We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
315
66
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
66
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen area porridge guest house lovely hosts great accommodation helpful owners dvd player perfect location warm welcome rooms are spacious good size a lovely place to stay south coast cooked breakfast feel very welcome b and b
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and had such a lovely time we thought we'd stay again. Sarah & Carl still fab hosts and the room was even better than I remember it being last time - I'm sure they've had it done up. We stayed in room 5, which is quite a way up and faces the back but a lovely room and has a little kitchen which is ideal if you have little ones as we do. We had a great time and played on the beach which is literally at the end of the street. It also helps that the weather was gorgeous that weekend! I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nooks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Welcome back Nooks! Lovely to see you and the family again and hear that you enjoyed the weather we laid on for you :)
Room 5 is my favourite (despite the stairs), what with the view of the gardens and the sun it enjoys all afternoon. The swanky new bathroom definitely helps as well, methinks...
Thanks for finding time for the review
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away with our toddler and had a lovely time - the room was nice and clean and the added bonus of having a kitchen area made it really easy to keep essentials like milk and snacks for our little one.

The location was fab, really close to the beach and promenade, and just a short walk away from the shops in the other direction.

Carl and Sarah were lovely and helped us with all the local info on places to go and things to do in the area. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you Suzanne for your review and kind words.
Great to hear the guesthouse and Eastbourne worked so well for you and that you managed to find some of the hidden gems we managed to point you towards.
The lambs are gamboling all over the place at the moment so it's a perfect time for the family!
See you all again I hope.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a great weekend at The Guesthouse East. The rooms were lovely and very clean and the location is great - walking distance to the beach and equally convenient to drive to or to take the train. The kitchen was very convenient as we didn't want a full breakfast on both days (though it was very tempting!)
Sarah and Carl were great hosts and gave us lots of tips on what to do in the area and were even kind enough to organise cycle hire for us.
We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi NV
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and we're chuffed to hear that Eastbourne provided a pleasant respite from London.
It's so easy to get around when you're here - especially if you hire a bike (we're happy to help arrange - either a mountain bike for around the Seven Sisters/South Downs Park, or a 'Dutch'-style effort for more gentle pottering around) - so no real need to drive.
Hope you make it down for longer next time - lots more to fit in :)
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights.

It could be better if we are not having the lowest room as it's just right below the dining area. Every single steps from upstairs including dining tools, chairs pulling, etc are so clear & loud.

I'm very sure the owners aware about this but they never mentioned during our stay at all but just greeting us with their 'excellent service' instead.

We were thinking to get cheaper accommodation therefore we decided to stay at eastbourne instead of Brighton. In the end we realised the room price is not much cheaper.

In the website it stated cycling is available in the hotel so we have more reason to stay there. guess what? The owner is just helping to call to nearby cycling shop for more info but the bad news is there were no kids bicycle for rent.

I will not recommend this hotel at all as they may misleading customer by reading the website. Waste our time to drive all the way to eastbourne.

What I'm trying to say is the noise really spoiled customer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiaomeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Xiao
I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointments.
We always try our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and get the most of their time in Eastbourne, especially when it's their first time in our town,
We certainly do advertise our ability to help organise bike hire (with different options available depending on where our guests fancy heading), but since we are a small guesthouse we don't offer them on-site (and wouldn't claim to).
Your choice of room was complicated by the fact you had only booked a double room despite then arriving with three people, but thankfully we were able to offer you a family room at a discount, but nevertheless perhaps you were unhappy at having to pay for a larger room.
In terms of the noise at breakfast, the communal dining table can encourage interaction amongst our varied guests and I am sorry if was particularly boisterous one morning.
We were completely unaware of your feelings while you were here as you always seemed so happy when asking for advice and thankful for help along the way.
I do hope that you get the chance to visit Eastbourne again as it offers such a wealth of attractions and with a completely different atmosphere to Brighton, and at a greatly reduced price across the town.
Good travels
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

worked away in the area and stayed here for around 5 months and enjoyed my stay at the guest house east, the rooms are good with the kitchen, which sets it apart from the other hotels and isn't massively expensive either, the rooms are always clean & tidy and doesn't feel like a hotel which id great.

I would recommend staying here too anyone & would stay again if i was in the area again

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best room !
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Andrew, thanks for the feedback
It was fab having you around, on and off, for a few months and great to hear that the kitchens worked well for you. They must have made life much easier for you in the evenings when you were away from home for so long.
Room 6 definitely gets a lot of votes - if you don't mind some stairs, the view is a belter and it's the biggest suite we've got. But, ssshh, don't tell everyone otherwise word will get out....
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews