We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dated, noisy and sad”
Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tired, dated, noisy and sad”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The location is good, on the seafront but the room was dated. It was like going back in time to the 70's. Old chairs, twin beds with double mattress, 10" tv, wardrobe was a gap in the wall with doors. It was in need of painting, very noisy, you could hear everyone moving about, talking etc. Very sad really and not value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    150
    79
    30
    37
See reviews for
57
243
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I must have been in what could have been the maids room in Upstairs Downstairs. Room very shabby, shower room large and shower head was dirty. Paint flaking on windowsills. Owners admitted that the room had not been refurbished. Bed and bed linen spotlessly clean. Wardrobe had a big 8" hole in the door. Breakfast was good and so was the dinner (especially the homemade Rice Pudding).
As I was a single on a coach holiday with older people I was a little concerned that there was no telephone in the room to contact the reception should there be an emergency i.e. accident or heart attack etc. Not everyone carries a mobile phone !!!
Staff were very friendly. The diningroom and lounge were very elegant as were the refurbished rooms. I guess I was just unlucky.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in Room 33. (Third floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkshirelass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

As a birthday treat my husband booked a nights stay.
When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the receptionist.
The room was beautiful and for the £55.00 we paid it was really good value,especially as it was an ensuite, kingsize room, with a seaview.
Downsides were not enough milk supplied in the tea and coffee tray and as it was a fairly windy night the windows banged.
Breakfast was fairly decent although the menu offered how you would like your eggs cooked on your full english i asked for poached and my husband asked for scrambled, when breakfast arrived we both had fried eggs.
I would definatly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The lady at reception was superb, very polite and helpful. Although she was elderly she, slightly unexpectedly, had some fantastic adivce regarding local clubs and bars. The first room we were sent to was through the dining room and up a small flight of stairs to a tiny room that seemed like something from a horror film. To travel round the room we had to take turns as there was barely enough space for one person to walk round the edge of the bed let alone two. We went to reception and asked about alternatives. We took the lift to the top floor and looked at a sea view room which was completely different and only cost us £10 more than the original room. The size of the room was to obvious positive and the light was much better in this room as it was painted white and appeared clean so we went for it. On further inspection there was clearly a need for some detail cleaning in the bathroom corners, however.... There were three built in wardrobes along one wall of the room, the right cupboard being the toilet, the middle a wardrobe (the largest) and the left a shower room. So clearly detailed and deep cleaning would have been awkward. To top it all off the hotel had scaffolding all round it which spoilt the seaview and had not been communicated to us before we arrived so came as a bit of a shock. We opted for breakfast in the room which was ok but nothing to be excited about. But the saving grace was the lady at the reception who was friendly and helpful during our stay and made up for the substandard building and decor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Having read the reviews below I can now guess what has happened. We had two rooms at the top of the hotel. these rooms were probably last decorated in th 70s. The furniture stll remains! Wardrobe door with hole in it. Radio on the wall still with home and light service. Scaffolding outside the window. I can forgive this as hotels have to be maintained but the inside of the windows were being rubbed down! The so called bathroom was a shower room with more 70s furniture! It looked awful and was so cold I slept with my clothes on. Now, this is what I think happened. The hotel was fully booked. When we booked on line they used two rooms that were not intended to be let out and that's why there was no heating. They should simply have said they were full and maybe we would have tried to book again.There was a coach party in as well and that made it plenty loud enough! In Eastbourne March for two weekends and will most certianly not be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellCooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

After reading the reviews we were not sure what to expect, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised we were warmly welcomed at reception and directed to our room, we stayed in the sea view room with the 4 poster bed (the bed had a firm mattress) and double ended Jacuzzi with a LCD waterproof TV above it, there is a DVD player for the bedroom and bathroom, you can use the extensive collection of DVD’s down stairs at no extra cost, the decor of the room was luxurious with long think curtains, chandelier light, long mirrors and a dressing table all with an antique feel about it, breakfast was served between 8am and 10am it was a full English (included in the price) and you didn’t have to wait long. We would defiantly recommend it for a romantic weekend.
,
As a note you can park outside the hotel on the sea front the times are 8am to 6pm 20p for 2 hours - £1.50p for 4 hours no maximum stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We travelled from the North East last week to East Beach having read some of the previous reviews we were not sure what we were going to get. What we got was excellent service, lovely clean rooms and very pleasant and helpful staff. The location is great right on the sea front.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prince37055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,319 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Property: East Beach Hotel
Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing