We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
311
66
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
66
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringkitchen areaporridgeguest housegreat accommodationhelpful ownersperfect locationgreat place to staywarm welcomerooms are spaciousgood sizeperfect hostssouth coasta lovely stayb and bcooked breakfastenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good reception. Sarah & Carl are always available : city map, good advices and addresses for pubs, restaurants.
Parking tickets (1 pound a day).
Kitchen with the minimum necessary.
Close to the sea and city center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecileB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Cecile
Great to hear you enjoyed your break from Lyon here and thanks for finding time to write the review.
Really pleased you enjoyed the kitchen and location (and rewarding to hear about our service!)
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've visited Eastbourne previously for work purposes but never for a family stay. We're all very glad we did this time. The Guesthouse East is a warm, friendly and comfortable place to stay and places like this are few and far between for a family of 5. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. Sarah and Carl were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our cooked breakfast was fantastic and we loved the open, communal dining room. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Joanna
I'm so pleased that we helped you enjoy Eastbourne with your family - maybe see you here on your next business trip :)
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location: just off the beach front, very near to the pier, excellent.

Room: had room 6, which was on the 3rd floor (no lift). Large main room with a king bed and additional sofa bed for our 3yo. Separate kitchen fully equipped, bathroom with all amenities. Was like a well furnished 1 bed flat, but with the convenience of breakfast. None of the rooms are really sea facing, as the b&b is on a road perpendicular to the beach, although you can see the sea from this room. Very quiet.

Service: very warm and helpful, Sarah had great recommendations for toddler activities, as she has young children herself.

Breakfast: it's standard fry up and cereals. manage your expectations, it's not the best breakfast ever as other reviews may suggest, cannot compare to say a 5* hotel catering for hundreds, with the same variety and choice.

There were a few minor things we were not happy with, which we left constructive feedback on, but nothing that I'm sure they won't remedy before the next guests arrive, as they are very diligent and committed themselves. Main one they may struggle to do much about is the noisy/odorous/weak drainage system which I understand cannot change due to being in a listed building. A small thing that can be overlooked based on the many other positives.

Overall, perfect for a family where you need to cook (our daughter has allergies), very well catered for children, lovely hosts, great base from which to explore Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very quiet and spacious, kitchen.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Tom
Thanks for such a considered review - no doubt it will prove very helpful for our potential guests.
You've pretty much summarised what we look to achieve here - the space and flexibility of large self-catering suites, with daily servicing and the option of breakfast.
Extra rooms have been sacrificed in order to give better facilities in those that remain (all wrapped up in good sound-proofing).
In terms of service levels, we simply look to create what we ourselves would enjoy - recommendations based on who you are and what you fancy, great facilities for families (which corresponds as great for everyone), and since we really enjoy what we do it tends to be with a smile (although I can be a little grumpy when I can't get out on the kayak..).
With regard to breakfasts, we focus on good quality and locally sourced produced wherever possible - sausages, eggs, bacon, tomatoes ,bread, for example, plus other dishes and variations such as smoked salmon, a range of omelettes and, of course, the legendary porridge :)
We are a little restricted with the plumbing in some of the rooms but look to ensure that there is a contemporary finish, great fittings and lashings of hot water.
Hope we get you down again
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We really enjoyed our five night stay in this elegant self-catering B&B. The bedroom was spacious, with a kingsize bed and a sofa, so could accommodate three family members if needed. It had a very well-equipped little kitchen with room for three to eat at a small round table and a very nice bathroom with powerful over-bath shower. One of our favourite aspects of this suite was the hall with room to hang our coats: this made the suite really feel like our own private apartment. Our hosts, Carl and Sarah, were very friendly but unobtrusive - a perfect combination!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Viv
Thanks for the lovely feedback - which has just given me a warm glow :)
Suite 2 makes for a great triple or a very spacious double - after all, who wants a pokey box room when they're away from home?
Sarah is v pleased that you enjoyed the bathroom - the tiles and fittings were all her recent choices as we like to keep things fresh.
See you again soon I hope.
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Once again, we had a lovely stay at the Guesthouse East. Beautiful, spacious and clean rooms with self catering facilities. Perfect and well equiped for a family with young children.
Excellent location, close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Carl and Sarah are by far the best hosts in England.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a good room for families. If you'd like more space you can also book room 6 (the top floor will be entirely yours during your stay).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia00072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlstanger, Owner at The Guesthouse East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Cynthia
Thank you for the amazing feedback following your stay with the family.
It's always lovely to see you all again, to see how the children have grown and to hear about your exploits travelling around England - you seemed to have seen so much more of it than us!
Looking forward to the next catch up
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews