We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Perfectly located within 1 minutes walk of the pier and beach. Just 5 minutes from the centre of town where there are lots of shops, pubs and restaurants. It is about 1.5 miles along the beach to the beginning of Beachy Head.
There was parking right outside hotel and a parking permit can be purchased for £1 per day from the hotel.
The hotel is a bit dated, but the friendly staff and the lovely English Breakfast more than make up for that.
Drinks prices at the bar are standard pub prices and there was entertaiment in the evening.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and if we return to the area we would definitely stay here again. For £60.00 per night for 2 peaople in a double room, it is a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    107
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
66
119
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stated at the afton for weekend break, the staff are wonderful and couldn't be more help ful , the bar area is lovely and inviting and always someone around , now for the few downer bits sadly, the shower as stated in other reports , is more a dribble, ladies with long hair opt for a salon then trying to wash it in there, breakfast is very dated , names on tables,?? I think it could realy be getting with the times a bit maybe visit the cavendish for ideas. The rooms are clean with fresh lining but there is a inch wide of dust around edge of carpet and skirting, not very nice, this is no reflection on hotel but on head of house keeping, and wow it's 2013 a guy with a key board??? People over 60 do like some young variaty to, contact your local college invite young entertainment in and great on your budget, we would use hotel again it's a shame these little things are there but so easily corrected xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arewethereyet987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
I'm pleased that you liked the hotel on the whole but feel I must answer some of the points you raise.I apologise you had a poor shower. One or two on the 3rd floor suffer with weak water pressure. I can assure you that I will make sure that all the showers work efficiently. The breakfast is a full 'English" one & is very popular with most of our guest. The keyboard player we have is a top rated musician who demonstrates the instrument all over the world. Using Students is not a practical idea. The names on tables are there for when people first arrive. This is because we are a 2 star 'coaching' hotel as well as B&B & guests sit at the same table during their stay. We are very different from the Cavendish, which is 4 star. It only has private guests and costs a great deal more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Was at this hotel for bank holiday and this is one of my many stays at this hotel and never had one complaint . Rooms have everything you could want great flat screen tv tea and coffee facilities, nice decor in every room we have stayed in , food very good jason and staff could ot be more accomodatng nothing is ever a problem for them , one of the best hotels in eastbourne and we have been to most of them on the seafront , but we always return to the afton so great stay !,,,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littleannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
I'm so pleased you had a great stay with us - happy guests is what we aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Well run budget hotel and you get what you pay for. Beds comfy and room fine, bathroom dated and overheated! Could not control the thermostat. Breakfast not to my taste. Not cooked well enough. bacon was a bit underdone. Staff excellent. The only real downside was, and it was no reflection on the hotel, was the noise outside. We had a room that overlooked the pier and as it was the weekend suffered noisy groups leaving the pier at 3am. Sleep was impossible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsagal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
The maintenance man will check the thermostat. Did you mention to your waiter that you'd like the bacon more cooked? He would have been happy to oblige. I'm so sorry you were disturbed by the occasional disturbance from the nightclub on the Pier. It doesn't happen often but is very annoying when it does. We're always happy to change people's room if we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is clean and well run in a good location for the beach etc. I had a single room at a very cheap rate. In terms of value for money it is a good deal. However my room was small and a little shabby. Breakfast is the usual fare. For a budget traveller this is clearly a good hotel. It seems mainly geared up to coach groups and an elder clientele though.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try for a larger room higher up....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly & helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Booking the hotel on bookings.com after reading the reviews on trip advisor.
It certainly lived up to our expectations. All the staff very friendly and our room had a great view of the pier and most important the sea.
Definitely worth a return visit.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkymarky413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
432 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

For £30/night you can't expect a lot. Small room in a nice location.
Breakfast was average but with very limited time (8-9 am). The service was good and everything was clean.
Main issue in this hotel is the elevator, it's slow and at peak times (breakfast and dinner time) you need to wait as much as 10 minutes for it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
I'm sorry that you found our breakfast to be only "average". Most of our guests are pleased with it and prefer not to have it after 9am. I'm surprised that you had to wait as much as 10mins for the lift on occasions. Of course there are two short flights of stairs down to the restaurant which can also be used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing