Whilst visiting Polegate decided to stay overnight in Eastbourne at the last minute. Came across the Guesthouse East at 7.30pm on Friday night and couldn't have received a nicer welcome or room. It's a great place to stay as it's clean and spacious and near the beach.
Sarah and Carl are lovely hosts and can't do enough for you. Advised us of good eateries and watering holes for our stay. We opted for the cooked breakfast with buffet which was very filling. The great advantage of this place is that you have a kitchen so for longer stays you can self cater if you want to. Tea, milk etc and toiletries were provided which was great especially as we were totally unprepared for an overnight stay. For a small charge they will also provide tooth brushes, paste and shaving equipment!
Will definately return and stay longer next time we are in Eastbourne.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was on the 1st floor overlooking the garden; very peaceful, clean and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Monica
Really pleased that you enjoyed your impromptu stay - I reckon they're often the best :)
Thanks for spreading the word
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and had such a lovely time we thought we'd stay again. Sarah & Carl still fab hosts and the room was even better than I remember it being last time - I'm sure they've had it done up. We stayed in room 5, which is quite a way up and faces the back but a lovely room and has a little kitchen which is ideal if you have little ones as we do. We had a great time and played on the beach which is literally at the end of the street. It also helps that the weather was gorgeous that weekend! I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nooks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Welcome back Nooks! Lovely to see you and the family again and hear that you enjoyed the weather we laid on for you :)
Room 5 is my favourite (despite the stairs), what with the view of the gardens and the sun it enjoys all afternoon. The swanky new bathroom definitely helps as well, methinks...
Thanks for finding time for the review
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away with our toddler and had a lovely time - the room was nice and clean and the added bonus of having a kitchen area made it really easy to keep essentials like milk and snacks for our little one.

The location was fab, really close to the beach and promenade, and just a short walk away from the shops in the other direction.

Carl and Sarah were lovely and helped us with all the local info on places to go and things to do in the area. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you Suzanne for your review and kind words.
Great to hear the guesthouse and Eastbourne worked so well for you and that you managed to find some of the hidden gems we managed to point you towards.
The lambs are gamboling all over the place at the moment so it's a perfect time for the family!
See you all again I hope.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a great weekend at The Guesthouse East. The rooms were lovely and very clean and the location is great - walking distance to the beach and equally convenient to drive to or to take the train. The kitchen was very convenient as we didn't want a full breakfast on both days (though it was very tempting!)
Sarah and Carl were great hosts and gave us lots of tips on what to do in the area and were even kind enough to organise cycle hire for us.
We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi NV
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and we're chuffed to hear that Eastbourne provided a pleasant respite from London.
It's so easy to get around when you're here - especially if you hire a bike (we're happy to help arrange - either a mountain bike for around the Seven Sisters/South Downs Park, or a 'Dutch'-style effort for more gentle pottering around) - so no real need to drive.
Hope you make it down for longer next time - lots more to fit in :)
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights.

It could be better if we are not having the lowest room as it's just right below the dining area. Every single steps from upstairs including dining tools, chairs pulling, etc are so clear & loud.

I'm very sure the owners aware about this but they never mentioned during our stay at all but just greeting us with their 'excellent service' instead.

We were thinking to get cheaper accommodation therefore we decided to stay at eastbourne instead of Brighton. In the end we realised the room price is not much cheaper.

In the website it stated cycling is available in the hotel so we have more reason to stay there. guess what? The owner is just helping to call to nearby cycling shop for more info but the bad news is there were no kids bicycle for rent.

I will not recommend this hotel at all as they may misleading customer by reading the website. Waste our time to drive all the way to eastbourne.

What I'm trying to say is the noise really spoiled customer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiaomeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Xiao
I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointments.
We always try our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and get the most of their time in Eastbourne, especially when it's their first time in our town,
We certainly do advertise our ability to help organise bike hire (with different options available depending on where our guests fancy heading), but since we are a small guesthouse we don't offer them on-site (and wouldn't claim to).
Your choice of room was complicated by the fact you had only booked a double room despite then arriving with three people, but thankfully we were able to offer you a family room at a discount, but nevertheless perhaps you were unhappy at having to pay for a larger room.
In terms of the noise at breakfast, the communal dining table can encourage interaction amongst our varied guests and I am sorry if was particularly boisterous one morning.
We were completely unaware of your feelings while you were here as you always seemed so happy when asking for advice and thankful for help along the way.
I do hope that you get the chance to visit Eastbourne again as it offers such a wealth of attractions and with a completely different atmosphere to Brighton, and at a greatly reduced price across the town.
Good travels
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

worked away in the area and stayed here for around 5 months and enjoyed my stay at the guest house east, the rooms are good with the kitchen, which sets it apart from the other hotels and isn't massively expensive either, the rooms are always clean & tidy and doesn't feel like a hotel which id great.

I would recommend staying here too anyone & would stay again if i was in the area again

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Andrew, thanks for the feedback
It was fab having you around, on and off, for a few months and great to hear that the kitchens worked well for you. They must have made life much easier for you in the evenings when you were away from home for so long.
Room 6 definitely gets a lot of votes - if you don't mind some stairs, the view is a belter and it's the biggest suite we've got. But, ssshh, don't tell everyone otherwise word will get out....
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went here on the first sunny weekend of the year, and had a fabulous time. Traveled with our 2-year old son, who loved it as well. Rooms are great, and Sarah and Carl are attentive, yet make you feel like you can just do what you want. Parking just in front of the door, the beach about a 50m walk. Recommended.

Room Tip: stayed in suite 1, which was fine. Our son could sleep in a separate room, which was very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Peter
Given that we're in a glorious Regency terrace, the walls of the rooms are nice and thick which I hope help parents relax when travelling with little ones.
We just try to figure out what we as parents and as individuals would like on hand when we're away from home and to make that happen here at The Guesthouse East.
It's very rewarding to hear that it worked so well for you - and the opportunity to spend an evening away, with a travel cot in another side-room (albeit a kitchen) certainly has it's advantages!
Thanks again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse East

Address: 13 Hartington Place, Eastbourne BN21 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £96 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guesthouse East 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 1 in the Independent's '50 Best UK B&Bs', the 4-star Guesthouse East is ideally located close to beach, town centre and South Downs. There are 6 contemporary ensuite rooms, ranging from spacious doubles or twins, to family sized, sleeping up to 5. There are also separate kitchens in the suites. Self catering facilities are complemented by hotel-quality services: indulgent breakfasts, free WiFi, towels and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Guesthouse East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing