We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the negative ”
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier Hotel
Ranked #65 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative ”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel today. I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and in a great position. My room (102) overlooked the pier and beach. The room was spotless, everything in working order, warm, nicely decorated and I found the bed to be comfortable x will return x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trayci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    58
    63
    41
    48
See reviews for
36
114
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay here ,room was clean ,and comfortable nice bathroom good breakfast £10 extra for the sea view a modest fee and worth it ,friendly staff too so left with a desire to return soon. Bus stops outside for busses to Brighton and Hastings

Room Tip: Push the boat out ,go for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute. When we arrived I didn't want to go in. The entrance was uninviting, crumbling and weather-beaten. The reception desk was unmanned and messy. A girl, who was eating a meal in a side area, came forward to book us in. We asked to see the room first, and we were directed down a narrow hall to the lift. We got in the lift, we pressed the button for the floor we wanted, and there we stayed - stationary, with the lift doors closed. We quickly pressed the button to open the doors and returned the room key to the girl eating a meal. Then we left!!! Wow, thank goodness we did!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiben33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Kent london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

To describe this as awful is being kind, the rooms were terrible , dirty and shabby.
The chef or cook doesn't even turn in some nights so I ate out.
All in all a place I would never stay again. The only redeeming quality is the lady on reception was helpful.
Do not book here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mike50w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welling
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

you pay for what you get at this hotel, it was very clean the bathroom was nice and big but the bedroom was a bit small and we had the view of a brickwall if you want the seaview you pay extra, the breakfast was great and the staff were lovely and friendly and spoke english which is very unusual these days

Room Tip: pay the extra if you want a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ensnared by the location and the British seaside aesthetic of the building itself I took my partner here for a 2 night break away from London. Instantly I had doubts as the bizarre, dated decor surrounded and the two desk staff together fumbled over another guests enquiry for a significant length of time. That said it was the double room which would be the nexus of the visit to Eastbourne. The foyer decor proved pervasive, making the already small, low ceiling, inadequatly equipped, dusty and seemingly uncared for room nothing but a massive, upsetting blow. With no ubiquitous wifi as promised as 'on the blink', the entire experience can be summed up as this: hell.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hands0mePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Visited the pier hotel in august this was the 2nd time we had stayed here.It had changed ownership and was having a bit of a face lift we were made to feel welcome food was good and try the fish restuarant below we missed the opening by a week but the menu looked fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pevensey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
17 Wilmington Square
17 Wilmington Square
#20 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#19 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: 4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing