We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sea view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing sea view.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for one night in a room which was told was renovated, nice deco. The outside on a balcony was forgotten and in a bad state, windows neglected. The hotel really needs update. No double bed, just 2 beds stuck together, mattresses uncomfortable and old, hard pillows. Breakfast was very basic and would really be nice to have some fresh rolls instead of plain toast. Staff helpful.
Apart from that, the sea view from a balcony and sound of waves at night made up for it. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KasiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    138
    77
    30
    35
See reviews for
55
228
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for the lovely pictures and price and sea view room for our anniversary. The room was filthy and what was suppose to be a double bed was actually two single beds pushed together slanting at an angle. The floor was following suit slanting downwards, dust and cobwebs in the room and total gross factor was finding pubic hair in the beds!! The shower door was coming off the runner and when my husband went toilet he discovered the door pushed forward like a giant cat flap. The only upside to this was the view.
This hotel needs a massive leap into 2014 and a serious clean!!
We were moved to a rear view much smaller room this time with a double bed but the laughing matter was we were told it cost £5 more but for us there won't be any charge! lol

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Salma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and stayed here over the bank-holiday weekend,with Just go tours.We had a room at the top of the hotel with a sea view.It was clean and very comfortable.I could "nit-pick " on a few points,but so trivial that I won't. Food was excellent ,the staff are very friendly and efficient.e will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3akx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We live in London, love Eastbourne and visit whenever we can. Over the last few years we have stayed in many hotel and guesthouses and the East Beach is one of our favourites. For us, the most important aspect of staying in Eastbourne is to have a good sea view. Usually we book very last minute and it can be difficult to get a sea view room at a reasonable price. The East Beach has been able to offer us very affordable accommodation with stunning sea views on three occasions. It is situated in the quiter end of Eastbourne directly opposite the sean and the beach.
There seem to be many different types of rooms, sea view, rear view, economy, standard, executive and luxury (one luxury suite and one four poster room) and they are all priced accordingly reflecting the standard of the rooms. It seems that rooms are being refurbished gradually. On our first stay we had an economy room with sea view on the top floor. It had a very small toilet and shower room, but we did not mind this as the room was far better than we could have hoped for at the price we paid at very last minute, it was nicely decorated, clean and had a seating area next to the window. We stayed there again over Easter. On our third stay, we booked an executive room on the first floor, and this was a huge and beautifully decorated room with large bathroom and shower with floor to ceiling views of the sea. We loved this room and stayed on an extra night.
All the staff we have met are lovely, and we are always sad to leave. We will definately be back as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: Get a Sea View Room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grey_doberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

At the beginning of May I spent a couple of nights at the East Beach hotel with my sister's family. We booked two rooms, a family one and a double one as we had three children and we had a very lovely stay there. The weather was also great, as if we were also responsible for booking it. East Beach Hotel staff was really helpful and friendly and the short holiday went really well. As we had a small problem with the shower in the family room, it was handy that we had booked the two rooms so we could use the other shower instead. The location was very convenient for visiting Eastbourne and the dramatic Beachy Head. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The family room on the second floor had a lovely view on the sea front and the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for one night in the suite. From arrival to departure all staff very friendly. Room is nice but needs a bit of tlc, jacuzzi not working, carpet a bit worn etc. however huge room and en suite. Wrap around balcony and magnificent views. Hotel in an ideal location. Breakfast good but basic ingredients. Would definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikiakabussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Although in a perfect location for a beach holiday we were disappointed on entering our room. Every ceiling had cobwebs & dead spiders, quilt inside the duvet was falling apart & rotten. Toilet brush was soiled & only fit for the bin. Bed was very squeaky, even just sitting on it & so was door to the room. Fire alarm went off due to wood burner which left a bad smell of smoke through building for our stay. Although building needed updating & general maintenance needs to be carried out which can be costly there is no excuse for unhygienic conditions. I could go into health & safety issues but its not my place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank French136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,771 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Property: East Beach Hotel
Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing