We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great week end”
Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

just had a long weekend break at east beach hotel with just go.had a great time.Bedroom only basic but spotless clean. Breakfast best ever.Dinner excellent. Service very good waiting on staff very pleasent.Night entertainment great. Could not fault the holiday. Thank you very much from 2 rockin rollers.

Room Tip: ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have been on loads of trips and stayed at various hotels in the past in the UK and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

A good all rounder, food, hospitality, entertainment and great room - very accomandating.

Room Tip: Asked for front room view and got one without paying extra but was out of season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay, booked through Just Go holidays, Bed clean and comfortable, room well serviced,. food good,. staff excellent. Very helpful and informative. Would certainly stay here again. Gentleman travelling with us is disabled and used an electric wheelchair. The staff arranged to store overnight and took it from us at door, returning it to us in the morning on request.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I think that this hotel is value for money, no frills but everything that's needed for a comfortable stay. The best breakfast I have had at a hotel for a long time. The weather was really bitter but the hotel was nice and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Our first booking was cancelled a week before as they had 'double booked', they seem to do this regularly with Groupon customers. Rebooked for March. We arrived in the middle of dinner being served to 2 coach parties and the front door was locked. We rang the bell, we telephoned (ansaphone!) and resorted to banging on the dining room window. Eventually let in by a passing guest. Room good size and lovely views to pier and along the prom. Huge jacuzzi in bathroom, but broken. Small shower but no hot water. Seems if lots of guests use the showers the water doesn't last, so had to wait until mid morning to get hot water. The breakfast was limited, but fresh and served by friendly and efficient staff. Recommended to a local pub for dinner, The Marine, and had two excellent meals; wide choice, friendly and reasonable. Reading reviews from other guests, seems we were lucky not to use the jacuzzi as all guests note them as being faulty. We did try to use it as a bath and also flooded the floor and the room below. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisbfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We traveled with Just Go to the East Beach Hotel and could not have been more pleased. The weather was cloudy and chilly and when the excursions were over we enjoyed our time at The East Beach Hotel. The room was a good size with all the normal amenities including an excellent, warm shower room decorated to a modern upbeat standard, the whole room was too warm,even on a cold day, but we soon remedied that by turning down the thermostats on the two radiators in the room.
The TV reception was very good on the Full HD flatscreen and helped during those cold mornings before breakfast. There was a first for us - a fridge in the room that came in handy for storing the food to make our sandwiches for the return journey.
All the meals were Chef made and to a very high standard, very welcome on a cold day, there was a good choice of breakfast cereals and juices and the Full English prepared to your choice and served hot.
All of the staff at the Hotel were curteous and efficient and always pleasant - it made for a really enjoyable holiday when the weather was not at it's best.

Room Tip: There are still some renovations going on but not while we were there and everyone said their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. We are very pleased to hear compliments for our chef, our staff always really appreciate hearing feedback from guests, so we will be pleased to pass on such a nice compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the East Beach. We used a groupon voucher and had originally booked for November but the hotel phoned a few days before and cancelled our stay because they had overbooked. They offered us an upgrade to the fourposter room (no 17) as compensation which we accepted. On arrival we were really excited by the view, the four poster bed and the huge bath with jacuzzi and even a TV. There was no food in the evening despite there being a menu in the room. However, the first real problem came when we tried to use the impressive looking TV in the room. We could only get limited channels so we tried the set in the bathroom and only got a menu. I went and asked reception who apologised and said they were awaiting an engineer and the tv in the ensuite only played DVDs. We borrowed a couple of DVDs and went to run the bath. I noticed an odd smell but ignored it and at least 30 minutes later sat in a warm filled bath tub (no really hot water). On turning on the jets (Of which half did not work) I was horrified to be surrounded by brown and black bits of debris which on closer inspection looked like sewage. I hopped out pretty quickly and emptied the bath leaving some bits to show the staff. Because we had a reasonable breakfast, comfortable sleep and were in a hurry in the morning we forgot to inform the hotel of what we then thought was a new malfunction. I have just emailed them so as to prevent our experience being repeated for other guests. However on reading the review below (dated December) I now am appalled that the hotel is knowingly subjecting guests to what appears to be sewage in the system and all the associated health risks and has been since at least December. It should be shut down.

Room Tip: Don't go at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank jne2647563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £49 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing