We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room with 2 person jacuzzi”
Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked this hotel because I'd seen it on hotel inspector and I only wanted to stay in the room that had panoramic view of the beach and bathroom with 2 person jacuzzi & tv. This room is the suite and on the 2nd floor. The room is smaller than I expected but all the same was lovely. Amazing jacuzzi and very comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly on arrival and check out and the full English breakfast was nice. The room had kettle and tea / coffee options and a mini fridge which was handy as we had taken wine with us to drink whilst getting ready to go out. Can understand some of the negative comments as the hallways do look scruffy but this particular room (28) was very nice and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallacet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We booked East Beach with Groupon. They told us that they were very busy therefore we couldnt have a jucuzzi room. Although we noticed on our stay We did not see one other guest staying there, all the rooms looked unoccupied. On our arrival the receptionist was extremely unwelcoming and quite rude. I have never felt so unwelcome and uncomfortable in a hotel. The seaview room however was quite nice. The double bed was two singles pushed together. The room and bathroom was very clean with clean white towels. We decided not to go down for breakfast as we felt like we would not get a very warm reception from the staff. We wont be returning to this hotel. I stayed in the Eastbourne travel lodge last year and had a much warmer welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the East Beach hotel on the 25th/26th January 2012. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was very clean and well proportioned. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. Bathroom clean and had bath and shower unit, shower screen needed attention, which we reported. but other than that it was well maintained. Breakfast was fine, full English and toast etc. All for the wonderful Groupon rate of £49 for 2 nights B&B for 2!

Room Tip: We were given a very pleasant room, sure the staff wouldn't mind you just asking to be upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband & I stayed at the East Beach Hotel using a Groupon voucher given to us as a gift to celebate our wedding anniversary in the town we lived in 15 years ago.

Sadly although it said on Groupon that the vouher was valid for suites with a jacuzzi for 2 subject to availability, when we booked we were told that all the suites & executive rooms were already taken & only a standard room that had not been updated was available. We hoped that as we advised the stay was for our wedding anniversary a nice room would be allocated. We were disappointed with the room, although it was reasonably clean it needed dusting, the decor was a bit dated & had 2 twin beds pushed together (not romantic or comfortable), the stairways & corridors were a bit scruffy. The road noise was distracting, but didn't really bother us, however if you like a peaceful night's sleep it would do. However the view of the pier & the beach from our 3rd floor room was amazing & worth putting up with the road noise for & the central location was very convenient.

The greeting on Reception when we arrived was disappointingly frosty. It was difficult to find the our room due to the rabbit waren of corridors & bizarre numbering system, perhaps we would have found it easier if we had used the lift & were given some instructions by the reeptionist. When we returned to the hotel later (about 8pm) there was no-one on reception & so the large dvd collection mentioned by others on here was not available & the tiny TV only had the basic 4 channels. So worth choosing your film before you go out to dinner.

I'm afraid we do not believe that the better rooms were really taken, as the hotel was deserted, with only 1 other table occupied at breakfast! Breakfast was hot & did the job and did cater for my vegetarian diet.

In short, we would have been VERY disappointed if we (or should we say Sister) had paid the full asking price, but was OK for the Groupon price. Shame, because others have written such nice reviews about the efurbished rooms.

Room Tip: Great view of beach & pier from 3rd floor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the East Beach hotel in Jan 2012 after receiving a groupon gift voucher. Very cramped twin room, carpets badly marked, windows stuffed with tissue to stop the rattles! Towels were extremely old grey and ragged! The shower cubicle had lots of mould around the joins.

Overall a very disappointing stay especially given the earlier reviews. Staff were friendly and location was lovely. I have no plans to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose twin on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ihpnaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the east beach for one night in mid-January using a groupon voucher which we purchased. For what we paid it was well worth it, room was small but did the job. Toilet and shower room were tiny but for one night it was fine. If I stayed here any longer I may have wanted a bigger room with a more up to date interior but to think of the customers they are likely to get down there (primarily OAPs), I can understand why it is how it is!

Breakfast was fine, we had the full English, it was delivered hot and reasonably quick.

The owner was very helpful. We came in around 9pm and asked if there was a bar which I think was closed (low season so not surprising) but she still got us some drinks which we could take up to the room.

They also have a large DVD selection which you can borrow from and the room came with a small tv/dvd combi which was handy.

Overall it was worth what we paid for it and it's in a prime location if Eastbourne is your thing! I recommend a trip to Sovereign harbour which is a short 5minute drive away where they have a cinema, Franky and bennys and also some bars and restaurants which overlook the harbour.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireGoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had a lovely time here, hotel was more than adequate. Superb sea veiws from room 7, the one we stayed in. Remember to ask for a sea view!! Breakfast was good. It was a 20 minute walk from the rail station & bus stops were near by. Good value for money. The bed was big & comfortable. The toilet & shower small but adequate, although the toilet space was very limited. Would recommend this hotel as it was such good value

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, you would not want to be at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,519 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £42 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing